37 Reviews

Would like someone to please explain step number 19 which states, "Whisk in broth flavored mixture and boil 3-4 minutes to thicken gravy and cook flour". Do I take this to mean whisk the broth with the flour? This step is not very clear.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
harleydynagirl2002 November 26, 2013

I can't believe I haven't rated this yet...I've been making it for Thanksgiving the last six years...this year I made enough to feed 40 hungry people...it works so well...that it really makes the holiday less stressful...I usually make Make Ahead Mashed Potatoes to go with it...this year I used the wings to make a delicious soup...After-Thanksgiving Turkey Soup thanks ever so much for posting this recipe...=)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
teresas November 24, 2012

I've used this recipe that last few years and absolutely love it! The only change that I made is sometimes I use turkey thighs instead of the wings because of availability. I also subsitute cooking sherry for the wine. Delish and such a help on Thanksgiving Day!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Amy1209 November 07, 2012

Sorry I didn't get this reviewed more promptly but it is a great recipe! My family all gave it positive reviews at our Christmas table. It really is a plus not having to fuss with making gravy while everyone is enjoying visiting. It is a very easy to follow recipe. My butcher gave me 3 large and very meaty wings which worked well. It was nice to make ahead and then remove the fat. However, the day we were enjoying our turkey I added in just a bit of the drippings to give it that rich taste I was looking for. Fine without but special with! It does make a lot of gravy, nice not to run out!! The wings went directly into the freezer the day I made the gravy and so glad I kept them. I was happy to put a good size container of gravy in the freezer as well. It was wonderful to have hot turkey sandwiches with meat from the wings nearly a month after Christmas. So good. I also got some broth made from the wings for a nice pot of soup. I think there were even a couple of sandwiches made from the wings. It seemed a bit expensive at first but it didn't turn out to be at all, considering we got at least two meals from the wings in addition to the wonderful gravy. I can't imagine doing it any other way. Thanks so much for sharing your recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
GaylaV January 25, 2012

Good stuff - thinner than SO likes but so good and easy!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Stacey in BG!!! January 01, 2012

Now this is great gravy! This is the best gravy I have ever made and received multiple compliments. Thank you very mcu for this recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SUSAN N. November 24, 2011

Seriously - this is the BEST recipe of all time. EVER. EVER. EVER. Gravy is made and in the freezer waiting for turkey day! I will add salt when I defrost it since I used low sodium broth. I also used turkey backs and two wings - it beautiful and brown and delicious! Thank you for this new staple in my life!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
arthistorybabe November 07, 2011

I used this recipe this year for our Thanksgiving Dinner. The flavor and texture of this gravy turned out perfect and really saved me a lot of time in the kitchen the last minute before trying to put the Holiday Meal on the table. I will definitely remember this recipe when making turkey again!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Bev November 27, 2010

First let me say, for some reason I cannot make gravy. This recipe changed that. I double the recipe and freeze the gravy a few weeks before Thanksgiving. One less thing to worry about as I get dinner on the table for 18 people! The gravy is delicious and comes out perfect every time!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kpalka October 28, 2010

This definitely deserves 5 stars. I made it a few days before Thanksgiving and froze it. Wow it was so good. I didn't change a thing. It will be my gravy recipe from now on.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Fluffy October 24, 2010
Make Ahead Turkey Gravy