40 Reviews

Worked like a charm. I omitted the chives and made it a day ahead by not putting it in the oven but just reheating it in the crockpot on low for about 2 hours. Stir it about half way through. It was nice to have the mashed potatoes done ahead of time.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
cavedweller December 02, 2008

I used this recipe for a large Thanksgiving dinner -- I upped everything to handle 15 lbs of potatoes! They came out fabulous. From now on, I will always use the cream cheese and sour cream in mashed potatoes -- I left the chives out. The re-heating took a lot longer because of the quantity but I "jump started" it by microwaving them in the large ceramic part of the crock pot then put the ceramic thing in the warmer and they were creamy and tasted like I just made them -- a big hit with everyone

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jlnjz December 04, 2007

A tried and true recipe. I had a pot roast in one crock pot and these potatoes in another. What a great recipe. I was able to feed my family and visiting in-laws after my daughters field hockey game. A real comfort food.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Audrey M September 14, 2003

I have made these for years before a big dinner- holidays etc.<br/>A+..no one would know you didn't just make them. I make the day before- one less thing to do on the big day,.<br/><br/>Thank you

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ed & Cheryl March 31, 2013

Made this recipe for our Christmas dinner and it was easy and fabulous. Good flavour and it is so nice to have made ahead of time!! Thank you

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
cr8tvmrt December 26, 2012

Can't review for the actual recipe because I had no sour cream and couldn't follow it exactly. BUT it was the best mashed potatoes any of us had ever had and now I'm not allowed to make any other kind. 5 stars easily.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
WuhanNoodle December 21, 2012

DD wanted to only eat the potatoes. These have a great flavor from the cream cheese and sour cream....yum. I will use this again, we loved them, thank you.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mommyoffour March 12, 2012

Stop what you are doing!! And make these potatoes!!!! I have made these twice, and I am seriously in love. I look organized by having it done ahead of time and they are oh, so good. They are creamy, moist and so flavourful, you will not believe your taste buds. Why not make your life easier, free up your oven and look like a ridiculously good cook. Seriously...make these potatoes!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Taylor's Mommy October 14, 2011

This is a to die for recipe. It's easy to do ahead. Instead of putting it in the oven, I put it into my crockpot and turned it on low the a few hours before suppertime. It's my husbands new favorite potato dish!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
sheri826 December 08, 2010

A huge time saver on Thanksgiving Day. Not only was I able to enjoy time with my company but we all loved the potato dish, very tasty. Next time I make it I will try it with prime rib. Thanks for sharing.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MagPi December 04, 2010
Make Ahead Mashed Potatoes for Crock Pot