13 Reviews

High rating for cleverness! I skipped the butter because I was making a beverage anyway. Didn't miss it. This recipe makes exactly 1 cup of liquid.

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef Tweaker September 19, 2008

I just saw this recipe today in a Heloise Hints newspaper article. She said the consistency and texture will not be exactly the same but it will work. I'm glad to see it posted so I can save it to my recipes!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
4Susan November 09, 2005

I used this to make a chai tea concentrate and it worked like a charm. I didn't add nearly the same amount of sugar b/c of the spices I was using. Def a keeper!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Fern589 December 13, 2009

I was also in the middle of baking a pie and realized I didnt have any condensed milk - this reciepe is great - don't think I'll ever buy it again!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
crutzebeck November 13, 2009

Worked like a champ! I had already started a recipe and thought I had the condensed milk.OHHHHHH . Zaar comes through again!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Boo Chef in West Texas August 09, 2009

I have to admit, I was a little skeptical at first, but I was desperate... I needed it to make Kittencal's Easy Cream Cheese Apple Dessert (Almost Cheesecake!). I have to admit- it was a success. I wasn't sure if it would set the same as the commercial stuff, but it did. I am a convert. This is much easier, and cheaper than the stuff in a can, and you know what's in it. Next time I need condensed milk, I'll be trying it with Splenda and see how it works out.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Tyshero April 24, 2009

I needed just 1/2 a cup of sweetened condensed milk for a recipe and didn't want to open a can & just use part of it. I read from another reviewer that this recipe made 1 cup so I took her word for it & halfed it to use in the recipe. I didn't measure, but the recipe turned out perfect so it must have been close. I have made the recipe many times and I could not tell the difference between this time and when I have made w/ the canned stuff. Also GREAT for the budget!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Adopt Pets February 07, 2009

This was a perfect replacement. I don't ever see the need to go buy sweetened condensed milk again. Thanks!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Delores R January 15, 2009

Great, easy, and good. Thanks Ann for posting a cheater! We need those recipes in our budgets! :)

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SiouxChef October 05, 2008

I don't keep much sweetened condensed milk on hand, always have evaporated, regular and dry. This is great! I used "I Can't Believe it is Butter Margarine Spread" and it worked. Great Recipe. Thanks.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Montana Heart Song November 01, 2007
Make Your Own Sweetened Condensed Milk - Homemade, Substitute