Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Make Ahead Wraps - OAMC Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Make Ahead Wraps - OAMC

    Average Rating:

    49 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 49

    Sort by:

    • on January 21, 2014

      These wraps are fantastic! I made them to have on hand for my DH's lunches and dinners while he's on the road. I love knowing that he's not eating junk, but it makes me happy that he's also enjoying his meals. This recipe fit the bill and is made better by having a bunch on hand, ready to go. I felt nervous cooking the rice with all that water, but it absorbed it as it cooled . I used the Emeril's southwest spice mix, that's posted on this site, only using half of what was called for and my wraps had plenty of flavor. I left out the salt called for in this recipe, because the seasoning mix had plenty.Thanks for sharing the recipe!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 27, 2013

      I used Emerils southwest seasoning as suggested by other reviews. I only used about 1/2 what was called for and it was plenty seasoned. These are awesome wraps, I will make again.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 10, 2010

      We loved these! We like to spread mashed sweet potatoes over the torilla before rolling these up tastes delicious!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 21, 2010

      we really enjoyed these. I also used the Emeril's southwestern seasoning recipe, which makes 4 oz/1/2 cup exactly. I cooked the rice in my rice cooker with the seasonings, used cooked dried black beans instead of canned, frozen corn rather than canned, and smaller tortillas (made 20 with some filling left over, which we plan to use as a warm dip with tortilla chips). I found it was easier to form the wraps when I microwaved the tortillas between two damp paper towels for about 30 seconds-- did this in batches of 4-5 tortillas. It makes them more pliable. I will make this again, but probably not for a while because I have 18 more in my freezer.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 27, 2012

      Thanks for posting this recipe, I have been making these for about 15 years. My girls used to taken them to school for lunches and they were a great after school snack. I don't remember where I first got the recipe but its been well used in our family. Sometimes I add little chicken.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 21, 2011

      Fantastic! I loved them and the family loved them. I am not much of a cook so it doesn't appear you can really mess up this recipe as you adjust it to your tastes. I cut the recipe in half just in case we didn't like them. I also "cheated" using Uncle Ben's Santa Fe microwavable rice and taco seasoning in leiu of southwest seasoning (like others, I wasn't sure what this was and didn't have it on hand). Rather than taking 35-40 minutes to cook the rice, I made these in about 5 - 10 minutes using the microwavable rice. This recipe is definately going into the family rotation.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 15, 2011

      Love this! So healthy too! I have made them several times mixing up the grains and beans each time.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 13, 2011

      I used whole grain tortillas. I take two out of freezer, top with my homemade enchilada sauce and a bit more cheese, then bake til piping hot! Especially great with a dollop of low fat sour cream. I hade some filling left over so I added some tomato sauce and chicken broth and had an awesome soup!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 14, 2011

      I've made these a few times and find its a versatile recipe. I like to use TVP (textured veg protein) in addition. Sometimes I sauté some bell peppers and onions to throw in and usually omit the corn just based on personal preference. I also try to use whole wheat tortillas because I'm a whole grain nut. I usually tack another 30 seconds onto the microwave time to make sure its piping hot in the middle. Great for a last minute lunch!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 05, 2010

      YUM! These were delicious. I think the mixture could also be used as a side - rice/beans. I was picking at it in the bowl before making the burritos. It was good cold and warm. For dinner we rolled them up and covered with enchilada sauce/cheese and baked (didn't freeze prior). My variation -- used a 1oz. package of Taco seasoning instead of a 4oz pkg of southwest seasoning. And didn't add in cheese as I wanted to make this less fattening. Didn't seem lacking in taste at all. This will be a recipe i make over and over again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 18, 2010

      Yum! Made a half batch of these...brought some to friends, have some in the freezer and had some right after it was made. They are really good! Haven't had them out of the freezer yet; hope they're just as good! Updated to add: These are really great! Have made them several times; last time added some Tyson frozen pre-seasoned chicken strips. They are so easy to bring for lunch and are really tasty. And they really last in the freezer if well wrapped. I use regular rice and season with taco seasoning since I have it on hand. Definitely recommend!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 02, 2010

      This just didn't do anything for me. I think it was the fact that I had so many of them made that the idea of eating this for lunch "again"tired me out. I couldn't find the southwest seasoning so I used spicy taco maybe that substitution was my down fall to the recipe

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 21, 2010

      I give 4 stars for the ease and simplicity of the dish. It's been so convenient to have lunches all week without having to worry about either making something before I leave for work or make enough leftovers from the night before. Taste is good though I'd recommend sour cream or guac or something to go with these. Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 08, 2010

    • on September 02, 2009

      These were excellent. I used what I had on hand so I left out the cheeses and used white rice that I had left over. I mixed the southwest seasoning in after I had combined the remaining ingredients. These made a great vegetarian dinner. Thanks for the recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 30, 2009

      These are soooo delicious! I made them as part of my oamc for when I start University this Fall, these will be soooo convenient! Thanks for posting the recipe!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 01, 2009

      This is a great recipe and you can really hide some good things in it. I had some left-over grated carrots from another recipe and I just mixed them in. It was yummy. Next time I'm going to try spinach. I did add more cheese than the recipe called for but that was a family preference.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 05, 2009

      I love the idea of making meals ahead so I can pull them out for a quick lunch or light dinner! These wraps fit the bill perfectly. I didn't know exactly what the southwest seasoning was, so I used a combo of Baja Citrus marinade (part of a powder packet, I think it was McCormicks) and some burrito seasoning (also part of a packet). I also added some cooked shredded chicken but otherwise followed the recipe. They turned out great. I froze them in waxed paper which makes it very easy to throw them in the microwave to reheat. Thanks for a great meal solution Tish!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 17, 2009

      These get a 10 star for ease of making!!! I cheated a little. Instead of doing the rice as directed, I bought 2 of Lipton's Mexican Rice packets and made them instead (they only take like 10 minutes total to cook), added a little extra salsa, 3 large cans of diced chicken, and skipped the cumin thru onion. Also used a 2 cup bag of Mexican blend cheese with jalapenos in it. I also wrapped these more chimichanga style than burrito and I didn't have room in my freezer to flash freeze them so I just went ahead and foil wrapped them individually and froze them like that. This made 18 large burritos and 4 more small burritos for my daughter. She was literally gobbling down the mix as we were mixing everything together (she is 2 1/2).

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 26, 2008

    « Previous 1 2 3

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Make Ahead Wraps - OAMC

    Serving Size: 1 (329 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 16

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 518.7
     
    Calories from Fat 101
    19%
    Total Fat 11.2 g
    17%
    Saturated Fat 4.4 g
    22%
    Cholesterol 13.7 mg
    4%
    Sodium 697.3 mg
    29%
    Total Carbohydrate 82.8 g
    27%
    Dietary Fiber 14.9 g
    59%
    Sugars 2.9 g
    11%
    Protein 22.8 g
    45%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    southwest seasoning

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites