Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Mama Leone's Italian Tomato Sauce (Good for Many Uses) Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Mama Leone's Italian Tomato Sauce (Good for Many Uses)

    Average Rating:

    10 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-10 of 10

    Sort by:

    • on October 14, 2013

      I cut back on the salt a little and did not add chilli, but everything else as per recipe.<br/>This was a great sauce for our pasta, a touch of parmesan and served with garlic bread, this made for a wonderful dinner.<br/>Can't wait to try this in the crock pot as on reviewer did!<br/>Thanks Leggy Peggy, this was enjoyed by all.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 23, 2011

      Made as directed (without the hot chiles) and I let this cook in my crockpot all day, and the aroma was super. I added ground beef to a little to serve over spaghetti, and saved 6 small cartons in the freezer so I can make quick and easy dinners making meatballs or lasagns, rigatoni or rice. Very versatile and tasty. Thanks for posting a keeper Peggy. Made for Recipe Swap #49.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 21, 2010

      This is old fashioned sauce! My friend's mom used to make this every Sunday for dinners and we all loved it through the week. My house smelled so GOOD and reminded so much of my younger teen days. I followed the recipe to the point of cooking on the stove all day. At that point after the boiling, I let cook a bit then transferred to my crockpot. ( I had an appt. so had to leave the house) I cooked on low for several hours and came home to a magnificant smell. We used some for dinner then froze the rest in 1 qt containers. Oh youy have certaily stocked my freezer for sauces. YUMMY. I did use the equivalent of tomatoe puree but from puree I mad from our summer tomatoes. Thank you for Mama's recipe. By the way my friend;s mom was Sixilian married to and Irish man. Must be the blend of Italian and Irish that make this so lovely and aromatic. Made for partner in AUS/NZ Swap Nov 2010.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 31, 2010

      I halved this and it is good. I added a handful of cherry tomatoes and sampled it before it got packed into the freezer. I look forward to pulling it out one night in winter and being reminded of my fresh tomatoes from the past summer. I loved the use of cinnamon here.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 08, 2008

      This sauce was not special for me. I used 4 cans of water, which made a nice consistency. The cinnamon is an interesting flavor. Maybe folks who like Skyline (Cincinatti) chili would also love this sauce!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 05, 2008

      I did this in a crock pot and felt that after 6 hours it wasn't thick enough. Then I forgot and went to bed. The next morning I looked and thought Ohmygawd it all burned and ruined. Well, no it wasn't. It was thick and the flavor was fabulous. Adding browned hamburger made the best spaghetti I ever eaten and now will slow cook the sauce forever!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 08, 2008

      I at first was a little leary of using both sugar and cinnamon in this recipe, but no worries after the first taste-test. DS #2, was the first to say, this sauce has good taste. I was waiting for someone to comment as this is way different than my usual sauce, which is loaded w/garlic and those types of seasonings. I even tried the sauce b/f adding the meat (vegetarian ya know) and especially liked it for it's sweetness. I only added a touch of garlic pwd. but I mean only a touch. Thanks Leggy as I"m putting this under my Mains~ Made for AU recipeswap 08.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 12, 2007

      I really wanted to try this sauce, because I love simmering a good pot of sauce on the stove-top all day long. I was a little afraid of the white sugar and cinnamon because we're not used to eating a sweeter kind of sauce (I shouldn't have worried--the taste is great). I did follow the ingredient list with the exception of only using between 56 oz. - 64 oz. of water. Any more water and my pot would have over-flowed plus I don't know how the sauce would've reduced to the thickness I wanted--and I cooked it for about 5 hours. I did change the cooking instructions because I wanted the ground hamburger and onions to cook all day in the sauce. So, I just sauted the hamburger and onion until the meat was no longer pink then added the rest of the ingredients. My mom used to make a tomato sauce years ago, and it must have had the gound cinnamon in it, because the smells in my kitchen today took me back to her kitchen many years ago! Thanks for a wonderful recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 20, 2007

      I ate three helpings -- or was it four?

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 10, 2007

      This is a fantastic sauce, I have made this for years with the exception that we use garlic in our sauce and don't use bay leaves. We call it Cinnamon Spagetti, may next time use the bay leaves to see if we like it even better. Thanks for posting,It warms the heart to see a recipe that so closely mimics your own.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Mama Leone's Italian Tomato Sauce (Good for Many Uses)

    Serving Size: 1 (437 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 10

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 68.3
     
    Calories from Fat 2
    95%
    Total Fat 0.3 g
    0%
    Saturated Fat 0.0 g
    0%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 1305.2 mg
    54%
    Total Carbohydrate 16.2 g
    5%
    Dietary Fiber 2.6 g
    10%
    Sugars 12.5 g
    50%
    Protein 2.5 g
    5%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites