17 Reviews

I gave it 5 stars because I made my own chicken stock in my pressure cooker. It's the best stock ever and all the soups I make come out so delicious. The store bought stuff will not give you the flavor for this soup and it won't taste like the soup at Elephant's using store bought.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
banditsma November 16, 2011

I made this recipe in the slow cooker...added all of the ingredients except tomatoes, cream and spinach and let it cook for about 8 hours while I was at work. When I got home, I added the tomatoes, cream and spinach, topped it with a bit of fresh Romano cheese and served with Italian bread. It was so delicious and so simple using the crock pot.The chicken came out better in the slow cooker than cooking on stove top because it just shredded apart when I served it. I used all ingredients the recipe lists except the oil, which wasn't really needed. It turned out just like the original! Delicious!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kcapano November 28, 2011

Very tasty soup, seasonings added a lot of flavor. I added some egg noodles and it went over well with the family.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Minxkat1 January 01, 2014

Delicious! Since we only had a large can of regular tomatoes, we got risqu? and substituted the smaller-sized can of fire roasted tomatoes instead. I think it really worked with the paprika, and was an awesome match for a nice bottle of Gamay Noir. The only thing we'll change next time is to leave out the salt added with the herbs and let everyone add their own salt at the table. Yummy!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LanzyPantz November 04, 2012

We really enjoyed this soup! It kept reminding me and my husband of chicken curry, though the recipe has neither curry nor coconut milk in the ingredients.
One thing I would mention. I halved the recipe (6 servings) and the instructions stated to add 2tsp of salt. I thought that was a bit much and went by instinct. I added app. 1 1/4 tsp. The soup turned out perfect - any more salt would have ruined the flavor, a little less would have been alright and worked out.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
wedrinktea'ere January 02, 2012

It was OK. It feels like it is missing something, maybe red pepper flakes or bell peppers.. I was unsure how much flour to add, since it is mentioned once in the instructions but listed twice in the ingredients (as 1/2 cup and as 2 tablespoons) I used about 1/4 cup and feel the texture was spot on.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ttarrantula October 23, 2011

I was introduced to this soup at the Elephant Deli in Portland. Looking at it, I was not convinced I would like it. I was very wrong! It is an awesome, nutritious soup, easy and fast to make if you substitute rotisserie chicken. My kitchen smells like an Italian restaurant. So good!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
flipperroni November 08, 2010

Fabulous! Fabulous! Fabulous! This soup was....amazing, hence the 5 stars. It was so easy to prepare and it tastes so fresh and healthy! Thank you!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Torgy11 December 07, 2009

Thanks for this VNess, made it today as written plus some carrot, leeks and chillie flakes. Have a cold and am newly single so wanted something comforting but not too unhealthy. Thank you so much for working on a light version! YUM YUM YUM- who needs men! Delicious!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Caro NZ October 24, 2009

This tastes just like the orignal, super delicious! The only change I made was to boil an entire chicken. I used the stock for the broth, and all of the meat from the chicken. Turned out perfect!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mrs.AriGold September 18, 2009
Mama Leone's Chicken Soup