8 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

These cookies were weirdly dry because they don't have any vanilla in them. I much preferred normal chocolate chip cookies and was a little embarrassed to give them to my friends.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
HocoRuco February 28, 2009

I wasn't totally dazzled with these cookies. I also love malted milk balls and was excited to make these. They taste pretty good kinda like a white chocolate drink mix cookie. However mine were very flat and almost crispy ... I cooked them a little less and that resulted in a chewy kind of cookie. I did also try to add chucks of chocolate because you couldn't really taste any chocolate and disaster ... overall not bad but I don't think I will make them again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ceezie December 19, 2008

not going to rate because I haven't made them yet but....try freezing the malted milk balls in order to make them easier to crush

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Bluemonkey September 03, 2008

I love malted milk balls, this recipe & these cookies! I had 2 challenges, but managed both of them. To crush the malted milk balls, I found a lrg wide-mouth jar, put a layer of them in the bottom, used the flat end of my meat mallet to crush them & then repeated the process till they were all well-crushed. That was the only real labor-intensive part of this recipe. Next I saw for the 1st time that instant choc drink was an ingredient & I had none. So I did some research & made some using non-dairy creamer, powdered sugar & cocoa powder. I got 36 lrg cookies that were done in 10 min flat & are TDF! I hope lots of chefs try your recipe & I have 2 pieces of advice for them. Chill the dough b4 shaping the balls to make that process go smoothly & do not crowd these cookies ... at least 2" apart like MizzNezz says. Fun to make & a great outcome is what I aim for & this recipe is right on target. Thx for posting.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
twissis December 13, 2006

When I saw this cookie recipe I had to try it, we love malted milk balls! It was delicious! And the cooler they get the better they taste. As Step 8 says, "Cool" they are good at any temperature...but they are GREAT once they have totally cooled. I'm not sure how to explain it but there is a difference. The only problem I had was chopping/crushing the malt balls, but it is a challenge worth working on for the next time.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Debloves2cook May 21, 2006

Great!I used leftover Halloween candy and took them on a girls only trip...rave reviews from everyone.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Whskyktn November 08, 2005

Even though the amount of vanilla is missing, I'm giving this 5 stars for how wonderfully delicious these cookies are. Makes a nice big batch of cookies...I think I got more than 3 dozen but I think I was making them smaller, and the bake time was shorter (8 minutes) as well. These are addictive cookies! I used 1 tsp. of vanilla. Thanks Grandma, this is a keeper for sure :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Hey Jude October 15, 2005

Very good. I used Milo, a malted chocolate drink, instead of the instant chocolate powder. The kids raved over it.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sherrie-pie September 23, 2005
Malted Milk Cookies