9 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

One of DH's coworkers gave us some homemade hot sauce. I was looking for a recipe to use it when I came across this. The house smelled wonderful while it was cooking. I didn't have any, but the rest of the family gave it a 3. They said it had a lot of heat to it, but not much flavor. The flavor of the onion and garlic was lost to the hot sauce. On the other hand the meat was moist and tender. It fell right off of the bone.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
whtbxrmom August 06, 2013

This is it.... the only recipe I'll ever use for pork butt from now on. I made this for dinner Sunday... seared the meat, used a chipotle hot sauce and then cooked it all afternoon in the crock pot. It was good the first night, and even better for pulled pork sandwiches later. 10 stars!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Alisa Lea April 30, 2013

We really like the flavor of this. I was kind of worried it might taste like bbq, but it doesn't. YAY for that. It's a very unique flavor. Made as directed, using Franks instead of Crystal. Oh, and I cooked it in the crockpot instead of the oven.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
armymomx2 April 29, 2010

Followed the recipe exactly except I cooked it on high for 1 hour and then low for approximately 5 hours. Smells incredible! Pork fell apart and had great flavor. Served with rice and steamed broccoli. My husband, son (11), daughter (14) and her best friend couldn't get enough. Every bite was eaten. This will be made often in my house.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Toni1 September 19, 2009

I changed this up a bit and used this more as a starting point for the pork butt I had. I made as directed and put it in the crock pot. My husband called me when he got home from work and said "the house smells so decicious!!" After about 7 hours on low, I drained most of the juice out of the pot and the meat was falling apart beautifully! I dumped some BBQ sauce in with the pork and remaining juice and let it simmer for another hour. Served this as BBQ pulled pork on toasted wheat buns and can't wait to eat leftovers tomorrow!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Melvin'sWifey March 25, 2008

Yummy; it is just plain good !

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ChefDebs August 09, 2007

This has great flavor! I used Frank's hot sauce. A keeper!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
majones June 10, 2005

If you like your pork spicy, you will certainly like this dish. I only had a 2 3/4 pound boston butt, but it turned out great cooking at 300 for 6 hours in the cast iron pot. I did not have to add any additional liquid during the cooking time. I used Frank's hot sauce because I didn't know what crystal was. My son did think that the flavor would be improved by some sweetener, but he does like his pork sweet.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Linda B November 29, 2004
Make You Wanna Slap Your Mama Boston Butt