51 Reviews

Well add mine to all the other 5-star reviews for this recipe - it's TERRIFIC! Delicious, addictive, and made with ingredients I always have on hand. I did use reduced-fat cream cheese and butter with excellent results. Served with Wheat Thins crackers and loved this tasty treat - thanks for sharing the recipe!!

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
loof October 13, 2011

This was really good! I'm glad I made this recipe, partly because I have quite a bit of dried basil and oregano to use. This is also much better than the store bought flavoured cheese that I find in supermarkets! They sometimes have an artificial flavour to them and this stayed true to a much fresher and cheaper kind, since i already had the herbs on hand!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Studentchef March 08, 2011

First time ever tasting anything like this so I can't compare to what the real thing tastes like. All I know is that it is wonderful. Next time I will probably cut back on the salt but that is just my own taste. Thanks for sharing..it's a keeper.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mammafishy April 27, 2011

Ditto what everyone else says!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef MB June 09, 2010

OMG!!! My husband and I were SO hooked on the real stuff and were spending a fortune on it! Not any more! This recipe is spot on. The only difference is the consistency is a little harder; not as whipped as the real thing. I solved that by using whipped cream cheese. Thank you, Paula Deen!!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
GlynisTheMenace February 15, 2013

I love a money saver! And it tastes great, as well. Super simple to put together, I did half the recipe, and whipped my own butter. I did think it was a little crumbly, but real Boursin is the same way, if I remember correctly. The flavor was fabulous! I did make this to share at a party, and people were surprised I'd made it AND asked for the recipe! Now, that is a compliment! Thanks for making me look like a rock star AND for sharing such a great recipe - You and Paula! ;-)

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
alligirl October 30, 2011

This turned out really good. I needed bousrsin cheese for a Pork Wellington recipe and was thrilled I didn't have to spend the $6.99 my grocery store was asking for it. Thanks for posting this great recipe,

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lucky in Bayview April 11, 2010

WOW LIG! What a great recipe. It really does taste like the store bought boursin cheese. I loved this it was perfect. The flavor is bold and very tasty. I used garlic powder and a little sea salt, as I didn't have garlic salt. Made this just for me, so I scaled it done to 1/2 cup of cream cheese and adjusted the butter and seasonings accordingly. This was so easy with the help of my kitchen aid. Just a perfect recipe that I will be using often. No more store bought boursin cheese for me. Thank you so much for sharing this wonderful recipe. Kudos :)

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Baby Kato March 25, 2010

Fabulously flavoursome - a great blend of flavours - and so very easy to make. I'll certainly be making this often. On this occasion, I used it in Boursin Parisian Panini, and I still have lots left to use in other recipes during this week, though I don't see this lasting more than a few days. :) I used unsalted butter and minced garlic rather than garlic salt. Thanks so much for sharing this recipe. Made for Ali Baba's Babes for ZWT 5.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
bluemoon downunder May 31, 2009

Not convinced I ever tried real boursin, but this was terrific, and inexpensive! I used neufchatel cheese to save cals, and doubled the herbs. I rate recipes the way I make them, so I definitely give this 5 stars. I served with Can-Can Canapés! Boursin Baguette Bruschetta. Kick-ass great!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kumquat the Cat's friend May 27, 2009
Make Your Own Boursin Cheese - Paula Deen