10 Reviews

As a baker, I need more batter than what is in a cake mix box to get the required 2 inch layers. I had been buying extra boxes, which led to a lot of waste. I am trying this for the first time and was surprised to see the height of the cakes. I used 1 and 1/3rd the recipe for 2 9 inch layers. I converted everything to grams so that I would have the correct amounts. As the boxes of mixes get smaller, my cakes now will all be the same size. Cake Doctor, you're wrong. Homemade is always better.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
sassyfighter June 04, 2012

Very easy to do. I did half of it cause I wanted just a little cake. And I did the spice cake version. But I didn't add sugar for the spice cake version. Thanks Pattikay. Made for Zaar Star Game. I'll do this anytime I need a cake mix for other recipes (when I will have no more cake mix in the pantry LOL)

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Boomette April 26, 2008

This was a delightful treat. I made the spice cake (cupcakes). The only change I made was that I used canola oil instead of the vegetable shortening. I put the dry ingredients in processor and added the oil through feed tube til well processed.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lucy4174 July 27, 2007

I was looking for a recipe to use pecans in and I thought I might put them in a cake. I found this recipe and started to assemble it, then realized I did not have enough white flour so I subbed 1/2 whole wheat. I also added 2 small boxes of cook and serve vanilla pudding to the mix and subbed canola oil for the shortening. Next, I added very finely ground pecans, fresh grated nutmeg and Saigon cinnamon to the mix.
It is baking right now. I think it would be good if you cut down a bit on the oil and add some unsweetened applesauce to it too. That idea came to late so I will have to try it again some other time. I also made a frosting with powdered sugar, country crock spread, more finely ground pecans and Saigon Cinnamon.
The neat thing about this recipe is how versatile it is. You can whip it up just like homemade and think ahead to busier times by having extra portions of the mix on hand to save time.
It is still baking, but I can already tell how good it is going to be by the smell and the high rise!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Elaine H August 27, 2012

Economical and SMART to have your own cake mix on hand--most people have all the ingredients on hand all the time! UPDATED: June 2011: Add about 1/3 C of cocoa to the dry ingredients.....continue as posted, then you have a chocolate cake. Nummers!!! ............PREVIOUS POST:
So...we made up a batch, and then whipped up a Spice Cake which miraculously turned into a heart-shaped Valentine cake, plus we used #55965 (Fluffy White Frosting) to frost it--using brown sugar for a caramel flavor. DD (11 yo) was thrilled that Mom could be SOOOOOO creative. Maybe my step-by-step pics will help someone figure out how to use a round and square cake to make a heart. Good job PattiKay in LA!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Debber June 26, 2011

Great recipe I will use again. I took the advice of one reviewer and subbed canola oil for shortening. I did add 1/4-1/2 t each of cinnamon, nutmeg, cardamon, cloves, allspice, and ginger. Also added 2 t of vanilla. Thanks for sharing.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chohertz October 17, 2009

I used 1/2 whole wheat and 1/2 white and used canola oil, since I was using it right away. My son made it and we added 1 C of crushed oreos to the batter. It might have made it a bit drier (or maybe it was baked a bit too long)and my son decided he didn't like the addition! :lol: I baked it in a bundt pan at 350° for 45 minutes and topped with Chocolate Fluff Icing. Made for Zaar Stars.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
WI Cheesehead February 10, 2008

My interest in this recipe stems from a couple of different things. Aside from being more economical, I wanted something which could be divided to make mini-batches suitable for my small household (me). Eventually, I'd like to tinker to see if it would be possible to have a cake mix which is lower in fat and sugar. For my first go around (on which this review is based) I used the stated amount of shortening (butter flavored Crisco) and replaced 1/4 cup of the sugar with Splenda. Made a quarter batch (1 cup plus 2 teaspoons of mix) and combined it with the right amount of milk, vanilla and 1 egg white. Made two large cupcakes with the batter. The results were perfect and just like a cake mix cake. Good crumb, nice and moist and a snap to put together. Looking forward to trying other variations. Thanks for the great addition to my pantry.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
justcallmetoni July 24, 2007

This is a great recipe. I seldom have cake mixes on hand and wanted to make a lemon cake today that required one. The recipe also called for instant vanilla pudding, which I thought I had, but didn't...so I substituted a box of orange instant pudding and a tsp of lemon flavoring...then glazed with lemon juice and powdered sugar mix....what a great substitution...the cake had a bit of a crunch to the crust, center was moist and flavorful....DH asked me to write down what I had done so I could do it again...next time will make a coconut "filling" for the tunnel in the bundt pan.... Thanks for sharing...

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
FrannieJ May 10, 2007

A very handy mix to have in your pantry - I made the "mix" last night & made a cake from it today. I decided on the Spice cake version of suggested cakes - it turned out very well. I changed the measurements very slightly, I rounded the cake flour - Self Raising flour, up to 2 cups; as you can see by the photo, it seemed to work. This was my choice from a recent tag game & I recommend this recipe as a keeper!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
French Tart January 23, 2007
Make Your Own Cake Mix