Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Make Ahead Mashed Potatoes (Oamc) Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Make Ahead Mashed Potatoes (Oamc)

    Average Rating:

    18 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-18 of 18

    Sort by:

    • on December 31, 2008

      These are the best! I doubled the recipe when my husband came into a great deal on 10#s of potatoes. Then I froze some in zipper bags and some in 6 oz glass dishes. Once frozen, I popped them out of the dishes and into zipper bags, so we could cook individual portions. Great for teenagers with wacky schedules.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 14, 2009

      I am so glad I found this recipe. We just think they are great! I make only slight changes due to personal preferences. # 1, after potatoes have cooked and drained, I put them back into pot and throw a linen towel over them and set the pot on a burner set on low so the potatoes dry out and steam to fluffy goodness. After that I use a potato ricer before whipping. We do not like lumps in our mashies. #2, I use more butter and season a little heavier. Thank you so much for a wonderful idea.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 08, 2010

      We really enjoyed this - I did add 1/2 cup milk to the recipe to make it creamier. As somebody else said, it seemed more like a baked potato texture until I added the milk. I have some in the freezer for future dinners. This is great for a working mom!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 27, 2008

      These were very good. To make these for freezing, I don't think I'd use less than 10 pounds of potatoes (doubling the recipe), but I don't think I'd do more than that at one time either. I was able to double the recipe without it really being any trouble, but I think if I had tried to make more than 10 pounds of potatoes at once, it would have been too much on time and clean up. As it was, doubling the recipe didn't really take too much longer, and the clean-up was about the same as if I hadn't doubled it. The best part is that I now have TWICE as many yummy potatoes in the freezer for when I want them!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 12, 2011

      These potatoes are delicious! I doubled the recipe and used a a 15oz container of "philadelphia
      Cooking creme cheese, Italian cheese and herb flavor" for the cream cheese, every thing else I left the same. I will be making these again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 09, 2008

      Super Yummy! Easy to make and freeze! Just ate the first of these after being frozen. These reheat BEAUTIFULLY!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 05, 2011

      Everyone at the table enjoyed this at Thanksgiving Dinner. My goal is to make as much of the meal as possible ahead of time. This recipe froze and reheated very well. Thanks.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 26, 2011

      Delicious and great recipe for someone that doesn't have time to throw together a side dish. I did this for Thanksgiving and just threw it in oven while the turkey was resting. However, it was so good I can see using it as a weekday dish when I don't have the time or energy to cook.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 06, 2008

      oh. my. gosh. as of today these are my alltime favorite mashed potatoes!!! i would have never thought to use cream cheese but i used the chive one and it went sooooo well with the mashed potatoes! i forget to add the pinch of paprika but it wasnt needed! my sister thanks u for the tastiest mashed potato recipe ever! :D! so a keeper! ;) made for recipe swap!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 05, 2008

      These didn't make it to the freezer but I prepared them the night before they were needed. They were a hit and two guests went home with the recipe :) A real 'keeper' for me :)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 21, 2012

      I added the butter in when mashing (didn't read through to the end) and also added some milk. I never put eggs in mashed potatoes before but it was ok. Made 1.5x recipe, used Yukon Gold and a couple of Russets, 2 eggs, 7 T butter, 1.5 pkg cream cheese, about 3/4 c milk. Put in a lasagna pan for 50 minutes the next day.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 16, 2012

    • on November 22, 2011

      Simple and easy! Delicious too! My family enjoyed the dish and I am most definately making more in future! Glad I picked this recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 05, 2010

      Eight-month old grandbabe's mashed potato breath--better than a new car smell. Made for A-NZ #42 Recipe Tag.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 23, 2010

      As it was my first time cooking this I cooked it for 3 of us rather than OAMC but will be doing so again and making more again so I have 1 serve to freeze for the DH who is a shift worker and see how it goes. We thoroughly enjoyed what we had - for three I used 4 nadine potatoes (weight 1lb 4oz) and scaled back the other ingredients accordingly, even the DM who is not a big mash fan ate most of hers up (though I did add a sprinkle of grated mozarella to hers). Thank you Chef Buggsy Mate, made for Potluck tag.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 13, 2009

      Great!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 22, 2008

      These do not turn out creamy like regular mashed potatoes. They are more the texture of a baked potato. The flavor was good and they were pretty easy to put together. I have one batch in the freezer, and I made the second batch today start to finish, and served with Beef Tips. The only change I made was to include the skins rather than peeling. This might be good to have on hand.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 15, 2008

      These potatoes will definitely become a staple in my house! I tried this recipe specifically for http://www.recipezaar.com/294235, but I actually had some left over and have them frozen now for a later date. I adore mashed potatoes, and my BF prefers rice, so it will be nice to be able to eat them when I want ^_^ Next time I will split it into two bowls because mashing it all in one bowl was kind of difficult, but I really enjoyed the flavor and texture, and will definitely be making it again!! Thank you!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Make Ahead Mashed Potatoes (Oamc)

    Serving Size: 1 (371 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 484.5
     
    Calories from Fat 178
    36%
    Total Fat 19.8 g
    30%
    Saturated Fat 11.3 g
    56%
    Cholesterol 87.9 mg
    29%
    Sodium 594.5 mg
    24%
    Total Carbohydrate 67.9 g
    22%
    Dietary Fiber 8.3 g
    33%
    Sugars 4.2 g
    16%
    Protein 11.0 g
    22%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites