Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Make Your Own Sweetened Condensed Milk - Homemade, Substitute Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Make Your Own Sweetened Condensed Milk - Homemade, Substitute

    Average Rating:

    13 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-13 of 13

    Sort by:

    • on September 19, 2008

      High rating for cleverness! I skipped the butter because I was making a beverage anyway. Didn't miss it. This recipe makes exactly 1 cup of liquid.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 09, 2005

      I just saw this recipe today in a Heloise Hints newspaper article. She said the consistency and texture will not be exactly the same but it will work. I'm glad to see it posted so I can save it to my recipes!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 13, 2009

      I used this to make a chai tea concentrate and it worked like a charm. I didn't add nearly the same amount of sugar b/c of the spices I was using. Def a keeper!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 13, 2009

      I was also in the middle of baking a pie and realized I didnt have any condensed milk - this reciepe is great - don't think I'll ever buy it again!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 09, 2009

      Worked like a champ! I had already started a recipe and thought I had the condensed milk.OHHHHHH . Zaar comes through again!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 24, 2009

      I have to admit, I was a little skeptical at first, but I was desperate... I needed it to make Kittencal's Easy Cream Cheese Apple Dessert (Almost Cheesecake!). I have to admit- it was a success. I wasn't sure if it would set the same as the commercial stuff, but it did. I am a convert. This is much easier, and cheaper than the stuff in a can, and you know what's in it. Next time I need condensed milk, I'll be trying it with Splenda and see how it works out.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 07, 2009

      I needed just 1/2 a cup of sweetened condensed milk for a recipe and didn't want to open a can & just use part of it. I read from another reviewer that this recipe made 1 cup so I took her word for it & halfed it to use in the recipe. I didn't measure, but the recipe turned out perfect so it must have been close. I have made the recipe many times and I could not tell the difference between this time and when I have made w/ the canned stuff. Also GREAT for the budget!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 15, 2009

      This was a perfect replacement. I don't ever see the need to go buy sweetened condensed milk again. Thanks!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 05, 2008

      Great, easy, and good. Thanks Ann for posting a cheater! We need those recipes in our budgets! :)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 01, 2007

      I don't keep much sweetened condensed milk on hand, always have evaporated, regular and dry. This is great! I used "I Can't Believe it is Butter Margarine Spread" and it worked. Great Recipe. Thanks.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 17, 2005

      I tried this in Zewbiedoo's Ice Cream (no Eggs) Ice Cream (no Eggs), and it worked fine. I didn't even bother to use the blender, just mixed everything together with a whisk. This was particularly convenient because I had to halve the recipe to fit my ice cream maker. Since I used this recipe I had no leftover condensed milk to worry about. Thank you very much for sharing this recipe with us.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 05, 2003

      I don't know why this has not been reviewed before. If no one has tried this I would encourage you to do so. It is so simple to make and it is just like the "bought" stuff only much cheaper. I'll never buy it again. Thanks Ann

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 09, 2012

      I admit that I did not think this recipe would be similar in consistency to condensed milk, but it certainly is. I added a tsp of vanilla to give it more flavour but as written it is still good. Thanks for the great "substitution" recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Make Your Own Sweetened Condensed Milk - Homemade, Substitute

    Serving Size: 1 (63 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 242.7
     
    Calories from Fat 103
    42%
    Total Fat 11.4 g
    17%
    Saturated Fat 7.2 g
    36%
    Cholesterol 35.9 mg
    11%
    Sodium 130.4 mg
    5%
    Total Carbohydrate 30.4 g
    10%
    Dietary Fiber 0.0 g
    0%
    Sugars 30.3 g
    121%
    Protein 5.6 g
    11%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites