Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Make Ahead Mashed Potatoes Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Make Ahead Mashed Potatoes

    Average Rating:

    165 Total Reviews

    Showing 41-60 of 165

    Sort by:

    • on December 04, 2011

      Best mashed potato recipe ever! Besides the turkey these were the next best thing at the thanksgiving table. Also 5 stars because the making of them the day before, and time saved on the actual thanksgiving day was priceless. I just stuck in the oven for 30 min while the turkey rested. Perfection! The only think about the recipe I do not understand is why boil the pototoes before peeling them? What a huge pain in the butt that was. Next time I will just peel first like I always do. I used a whole 5 pound bag of potatoes, a 9x13 pan, and just increased the ingredients slightly to taste!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 30, 2011

      Fantastic! I made these the night before Thanksgiving and let sit on the counter for almost an hour before baking. Delicious! I liked how the brushed-on butter baked onto the top of the potatoes, adding a fancy shade of golden brown to them. To be able to serve these hot right before the meal but not have a sink full of dirty dishes from making the potatoes to clean up along with all the other plates and such, makes this recipe totally worth it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 27, 2011

      Fantastic! This will be my "go to" recipe for years to come. Thanks for sharing, Kim!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 26, 2011

      This was wonderful.... thank you for sharing!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 24, 2011

      I have been shopping around for years for my go-to holiday mashed potatoes. These are it! LOVE that I made them the day before and they came out beautifully. Just perfect. I omitted the paprika, but even though I almost never follow recipes exactly I followed this one except for that little change. Great flavor and texture!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 23, 2011

      made this for tomorrow...go glad i dont have to worry about it now..tasted delicious

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 23, 2011

      Yum! Yum! Yum! So thankful to make it ahead!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 23, 2011

      I love this recipe! I have been making this for the past 3 Thanksgivings now and everyone always loves them. It makes turkey day so much easier to be able to make these the night before. Thank you for the awesome recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 15, 2011

      Easy! Delicious! Awesome! YUM.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 02, 2011

      LOVED these! Made as stated except I peeled the potatoes prior to boiling, and used 8 oz of cream cheese and 1 cup of sour cream. Both were reduced fat. I forgot to put the salt in the water, so instead I put 1 tsp in as they were mixing. I baked it immediately, but I love the "make ahead" idea.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 25, 2011

      I made these for a friend who had undergone surgery. WOW! I know what I will be making for Thanksgiving this year! I tried them before taking them and the meatloaf to her house. I loved these potatoes!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 27, 2011

      I cannot thank you enough for saving me time. I had not thought of making the potatoes ahead, so I tried it at Thanksgiving last year and have used this recipe many times since. If I know I will be serving mashed, I use this recipe. The taste is wonderful and the time saved is priceless! Thanks a bunch!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 09, 2011

      These have now become our go to mashed potato recipe. I made them for the first time for Thanksgiving and my 24 guests gave them rave reviews. They have an incredible taste and they are so creamy. Thanks for sharing them. Having them again tonight with brisket for supper and cannot wait.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 03, 2011

      I made this recipe for Thanksgiving and it was so darn good, it was a family request for Christmas dinner as well. A new family favorite! So easy to make and they taste wonderful!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 30, 2010

      DELICIOUS and perfect for Thanksgiving! Being able to make these lucious, creamy potatoes ahead of time made all the difference for me being able to put together a lovely dinner for 13 people! Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 18, 2010

      My new favorite mashed potatoes. I have made these twice in the last two weeks. The recipe makes a ton for a single person but they share wonderfully. And left overs are ohhhhhh sooooooooo yummy.
      Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 09, 2010

      What a great recipe this is. Mashed potatoes come to life with the addition of the sour cream and cream cheese. These were the best I have ever tasted.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 30, 2010

      All I can say is wow. These potatoes didn't even need gravy! I didn't change a thing about the recipe and everyone raved at how delicious they were at Thanksgiving. Making it ahead was truly a time saver!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 29, 2010

      Really quite tasty! My kids don't always want to eat leftover mashed potatoes and they wolfed these down! So easy to make, I'll definitely make them again! I used Neufchatel cheese and will likely use a low-fat sour cream next time, just to bring the fat content down. Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 29, 2010

      Made these for Thanksgiving dinner. Needed to find something so I could do the prep work ahead of time and just pop the potatoes in the oven at the last minutes and these did the trick. They were creamy and perfect. I like the cream cheese taste as it did not overpower the taste of the dish. Great! I will make again! Thanks.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Make Ahead Mashed Potatoes

    Serving Size: 1 (163 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 11

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 206.8
     
    Calories from Fat 103
    50%
    Total Fat 11.5 g
    17%
    Saturated Fat 6.7 g
    33%
    Cholesterol 33.3 mg
    11%
    Sodium 363.0 mg
    15%
    Total Carbohydrate 22.9 g
    7%
    Dietary Fiber 2.7 g
    11%
    Sugars 1.9 g
    7%
    Protein 3.9 g
    7%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites