Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Malva Pudding Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Malva Pudding

    Average Rating:

    18 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-18 of 18

    Sort by:

    • on June 05, 2010

      Great recipe. My husband is South African so he loves it! And so do our new English friends. Try this for a pudding with a kick. Instead of the hot water in the sauce, add a bit of Baily's or Amarula. Very nice.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 23, 2006

      This recipe needs clarification. It doesn't say to what one should add the jam and it forgets to mention what to do with the milk. Also there is no specific dish size so you don't know how big it should be. Covering the cake didn't allow it to rise enough. I looked at Ina Paarman's recipe and she uses way less sugar and butter in the sauce which I think is preferable as it was much too rich and sweet for such a flat cake. Also, she doesn't cover hers, just pricks it when it comes out of the oven like you would a S. African brandy tart. It was still edible though so I give it 3 stars. I used this recipe first in preference to Ina's as I have had the malva pud at Boschendal in case anyone is muttering, So why did she even try this! :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 21, 2011

      A friend of mine from South Africa used to make this recipe for parties. I moved several months ago and hadn't had one, and decided to try to make one myself. The recipe is really easy to make and super yummy. My only suggestion is to let the sauce soak into the cake overnight. We tried it right after I poured on the sauce and all we tasted was butter. The next day, however, it had sweetened up and almost tasted like caramel. My fiance really enjoyed it and I'm actually making this dish to take to my family's Thanksgiving dinner.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 19, 2010

      Loved this recipe.Brought back lots of childhood memories. Just for extra indulgance I added a tablespoon of apricot jam to the sauce . Yummy

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 01, 2009

      I am a South African living in New York and have longed for Malva pudding until I found this recipe! Better than any Malva pudding I have ever tasted in South Africa. Try it with custard for a special treat. Very easy and fast to make. I love showing this off at my dinner parties!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 15, 2014

      I added a double shot of Amaretto and half the sauce.. and added a little something else to make it even better.. but that.. is now my "secret".. ;) :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 09, 2012

      I have made MANY Malva puddings. This is one of the easiest and "adaptable" recipes. I increased the butter in the cake to 50ml (by mistake), did not have apricot jam so used strawberry and finally added 50ml brandy to the sauce. Malva puddings ARE MEANT to have alcohol in the sauce. LOL.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 07, 2012

      Quite easy to make but extraordinarily sweet for our tastes. I didn't have any apricot jam so subbed orange marmalade. I used a 9" round baking dish. I found that 35 minutes in the oven was completely sufficient to bake the cake. My husband thought it was much like a British treacle tart. If we make it again, I'll reduce the sugar significantly.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 08, 2010

      I made this Malva Pudding over the Easter Weekend, it was the best pudding that I have ever made, not for the dieters...but oh so good.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 05, 2009

      The most fab pud ever!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 29, 2009

      This IS an good one.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 18, 2008

      This is a FANTASTIC recipy.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 01, 2007

      Beuuuutifull

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 23, 2006

      This is a FIVE STAR recipe! Foavourite with my family in SA for years, and as I am waiting on my cookbooks to arrive in US, found it on the web!! Wonderful!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 16, 2006

      Absolutely Fantastic Pudding

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 15, 2006

    • on December 18, 2005

      All the women at the party requested the recipe. just soooooooo easy.Cook it in heatproof glassware and take. Cream in a separate container. A winner!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 10, 2005

      Nothing like this for a Sunday lunch. Truly a South African speciality!!! Try it! Nicely spongy and the sauce gives it that extra kick!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Malva Pudding

    Serving Size: 1 (174 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 737.5
     
    Calories from Fat 378
    51%
    Total Fat 42.0 g
    64%
    Saturated Fat 26.1 g
    130%
    Cholesterol 157.0 mg
    52%
    Sodium 636.3 mg
    26%
    Total Carbohydrate 87.9 g
    29%
    Dietary Fiber 0.5 g
    2%
    Sugars 68.1 g
    272%
    Protein 5.6 g
    11%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites