167 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This is absolutely the best mashed potato recipe! There should really be a higher score than 5 stars for this one.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Candace28 January 05, 2004

Wow these potatoes were so creamy.I did cut back on the cream cheese but they were still great. I used lite cream cheese and fat free sour cream. A great make ahead dish. Thanks Kim

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Fluffy December 22, 2003

I have made this many times - it is delicious. A keeper for sure.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
KelCel October 17, 2014

These were great - I made them exactly as stated except I peeled and halved the potatoes before boiling them. I actually made these two days in advance and wrapped them up in the fridge as stated - and then heated them up before serving exactly as stated - perfect! The only step I added was whipping them up with one of those hand blender things before adding to the baking dish - which made them very light and fluffy and creamy! Delicious!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Michaelk69 April 12, 2014

Best mashed potatoes...period! Amazing! Made these for Thanksgiving and everyone had seconds. Making them again for Christmas. I used a full 5 lb bag of spuds. I peeled and cubed the raw potatoes to boil rather than boiling them whole. Just seems easier and they cook faster. Otherwise, followed the recipe. Made them a day ahead and then heated for the meal. Perfect. Thanks for sharing!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
david1438 December 24, 2013

I made these potatoes for Thanksgiving this year and they turned out beautiful and delicious. Thanks for posting!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chris from Kansas December 06, 2013

These are very yummy but they don't warm up well for leftovers the next day. So I would suggest making exactly what you need. Thank you for sharing.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Dizzyfreedom December 01, 2013

This turned out so great for us. It was convenient and quite tasty (and no leftovers, so I know it went over well with everyone). I made this dish for Thanksgiving this year, and it travelled well and heated up nicely when it was time to get dinner on the table. The potatoes were very moist and fluffy, too. It's such a convenient make-ahead dish for a busy cooking day. Now that I know I can make the mashed potatoes ahead of time, it will reduce that traffic jam in my kitchen that ultimately happens every Thanksgiving. This will be my "go to" recipe every year.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
NorthwestGal December 01, 2013

Everyone loved these potatoes. I LOVE the idea of making these ahead of time and then just popping them in the oven before dinner. I did put the butter on top, but it really didn't need any more butter. Next time, I will leave that off. Thanks for a great recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Island Girl 525 November 29, 2013
Make Ahead Mashed Potatoes