Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    Thanksgiving Tips & Ideas >

    50 Ultimate Side Dishes

    50 Ultimate Side Dishes

    Make Sides They'll Be Thankful For
    The Perfect Roast Turkey

    The Perfect Roast Turkey

    How-To: Tackle Turkey Intimidation
    16 Show-Stopping Sweets

    16 Show-Stopping Sweets

    Apple, Pumpkin & Pecan Pie: Oh My!
    You are in: Home / Recipes / Make-Ahead Twice-Baked Potatoes Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Make-Ahead Twice-Baked Potatoes

    Average Rating:

    87 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 87

    Sort by:

    • on March 25, 2003

      I made these for dinner tonight and we ate them all up! These were yummy and I love the fact that I can freeze them! Thanks for a very lovely way to fix taters!!! I used Neufchatel cheese(1/3 the fat of cream cheese).

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 28, 2011

      Brilliant! I added some chopped up broccoli to the filling and they came out wonderfully both fresh and cooked from frozen

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 04, 2011

      Yumm!! These were excellent! I made a few changes though. I drizzled olive oil on the skins and lightly salted w/ kosher salt. I left out the cream cheese. I mixed in the cheese w/ the butter and milk. I also ommited salt and pepper because I'm cutting back on salt and not a fan of pepper. With the cheese and butter and salted skins you don't miss it.I sprinkled with a little cheese on tops last 5 min. of cooking. Love this!! I cannot buy twice bake frozen potatoes in my town and have been looking for a good freeze ahead recipe!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 16, 2009

      Awesome! I used sour cream instead of cream cheese to keep the mixture from getting too stiff. I made these for my kids and husband this weekend and even picky, food snob, restauranteur dh LOVED them. Trust me, that is unusual for him. I had made some chili earlier in the day and tucked a heaping spoonful chili in a few shells before filling them with the potato mixture and my goodness they were out of this world. The chili filled taters didn't make it into the freezer, but I'll have to try to get some in there the next time I make them. I'm sure they will reheat just fine.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 02, 2010

      Oh these are go good and look so gourmet!!! My family thought I was amazing when I set these on our table. I did add some chopped crisp bacon in with the potato mixture but otherwise followed the recipe. I did bake right away, but plan to take a day to make a bunch and freeze and we all loved them. Thank you for sharing this great potato recipe with us.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 09, 2010

      These are very good and worth the work. I had a 10lb bag of potatoes and used them all for this. I am glad I did too, because these go fast. I did not use the cream cheese in the mashed part of the potatoes, because we don't care for the taste. Everything else was exact. This is a winner! Even the ones who don't like baked potatoes loved these and went back for more. Now my kids beg to have these as our side dish. Thanks for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 30, 2010

      Thank you, this recipe is yummy and easy. Reminds me of raffle chedder cheese chip, but the potatoes are fulling and wroth making thanks love them so much

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 12, 2010

      This is a very easy way to have something great in the freezer! My family loves them! I have even made different kinds and have several in the freezer. One of our favorites is to stir in sauteed leeks and bacon. SO good! Just leave out the cream cheese and just put a little cheese on top. Fresh parm is good as well! Very versatile recipe! THANK YOU!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 03, 2007

      Now that the hard part is done and there are a bunch in the freezer, (well, minus the ones I wanted to try right away), I can say that these are really good! I also used Neuftachel cheese, and I agree that next time I'd add the cheese into the mix. They were missing just one little thing that I'll add next time - maybe a little parsley or some garlic or both. Still, a great recipe that I know I'll make again, even if the whole scooping and refilling is a bit of work up front because it's so worth it to know that these are on hand whenever I don't want to work so hard to enjoy one. Also, really such excellent instructions. You covered it all, and that is much appreciated because my guessing isn't always so accurate since I'm still pretty new at cooking ahead, too.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 29, 2006

      Thank you for posting this. I've been making essentially the same recipe for years, but I add a couple of eggs (beaten) to the "stuff", as well as garlic powder and a bit of parsely. the egg helps them be a bit puffy. Another thing I do to them is to add a thn layer of seasoned breadcrumbs and quickly give it a short spray of pam so it browns a bit. I'm not sure if that step would be micro friendly, the micro may just make the breadcrumbs soggy...

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 19, 2004

      I really needed a way to use up some extra potatoes before they spoiled. This was easy (if a bit time-consuming) and fit the bill. I didn't taste, because I don't eat potatoes, but my picky family ate every bite. Next time I will make sure to bake the potatoes 1 1/4 hours instead of 1 (they were a bit hard to mash). I used full-fat cream cheese, and heavy cream instead of the milk (I only needed about 1/2 c.). Next time I will mix the cheese in instead of sprinkling - I had a hard time getting it to stay on. I also wanted to say a big thank you for the bake-from-frozen directions!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 02, 2012

      Very easy and tasty! I was on a mission to find twice baked w/o sour cream and this is perfect.
      I added 1 egg white to the potato mixture to insure the mashed potato would stay put during the baking process (I had problems in the past and it was a mess). In addition I cut off only the upper 1/4 for a deeper well for all the goodies. Thanks for posting! My family thanks you too!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 23, 2010

      These are great! I made a TON of these in different varieties to have on hand last fall and I will be doing the same again this year. Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 13, 2010

      fantastic. great way to have potatoes on hand.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 18, 2010

      I have made these several time and did not realize that I hadn't reviewed them. These are AWESOME!!!!! I just finished making a big batch of these with some potatoes that we dug from our garden. Super easy to fix. Everyone that has eaten these wants the recipe. Thanks for a great recipe!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 10, 2010

      Great idea - loved these and so handy to just grab them out of the freezer when I needed them. So much better than the boxed kind...the boxed kind always get runny. Quick trick to reheat can be 5 min in the microwave and then finish for 10 min in a 450 oven.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 05, 2010

      They were delicious! I used herb and garlic cream cheese and that tasted great! Next time I would cut the salt in half as they were a little too salty for me, but would still make them again! I loved that you could make them ahead

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 07, 2008

      Fabulous time saving idea!! I did this over the weekend, and I found it easier to scoop out the insides of the potato with a butter knife. Go once lightly through the middle of the half, then do the edges, and lightly push out the warm potato. It's pretty easy once you've done a couple.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 28, 2008

      Oh Man, these were GOOD! Nice and crispy and VERY flavorful. Instead of putting the cheddar on top, I added it to the butter mixyure with the potatoes so there was cheddar distributed throughout the potato. Also added crumbled cooked bacon and like "Fairy Nuff" suggested, added chives. Now I don't have to worry about sides when I fire up my smoker. I simply open my freezer and take out the amount of potatoes I need. Defrost in microwave and then pop them into oven for the crispness of the crusts. I wash the outsides of the potatoes thoroughly prior to cooking so I can eat the WHOLE thing. Yummy!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 02, 2008

      This is by far my favorite OMAC twice baked potato recipe. I used 3/4 cup of 1% milk and they turned out perfect. These will be in my freezer at all times, from now on. Thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3 4 5

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Make-Ahead Twice-Baked Potatoes

    Serving Size: 1 (236 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 12

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 286.8
     
    Calories from Fat 100
    34%
    Total Fat 11.1 g
    17%
    Saturated Fat 6.9 g
    34%
    Cholesterol 31.5 mg
    10%
    Sodium 583.3 mg
    24%
    Total Carbohydrate 40.0 g
    13%
    Dietary Fiber 3.4 g
    13%
    Sugars 2.0 g
    8%
    Protein 7.9 g
    15%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites