206 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Excellent meatballs! I did make my own spaghetti sauce, by the way...wouldn't have it any other way! They were very easy to make too. One change I did make was baking the meatballs instead of frying. It is so much easier that way! (I have 3 kids running around here, so easy is key in my cooking!) Other than that, didn't change a thing. Thanks for a great recipe, Karen!

20 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
canarygirl November 02, 2002

They were easy and delicious. They made my "same ol' spaghetti" into SPAGHETTI AND MEAT-A-BALLS!! Great the next day after sitting in the sauce all night. Thanks.

10 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
joantski February 04, 2003

These were the closet to how my Mom made meatballs that I have come across. No more store bought meatballs for me!

9 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Connie5 January 03, 2003

I baked I didn't fry; and I used breadcrumbs I keep in the freezer, chunky ones. LOVE these. I had a slice of meatball pizza in new york recently and have been craving meatballs ever since. Made my own embellish-the-jar-type sauce. Not sure I've ever even made meatballs before...other than appetizers. I do need to work on my technique though...the meatballs on the pizza I had were so light and lovely. This is a great flavor ball!

7 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Gay Gilmore December 09, 2002

Great meatballs, Karen! I had pasta and sauce on hand, but wanted something extra. I had one pound of ground beef, so I halved the recipe. Seared them on the outside, then threw them in the oven for a quick finish. Very moist and tasty!! Family loved them, and I'll make these again! Thanks!

6 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ciao December 12, 2002

Oh my.... I've had this recipe saved in my cookbook for ages and never got around to making it. Well, tonight I did. These are amazing! I doubled the garlic, used panko instead of breadcrumbs, and baked them. Other than that I stuck pretty close to the recipe and nearly fainted when I took the first bite! If there were 6 stars this recipe would get it.

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Glaber July 10, 2011

I just tried one that came out of the oven.... Fantastic! Can't wait to try them with a spaghetti or swedish sauce. I baked them on a cooling rack set inside a baking sheet at 450 F for about 15 minutes or until the internal temp reached 160 F. Thanks for posting!

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
muncheechee June 19, 2010

My new go to meatball recipe! I used 1lb. 80/20 ground beef and 1lb. ground pork. I also didn't have any old bread so I used one cup of plain bread crumbs. After scooping them with a medium cookie scoop, I broiled them in a broiler pan on low for 15 mins turning them after about 10 mins. They came out perfect! To make them extra moist and flavorful use 1/4 cup grated parmesan and 1/4 cup shredded parmesan and/or romano. Ah-mazing!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
toyotachica June 03, 2012

I LOVE THESE MEATBALLS!!! very delicious, excellent taste, the texture is just right and combined with My Mama Iuliucci's "Don't Skip a Step" Spaghetti Sauce ITS A MEAL WORTH 5 stars! when making these meatballs i usually lightly toast the bread, just personal preference. sometimes i use a little less parm. cheese but thats just personal taste. THESE ARE THE BEST! EXCELLENT MEATBALLS wether they be used as appetizers for the football game, or put into your favorite spaghetti sauce for an excellent meal. (im planning on making this with Mama Iuliucci's "Don't Skip a Step" Spaghetti Sauce for my parents 21st anniversary)THANK YOU KAREN FOR POSTING THESE I PLAN ON MAKING THESE FOR A VERY VERY LONG TIME!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mlonewolfq08 September 13, 2011

This are fantastic!! I made a five pound batch using ground chuck and 93% lean ground beef. I was wondering if I'd be able to mix it by hand with all that bread and no milk. I managed to restrain myself from adding any liquid. I mixed it, then formed them into small meatballs, baked 20 minutes at 375 degrees, with perfect results!!! I did bake them an extra 5 minutes ONLY because I was taking them to be used for a fundraising meal.These are a firm meatball that will not fall apart if placed in sauce. I had to print out the recipe for the requests I received. I must give your sauce a try next. Made for Zaar Chef Alphabet Soup

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Charlotte J August 02, 2011
Mama Iuliucci's Famous Meat-A-Balls (Italian Meatballs)