18 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Great recipe. My husband is South African so he loves it! And so do our new English friends. Try this for a pudding with a kick. Instead of the hot water in the sauce, add a bit of Baily's or Amarula. Very nice.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SumiWatters June 05, 2010

This recipe needs clarification. It doesn't say to what one should add the jam and it forgets to mention what to do with the milk. Also there is no specific dish size so you don't know how big it should be. Covering the cake didn't allow it to rise enough. I looked at Ina Paarman's recipe and she uses way less sugar and butter in the sauce which I think is preferable as it was much too rich and sweet for such a flat cake. Also, she doesn't cover hers, just pricks it when it comes out of the oven like you would a S. African brandy tart. It was still edible though so I give it 3 stars. I used this recipe first in preference to Ina's as I have had the malva pud at Boschendal in case anyone is muttering, So why did she even try this! :)

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Maxxr November 23, 2006

A friend of mine from South Africa used to make this recipe for parties. I moved several months ago and hadn't had one, and decided to try to make one myself. The recipe is really easy to make and super yummy. My only suggestion is to let the sauce soak into the cake overnight. We tried it right after I poured on the sauce and all we tasted was butter. The next day, however, it had sweetened up and almost tasted like caramel. My fiance really enjoyed it and I'm actually making this dish to take to my family's Thanksgiving dinner.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
holly_bacon November 21, 2011

Loved this recipe.Brought back lots of childhood memories. Just for extra indulgance I added a tablespoon of apricot jam to the sauce . Yummy

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
melochoc April 19, 2010

I am a South African living in New York and have longed for Malva pudding until I found this recipe! Better than any Malva pudding I have ever tasted in South Africa. Try it with custard for a special treat. Very easy and fast to make. I love showing this off at my dinner parties!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
smurray45 February 01, 2009

I added a double shot of Amaretto and half the sauce.. and added a little something else to make it even better.. but that.. is now my "secret".. ;) :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Pierre V. August 15, 2014

I have made MANY Malva puddings. This is one of the easiest and "adaptable" recipes. I increased the butter in the cake to 50ml (by mistake), did not have apricot jam so used strawberry and finally added 50ml brandy to the sauce. Malva puddings ARE MEANT to have alcohol in the sauce. LOL.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
malson August 09, 2012

Quite easy to make but extraordinarily sweet for our tastes. I didn't have any apricot jam so subbed orange marmalade. I used a 9" round baking dish. I found that 35 minutes in the oven was completely sufficient to bake the cake. My husband thought it was much like a British treacle tart. If we make it again, I'll reduce the sugar significantly.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Molly53 April 07, 2012

I made this Malva Pudding over the Easter Weekend, it was the best pudding that I have ever made, not for the dieters...but oh so good.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ElainejFlores56 April 08, 2010

The most fab pud ever!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
susannah.staffa June 05, 2009
Malva Pudding