Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Make Your Own Cake Mix Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Make Your Own Cake Mix

    Average Rating:

    10 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-10 of 10

    Sort by:

    • on June 04, 2012

      As a baker, I need more batter than what is in a cake mix box to get the required 2 inch layers. I had been buying extra boxes, which led to a lot of waste. I am trying this for the first time and was surprised to see the height of the cakes. I used 1 and 1/3rd the recipe for 2 9 inch layers. I converted everything to grams so that I would have the correct amounts. As the boxes of mixes get smaller, my cakes now will all be the same size. Cake Doctor, you're wrong. Homemade is always better.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 26, 2008

      Very easy to do. I did half of it cause I wanted just a little cake. And I did the spice cake version. But I didn't add sugar for the spice cake version. Thanks Pattikay. Made for Zaar Star Game. I'll do this anytime I need a cake mix for other recipes (when I will have no more cake mix in the pantry LOL)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 27, 2007

      This was a delightful treat. I made the spice cake (cupcakes). The only change I made was that I used canola oil instead of the vegetable shortening. I put the dry ingredients in processor and added the oil through feed tube til well processed.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 27, 2012

      I was looking for a recipe to use pecans in and I thought I might put them in a cake. I found this recipe and started to assemble it, then realized I did not have enough white flour so I subbed 1/2 whole wheat. I also added 2 small boxes of cook and serve vanilla pudding to the mix and subbed canola oil for the shortening. Next, I added very finely ground pecans, fresh grated nutmeg and Saigon cinnamon to the mix.
      It is baking right now. I think it would be good if you cut down a bit on the oil and add some unsweetened applesauce to it too. That idea came to late so I will have to try it again some other time. I also made a frosting with powdered sugar, country crock spread, more finely ground pecans and Saigon Cinnamon.
      The neat thing about this recipe is how versatile it is. You can whip it up just like homemade and think ahead to busier times by having extra portions of the mix on hand to save time.
      It is still baking, but I can already tell how good it is going to be by the smell and the high rise!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 26, 2011

      Economical and SMART to have your own cake mix on hand--most people have all the ingredients on hand all the time! UPDATED: June 2011: Add about 1/3 C of cocoa to the dry ingredients.....continue as posted, then you have a chocolate cake. Nummers!!! ............PREVIOUS POST:
      So...we made up a batch, and then whipped up a Spice Cake which miraculously turned into a heart-shaped Valentine cake, plus we used #55965 (Fluffy White Frosting) to frost it--using brown sugar for a caramel flavor. DD (11 yo) was thrilled that Mom could be SOOOOOO creative. Maybe my step-by-step pics will help someone figure out how to use a round and square cake to make a heart. Good job PattiKay in LA!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 17, 2009

      Great recipe I will use again. I took the advice of one reviewer and subbed canola oil for shortening. I did add 1/4-1/2 t each of cinnamon, nutmeg, cardamon, cloves, allspice, and ginger. Also added 2 t of vanilla. Thanks for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 10, 2008

      I used 1/2 whole wheat and 1/2 white and used canola oil, since I was using it right away. My son made it and we added 1 C of crushed oreos to the batter. It might have made it a bit drier (or maybe it was baked a bit too long)and my son decided he didn't like the addition! :lol: I baked it in a bundt pan at 350° for 45 minutes and topped with Chocolate Fluff Icing. Made for Zaar Stars.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 24, 2007

      My interest in this recipe stems from a couple of different things. Aside from being more economical, I wanted something which could be divided to make mini-batches suitable for my small household (me). Eventually, I'd like to tinker to see if it would be possible to have a cake mix which is lower in fat and sugar. For my first go around (on which this review is based) I used the stated amount of shortening (butter flavored Crisco) and replaced 1/4 cup of the sugar with Splenda. Made a quarter batch (1 cup plus 2 teaspoons of mix) and combined it with the right amount of milk, vanilla and 1 egg white. Made two large cupcakes with the batter. The results were perfect and just like a cake mix cake. Good crumb, nice and moist and a snap to put together. Looking forward to trying other variations. Thanks for the great addition to my pantry.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 10, 2007

      This is a great recipe. I seldom have cake mixes on hand and wanted to make a lemon cake today that required one. The recipe also called for instant vanilla pudding, which I thought I had, but didn't...so I substituted a box of orange instant pudding and a tsp of lemon flavoring...then glazed with lemon juice and powdered sugar mix....what a great substitution...the cake had a bit of a crunch to the crust, center was moist and flavorful....DH asked me to write down what I had done so I could do it again...next time will make a coconut "filling" for the tunnel in the bundt pan.... Thanks for sharing...

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 23, 2007

      A very handy mix to have in your pantry - I made the "mix" last night & made a cake from it today. I decided on the Spice cake version of suggested cakes - it turned out very well. I changed the measurements very slightly, I rounded the cake flour - Self Raising flour, up to 2 cups; as you can see by the photo, it seemed to work. This was my choice from a recent tag game & I recommend this recipe as a keeper!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Make Your Own Cake Mix

    Serving Size: 1 (78 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 8

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 351.1
     
    Calories from Fat 117
    33%
    Total Fat 13.0 g
    20%
    Saturated Fat 3.7 g
    18%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 405.1 mg
    16%
    Total Carbohydrate 56.6 g
    18%
    Dietary Fiber 0.5 g
    2%
    Sugars 31.2 g
    125%
    Protein 2.6 g
    5%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites