Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Malva Pudding, South African Baked Dessert Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Malva Pudding, South African Baked Dessert

    Average Rating:

    19 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-19 of 19

    Sort by:

    • on June 30, 2008

      Very similar to one going back to my childhood days when puddings were very part of a meal - making this one of those recipes that make for memories. A five for the memories as well as being an excellent pudding, one I hope to make again soon. Perfect on a cool and rainy June evening. Other then using a touch more of the apricot jam I made as posted with results that have this added to my family desserts cookbook.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 22, 2007

      I have not made this dessert in years, but loved this recipe. I also reduced the amount of sugar in the sauce, upped the flour content slightly, and used full cream milk which worked like a charm! I felt that this pudding would easily feed 6 people too, as its extremely rich. Also a hint to get all the sauce to absorb, would be to poke holes in the pudding as you take it out. Beat the sauce up with a whisk and pour over the dessert, its lovely. Thank you for a lovely, lovely pudding. Nicky

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 13, 2012

      I love puddings and this one is one of my new favorites :) I used evaporated milk instead of cream, it is also really nice with a bit of shredded coconut added to the sauce while simmering it for a variation, thanks a lot Zurie!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 28, 2009

      A delicious recipe, very much for the super super sweet toothed. South African's love their desserts very, very sweet so if you're not used to that much richness I'd cut back on the syrup amount. I didn't find the cake too dry with only half the amount of syrup and it was very rich with the full amount. A great vinegar/baking soda recipe. I'd say this is very similar to a sticky date pudding or butterscotch pudding. Thanks so much for the recipe, will be making more of this in the future!! Oh yes and make sure yo have a mug of cold milk on hand when serving this, yummy!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 25, 2009

      This is a great recipe. Made it at Christmas time, my South African husband and sons thought it was wonderful!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 10, 2008

      I love this recipe. Reminds me of my childhood. Thanks for posting. I didn't reduce amount of sugar, and it tasted awesome, just like it is supposed to:o) It is complimented very well by custard.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 19, 2007

      I liked the recipe, but boy, was the pudding sweet! This time I cut the sugar in half, and it was more edible. I also think that more liquid of the sauce is necessary, because the core of the pudding remained dry, though I cut the grid lines throughout. maybe 1/3 of the cup more, perhaps some fruit juice or even water. dunno now, but will try later

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 20, 2007

      Excellent Pudding, it only took about 15-18 minutes to cook at 350. I too only used 3 ounces of sugar in the sauce. To make it light fat free half and half. My kids said it tasted like pancakes. Great the next day, it is very rich. Oh and I only had peach preserves and it tasted great.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 23, 2006

      Excellent! Very unique taste and uses very common ingredients that I always have on hand. So it will be a regular in my home! Adding apricot jam gave the cake an apricot aroma so good! The only change that I made was reducing the sugar in the sauce to 3 ounces. A keeper. Thanks for sharing it with us Chef Zee!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 25, 2013

      WOW! My DD made this recipe and brought it to our house for dessert. It was delicious! Moist and flavorful. My DD told me she put holes in it as one of the are reviewers suggested so the sauce went through the whole pudding. Her BF is originally from South Africa and he was very impressed by the dessert. There was a discussion at the table that it would be even better with some amaretto soaked into it too. I came back for seconds. I topped it with whipped cream. Unfortunately DD took the leftovers home with them. However she game me the link to this recipe so I can make it myself. :D

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 01, 2013

    • on April 10, 2013

      I made this a few months ago and again tonight as it was quite a chilly evening here in Zululand.<br/>This is an absolute classic, if not, the most classic of South African desserts.<br/><br/>And this recipe is just the way my grandmother used to make it.<br/>The measurements were a bit confusing so I had to use a scale, in South Africa we generally use cups to measure and not ounces and pounds or anything ridiculously imperial.<br/><br/>My family gobbled this one up in 5 minutes, there was even a little food fight in the kitchen over who would get the most.<br/><br/>This was amazing with cold vanilla ice cream.<br/><br/>It even forms the tiny ball like structures that is essentially this dishes' signature.<br/>10/10!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 21, 2012

      I was craving my Malva Pudding from the local Woolworths (SA equivalent of Randall's) so when I found this recipe I just had to try it out. Well, it is exactly like the store bought one and my family always finishes the platter in record time! I always have to double it up to satisfy them. Even my 2 year old son comes back for more....Thank you for sharing. Now all we need is Ultramel custard!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 23, 2012

      This is an awesome recipe! Thank you so much for posting!! Tonight we had a World Thinking Day event for our Girl Scout troop. My daughter and I chose South Africa to learn about and display. Through a websearch, I found this recipe. I made the dish a few nights ago for a test run. The whole family loved it. It resembles a bread pudding. Tonight it received rave reviews and many asked for the recipe. The only thing I different was to leave out the water in the sauce recipe, because I forgot it the first time. Thanks for a keeper recipe!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 04, 2011

      Absolutely lovely. Just the way my mom used to make it. Used 120g of sugar in the sauce. Made it for my partner who is British and she loved it. It's her new favourite dessert and she would have given it 10 stars out of 5 =)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 13, 2011

      Loved it.... I had forgotten how delicious and easy this was!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 14, 2010

      WOW!!! My husband keeps looking at me with very dreamy eyes now LOL!!! :-)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 24, 2009

      This is a wonderful recipe. The first time I baked it I forgot the milk and even so it garnered only positive feedback. The second time I didn't let it sit for long after it came out from the oven (after 40 mins) and put the sauce a little too quickly (almost immediately). The pudding was sort of a little mushy in the centre but still turned out delicious. I reduced the sugar to 120g and it seemed just right. Great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 13, 2005

      Sounds interstingly good! Will have to try soon!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Malva Pudding, South African Baked Dessert

    Serving Size: 1 (167 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 815.0
     
    Calories from Fat 386
    47%
    Total Fat 42.9 g
    66%
    Saturated Fat 26.1 g
    130%
    Cholesterol 217.9 mg
    72%
    Sodium 874.4 mg
    36%
    Total Carbohydrate 100.4 g
    33%
    Dietary Fiber 0.9 g
    3%
    Sugars 69.8 g
    279%
    Protein 8.6 g
    17%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites