Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Make Your Own Baking Powder - Clone, Substitute Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Make Your Own Baking Powder - Clone, Substitute

    Average Rating:

    23 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 23

    Sort by:

    • on May 16, 2003

      And RISE they did!!! Wow, Barbara, thanks for this recipe. I believe I like it better than store bought.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 27, 2012

      Thank you for posting this. I had found it elsewhere and have been using it for a while. I'm corn sensitive so I use different replacements such as tapioca, potato or rice flour. I make up enough to refill my old baking powder container. I should also mention that I haven't bothered to refrigerate it and haven't noticed any problems.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 06, 2011

      It worked perfectly and no odd flavor...yay! I didn't add the cornstarch since I wasn't storing the baking powder. My recipe called for 1 tsp of baking powder and I added 1/2 tsp cream of tartar and 1/4 tsp baking soda directly to my flour and stirred. The banana muffins turned out wonderfully--they were light and delicious.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 02, 2009

      I've tried this twice. It even made my gluten-yeast-free bread rise, like the regular stuff. Instead of cornstarch, I used arrowroot powder.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 21, 2007

      This is better for you than the store bought kind. This recipe does not have aluminum in it which many of the store bought kind do.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 11, 2003

      Saved my malt-o-meal mufins. I and my children thank you. ;)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 01, 2003

      This was great! I was in the middle of baking brownies and discovered that I had no baking powder....remembered seeing a recipe here at Zaar and tried this one. Thank you so much for saving my day!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 11, 2012

      Thank you sooo sooo much! What a waste my banana bread would have been without this!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 31, 2011

      I made pot pie tonight with a biscuit crust that calls for baking powder. I completely forgot i was out. Did a search here and up came this recipe. Thanks much for saving dinner...worked like a charm. :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 22, 2011

      Great recipe to keep on hand. I used this in Low Sugar Chocolate Chip Cookies and they turned out perfectly. Made for Diabetic Cooking Tag Game.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 09, 2009

      Instead of buying baking powder I use this in everything. Works just as good if not better. Never had any issues. Thanks for the recipe Dancer!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 16, 2009

      This is a nice recipe. Thanks for postimg.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 15, 2009

      I always try to make my own mixtures when possible. Thanks for posting this one here. It works well, and replaces Rumsford on my shopping list.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 12, 2009

      Love this recipe for when I only need a little bit. My baking is much lighter with this homemade baking powder. The cornstarch is a must for me since the powder seems to clump without it. Thank you for this healthy choice!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 24, 2008

    • on January 23, 2008

    • on October 10, 2007

      I had to make cookies for my kids fall festival at school. I had made sure to purchase all the ingredients, except baking powder. Thank you. This recipe allowed me to get the cookies made without another trip to the store.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 26, 2005

      Thank you! I was baking and had none, thought that's it, gotta stop what I'm doing... WAIT NO I think I remember a fellow zaar posting BAKING POWDER! Thank you again Dancer!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 04, 2005

      I was in the middle of a double batch of waffles when I ran out! Your mix worked great. The waffles turned out exactly the same as usual. Roxygirl in Colo.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 06, 2005

      What Peaceful Solution said. I quadrupled it and it worked very well during my 7 cakes and 2 brownies baking spree. It takes less than a minute to put together.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Make Your Own Baking Powder - Clone, Substitute

    Serving Size: 1 (4 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 6.4
     
    Calories from Fat 0
    %
    Total Fat 0.0 g
    0%
    Saturated Fat 0.0 g
    0%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 315.4 mg
    13%
    Total Carbohydrate 1.5 g
    0%
    Dietary Fiber 0.0 g
    0%
    Sugars 0.0 g
    0%
    Protein 0.0 g
    0%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes