Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Mama Iuliucci's Famous Meat-A-Balls (Italian Meatballs) Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Mama Iuliucci's Famous Meat-A-Balls (Italian Meatballs)

    Average Rating:

    199 Total Reviews

    Showing 101-120 of 199

    Sort by:

    • on January 29, 2009

      Now the sauce was fantastic (5 Stars), however, I felt that the actual meatballs were a little bland and could have used more spices or flavoring. I tried making this dish a second time using a different meatball mixture from another recipe and keeping the rest of the sauce and meatball recipes the same, and it came out much better the second time. Instead of using sliced bread, I substitued about 1/2 cup of Italian-seasoned bread crumbs, and I increased the amount of parsley flakes from 2 tsp to 1/4 cup, and the garlic powder from 1/2 tsp to 1 full tsp. The meatballs were a lot more flavorable the second time around. Also, I used Kosher salt instead of regular table salt - 2 tsp of Kosher. As a side note, I read in several other recipes that call for sliced bread instead of bread crumbs, to soak the bread first in a little milk or cream until softened before adding to the meatball mixture. I bet that if you did that and also added the Italian seasons, and maybe 1 tbs instead of only 1 tsp, and let them soak together and meld, that would help out a lot. Lastly, I've read that for your meat, you can also use a mixture of beef and ground Italian sausage and/or veal to change it up too.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 19, 2009

      Two words - big hit! Everyone loved these. Thanks.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 15, 2009

    • on January 11, 2009

      These are very good meatballs. I have made them about 3x now. They way that I like to make them is with 1lb of ground turkey and 1lb of sweet italian turkey sausage....yum! This recipe makes alot so there's plenty leftover for heros! Unless ur DH can't stay outa the pot!..lol

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 01, 2009

      Well, this gets 5 stars from my house. My husband is the true afficionado of meatballs and Italian food. He ADORED these. I must admit that there's another meatball recipe from this site I prefer to these but these are also excellent. I used 1.5 pounds of ground beef and 1/4 pound of pork. I used 10 cloves of real minced garlic rather than garlic powder. I added about 1 tablespoon of crushed red peppers to the mix. I also added fresh parsley, some oregano and some basil. Finally, I baked these at 350 for 25 minutes and then dropped them in my sauce. Very flavorful, vary nice consistency. These go well with mama luliucci's don't skip a step spaghetti sauce...which is the sauce of choice for our family. Keep your mama's recipes coming!! We love them!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 15, 2008

      I'm giving this 5 stars, because I think they have potential. They are missing something, maybe a bit more flavor. I will try and add some more spices next time.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 05, 2008

      I've never made meatballs before and made these along with the accompanying sauce for a huge Italian Fest I just had after Thanksgiving. They were a huge hit! Everyone raved! A few days later my 4 yro asked where all the meatballs were because she wanted more!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 04, 2008

      These were excellent - so tender and flavorful but not overpowering. I wonder if they would work with breadcrumbs instead of the sliced bread? Thanks for a great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 03, 2008

      Excellent meatballs. Outstanding with the "don't skip a step" sauce. A great meal. I am looking forward to serving it during a future large family meal.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 19, 2008

      Just made these.... Easy and sooo good!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 08, 2008

      What a fine meatball recipe! As written, this one would be difficult to surpass. I evidently made my meatballs a little smaller than the recipe author so I generated about 60 meatballs in the end. Thanks, Karen, for the terrific recipe -- this one deserves all the KUDOS eveyone is giving it. I think it's world-class. pat

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 05, 2008

      Great recipe, delicious meat-a-balls! Instead of Italian seasoning, I used 1/4 tsp each of thyme, oregano and basil. I served it over angel hair pasta with Oh My!!! Spaghetti Sauce (Low Fat). Thanks! It was a hit with kids and adults!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 26, 2008

    • on October 21, 2008

      Yummilicious!!! I made these tonight with Mama Iuliucci's sauce...WOW!! Both are definitely keepers, your mama can sure cook! I made the meat-a-balls exactly as per recipe, fried them in a spray olive oil to brown them and then put them in the slow cooker with the sauce all day. Mmm mmm mmm!! Thank you many times over!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 17, 2008

      I used whole grain bread instead of white, and had over spaghetti squash for a change of pace. I baked my meatballs instead of frying them, to cut some calories and drain off any grease before putting them in the sauce. The meatballs and sauce were enjoyed with every bite!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 21, 2008

      My handsome other half (the only taster of the meat balls since I'm a vegetarian) loved these. I made no changes to the recipe. I made extra to freeze for convenience in the future (the less I have to handle meat, the better!). Aren't I a great g/f?!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 16, 2008

      Great easy recipe. I used multi grain bread and added some onion powder. Also fresh instead of powered garlic. The crowd when crazy!!!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 24, 2008

      Amazing!! My whole family enjoyed these... not an easy task when your feeding a family of 5. I used a store sauce and added my own extras. They are very easy to make. I fried because it was too hot to bake, but I do think baking or broiling would be easier. Yummy yummy.... don't make these for a party unless you don't mind making them for every pot luck you get invited too!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 14, 2008

      Fantastic meatballs. I used day old bread for the crumbs and I baked the meatballs instead of frying and they were just perfect. They are so easy to shape and roll they taste great and this is just fantastic meatball recipe! Just fantastic!!!!! Thanks Karen.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 06, 2008

      I used stale french bread. Amazing flavor.Also used regular seasoning salt in place of salt which really made these meatballs pop. Excellent recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Mama Iuliucci's Famous Meat-A-Balls (Italian Meatballs)

    Serving Size: 1 (1242 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 66.3
     
    Calories from Fat 28
    42%
    Total Fat 3.1 g
    4%
    Saturated Fat 1.2 g
    6%
    Cholesterol 27.3 mg
    9%
    Sodium 124.3 mg
    5%
    Total Carbohydrate 2.9 g
    0%
    Dietary Fiber 0.1 g
    0%
    Sugars 0.2 g
    1%
    Protein 6.1 g
    12%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    italian seasoning

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites