Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Makoto-Style Japanese Salad Dressing Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Makoto-Style Japanese Salad Dressing

    Average Rating:

    9 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-9 of 9

    Sort by:

    • on April 20, 2003

      I saw this recipe and immediately had to make it! I've bought the bottled dressing at Publix before and cannot always find it when I need it. This is a great duplicate! Lots of flavor and great on just lettuce, in an oriental chicken wrap, as a marinade, just about anything. I am so pleased I can definately have it whenever I want, even if I cannot find the packaged bottle. THANKS!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 01, 2003

      I am in Australia right now and unfortunately I can't find my favourite salad dressing anywhere! I was so excited to find this recipe online. It's easy and quick, and delicious on anything. I like using it in stir fry too; it gives the veggies that nice ginger flavour. It'll definitely tide me over until I get back to the U.S.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 17, 2010

      This was pretty good. I used Seasoned Rice Wine Vinegar instead of the sugar (and salt). Next time I think I'll try it with a clove of garlic too.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 24, 2010

      This was my first saved recipe and still one of my favorites! My entire family likes this dressing - which the store dressing sells close to five dollars and has some preservatives.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 08, 2007

      I used low sodium vinegar and soy sauce and removed the sugar. Since a Vidalia onion was what I had on hand, it made everything a bit too sweet, so with a little lemon juice..perfect. I halved the oil too(just for calorie reasons). Thank you so much for the jump off point for me to customize it! I love it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 13, 2006

      This was pretty good and would probably taste better with a complete Japanese meal.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 15, 2005

      I added way more sugar to get the same flavor as the Japanese restaurants I've been to, but when the amount was right - - WOW!! I loved it. Thank you for this recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 01, 2005

      A wonderful change for the salads at our house. Sprinkled it over a mix of lettuce, cucumber, cold steamed pea-pods and mushrooms. Took SUE's tip and added just a bit more brown sugar. Splendid.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 15, 2004

      This has a good flavor, but it doesn't really remind me of dressings I have had at Japanese restaurants. It has a big ginger taste, but was a little on the tart side. I'd add a bit more sugar next time to balance that. Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Makoto-Style Japanese Salad Dressing

    Serving Size: 1 (22 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 93.4
     
    Calories from Fat 88
    94%
    Total Fat 9.8 g
    15%
    Saturated Fat 1.2 g
    6%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 382.2 mg
    15%
    Total Carbohydrate 1.0 g
    0%
    Dietary Fiber 0.1 g
    0%
    Sugars 0.5 g
    2%
    Protein 0.7 g
    1%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    gingerroot

    rice wine vinegar

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites