22 Reviews

I went camping over the weekend and this dish was perfect! I loved being able to make this a day ahead and then just pop it in the oven the next morning (I camp in a motorhome :-). Everyone loved it and it was sooo easy. I topped it with onions and green bell pepper. Thanks for a great recipe!

6 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Merlot August 05, 2002

This was fabulous, Sharon123. I made the basic recipe as written and then added ham, onions, and green onions (at my family's request), and it was enjoyed by all. I was worried about the addition of the bread cubes, but I think it worked quite well. I like the idea of serving this as a brunch dish for a large group (a holiday, or something maybe). And there are so many possible ways to go with this by dish adding whatever extra ingredients you like for an egg dish. Simple, plentiful, yet oh so tasty. Made for Please Review My Recipe tag game.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
NorthwestGal January 26, 2014

Made this with just a few changes. Cut in half for just DH and me, used Mexican Blend Cheese as that's what we had, added chopped and sauted onion, bell peppers and crispy fried bacon - then followed directions. Very good base recipe with so many options. I was worried that the bread would be soggy but not to fear - it wasn't. Did taste more like a breakfast casserole than an omelet - but oh so good. Made for I recommend tag game - holiday edition.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Bonnie G #2 November 21, 2012

easy cheesy

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Laureen in B.C. September 15, 2012

I scaled this back for 2 serves and was apprehensive as to wether I would like it or not (as I dislike bread and butter pudding because I hate soggy bread) but in this case the bread was not soggy (I used wholemeal/wholegrain) a little less chesse than called for and the 2 eggs, made it up late afternoon the day before and in the morning popped into the oven and 30 minutes later it was well cooked (could even possibly have done with less - I made it in a small square corning ware dish). The DM and I thoroughly enjoyed the cheesy flavour and the big and filling serves. Thank you Sharon123, made for Please Review My Recipe.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
I'mPat August 24, 2012

My DH raved on this wonderful dish. I halved the recipe and baked it in a 9x9 casserole and used an organic flourless sprouted grain bread. I also used a can of diced green chilies in the egg mixture. The topping was lots of mushrooms, onion, and green pepper. We served it with Tapatio hot pepper sauce. The taste and texture was outstanding. Sharon--I always love your recipes!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kennilyn January 25, 2012

Makes the morning rush a bit nicer.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
StacySpagnardi April 03, 2011

This was soooo good! I didn't add much to it at all, I'm sure it would be even better with veggies on top! I'm always tweaking stuff to make it fit into my diet so I did alter the ingredients, I used Ezekiel bread & substitued half of the eggs with egg whites.... also only had mozzarella, used about half of what was recommended for cheese and butter and it still tasted amazing! Added a dash of lemon pepper... super yum! And so quick and easy to make :)

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Errrrin October 02, 2010

I shaved the recipe down to 2 servings, and went gung ho with the options. I used Hawaiian sweet bread, and topped with mozzarella cheese, cubed and sauteed ham, and pineapple. It was like a Hawaiian pizza for breakfast. Very yummy! Thanks for sharing Sharon. Made for PAC Spring 2010.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ElaineAnn April 21, 2010

My husband and I both passed on this. It tasted like bread pudding with cheese. Definitely not what we hoped for. Very bland. Had an odd texture. No thanks.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Christy in Illinois September 24, 2009
Make Ahead Omelet