Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Make Ahead Turkey Gravy Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Make Ahead Turkey Gravy

    Average Rating:

    34 Total Reviews

    Showing 21-34 of 34

    Sort by:

    • on June 20, 2008

      This recipe is excellent! I make it every Thanksgiving. As a matter of fact, when the recipe first came out I wrote a letter about it to Woman's Day, and they published my letter. :) Love this recipe! My tip for this recipe: To strain the broth, I have a big colander with small homes, and a bowl that is bigger than the colander. I put the colander inside the bowl and just poured everything into it. The broth strained right into the bowl and the vegetables stayed behind.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 17, 2008

      Best! Easiest! No more stressing out making graving while the rest of the dinner lingers! I've been making this recipe for at least three years, and it has never let me down. It's delicious and it makes enough for a lot of people.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 04, 2007

      This was really really good and a great way to get ahead for Thanksgiving. I didn't scatter onions....totally left them out because I had made my own turkey stock and used that in place of store bought broth so there was a lot of flavor. This was REALLY good -- will use it from now on, it was so great not having to make gravy after roasting the turkey

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 24, 2007

      Roasting the wings makes all the difference. This worked really well for me even tripling the recipe. I had to use a big stock pot, but I got two full quarts of really lovely gravy out of it. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 22, 2007

      This was wonderful!!!! I had brined my turkey, so I needed an alternative way to make the gravy. This was perfect!!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 20, 2007

      Made this today for Thanksgiving in 2 days, and I would like to thank you so very much. I have never made a gravy and today was my first. My husband gave it a 10. Thanks again. Glo

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 16, 2007

      THANK YOU for this recipe!! My daughter is getting married and we are doing a buffet style dinner for the reception with turkey and fixings. I can NOT make good gravy and I thought I was going to have to buy lots of those little jars of turkey gravy. I saw this recipe and decided to give it a try. It turned out perfectly, even though I had to use turkey legs instead of wings, that was all that is available in our area. It's absolutely delicious. I froze it and will defrost it the day before the wedding and heat in a Crockpot to serve. Doubling the recipe made it just perfect for a large crowd. Thank you again for sharing this easy, delicious recipe!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 24, 2006

      Thankyou Rae England - you took the stress out of Christmas. I made ahead of time & froze the stock. starting at step 18 once I defrosted on Christmas day. No mess, No fuss. Thankdyou for sharing :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 03, 2006

      Wonderful! A 5 star+ all the way.So fun to get this out of the way the day before everyone comes to visit. Thanks for sharing. This will be a tradition at all our family gatherings.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 19, 2006

      Rae, I just made this gravy today and it is so good. I hate making the gravy just prior to Thanksgiving dinner so was thrilled to find your recipe. I've tried other "make ahead" recipes but ended up throwing them away and preparing the gravy just prior to our meal. When I saw this recipe and saw where it called for actually "roasting" the wings, I felt it was worth a try. And I'm so glad I did! When my turkey is done on Thanksgiving Day, if I have some nice dark juices, I'll add them to the gravy (but it's so flavorful now that it really doesn't need any extras.) I hope more people will try this -- I'm sure they will appreciate having one less thing to do on "the big day". I did add some celery to the the broth as well as some fresh rosemary, sage and thyme. I meant to throw in some parsley, but forgot! Thanks, Bobbie

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 18, 2006

      I have been making this gravy for years. An outstanding make ahead gravy. Quick and easy time saver.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 24, 2005

      I was so pleased to be able to make this ahead of time. I made this a week in advance and skimmed the fat off and froze in a Ziplock bag. On "the day" I finished thickening the juices. This made a rich dark brown gravy. Last year I made one by sauteeing and it was a messy process to clean up and the gravy was not as flavorful. It really made my day easier having made this ahead. I will make this again for when I make soups or a pot pie. Roxygirl

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 22, 2005

      wow, not only very very easy, but also very delicious!!!making it in a crockpot makes a breeze and the gravy is wonderful

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 22, 2005

      I made this over the weekend in anticipation of the big T-Day. It was so good I wanted to drink it. I used backs and necks and added a 1/4 tsp of sage. The roasting makes such a huge difference in the flavor. This is the best gravy I have ever had! Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    1 2 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Make Ahead Turkey Gravy

    Serving Size: 1 (3991 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 612.0
     
    Calories from Fat 305
    49%
    Total Fat 33.9 g
    52%
    Saturated Fat 10.4 g
    52%
    Cholesterol 169.0 mg
    56%
    Sodium 1168.2 mg
    48%
    Total Carbohydrate 18.3 g
    6%
    Dietary Fiber 1.5 g
    6%
    Sugars 3.3 g
    13%
    Protein 54.7 g
    109%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites