Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    Thanksgiving Tips & Ideas >

    50 Ultimate Side Dishes

    50 Ultimate Side Dishes

    Make Sides They'll Be Thankful For
    3-Ingredient Appetizers

    3-Ingredient Appetizers

    Fabulously Easy Feast Starters
    Adorable T-Day Sweets

    Adorable T-Day Sweets

    The Kids' Table = The Place To Be
    You are in: Home / Recipes / Make Ahead Mashed Potatoes Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Make Ahead Mashed Potatoes

    Average Rating:

    167 Total Reviews

    Showing 21-40 of 167

    Sort by:

    • on January 05, 2004

      This is absolutely the best mashed potato recipe! There should really be a higher score than 5 stars for this one.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 22, 2003

      Wow these potatoes were so creamy.I did cut back on the cream cheese but they were still great. I used lite cream cheese and fat free sour cream. A great make ahead dish. Thanks Kim

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 17, 2014

      I have made this many times - it is delicious. A keeper for sure.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 27, 2014

    • on April 12, 2014

      These were great - I made them exactly as stated except I peeled and halved the potatoes before boiling them. I actually made these two days in advance and wrapped them up in the fridge as stated - and then heated them up before serving exactly as stated - perfect! The only step I added was whipping them up with one of those hand blender things before adding to the baking dish - which made them very light and fluffy and creamy! Delicious!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 24, 2013

      Best mashed potatoes...period! Amazing! Made these for Thanksgiving and everyone had seconds. Making them again for Christmas. I used a full 5 lb bag of spuds. I peeled and cubed the raw potatoes to boil rather than boiling them whole. Just seems easier and they cook faster. Otherwise, followed the recipe. Made them a day ahead and then heated for the meal. Perfect. Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 06, 2013

      I made these potatoes for Thanksgiving this year and they turned out beautiful and delicious. Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 01, 2013

      These are very yummy but they don't warm up well for leftovers the next day. So I would suggest making exactly what you need. Thank you for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 01, 2013

      This turned out so great for us. It was convenient and quite tasty (and no leftovers, so I know it went over well with everyone). I made this dish for Thanksgiving this year, and it travelled well and heated up nicely when it was time to get dinner on the table. The potatoes were very moist and fluffy, too. It's such a convenient make-ahead dish for a busy cooking day. Now that I know I can make the mashed potatoes ahead of time, it will reduce that traffic jam in my kitchen that ultimately happens every Thanksgiving. This will be my "go to" recipe every year.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 29, 2013

      Everyone loved these potatoes. I LOVE the idea of making these ahead of time and then just popping them in the oven before dinner. I did put the butter on top, but it really didn't need any more butter. Next time, I will leave that off. Thanks for a great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 29, 2013

      Love! Love! Love! Was able to make in the morning and throw in the oven with my meatloaf. Can't wait to do these for the holidays! Update: Just made for the second time to compliment a roast. I have never before boiled whole unpeeled potatoes before mashing until today. I must say that they came out so much better. Easy to get the skins off, and potatoes were not watery whatsoever. I think I will skip the potato peeler and dicing from now on. EXCELLENT!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 25, 2013

      Everyone loved this! Perfect. Peeled before boiling. Convenient-- let warm up on low for 3 hours in crockpot. Served with roast chicken and fresh green beans. TY. :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 07, 2013

      We absolutely loved these mashed potatoes. They were so creamy and delicious. Definitely a keeper. Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 11, 2013

      These potatoes were fantastic. I did peel them prior to the boiling process to make things a little easier, though. And, because I had fewer people for dinner than I had expected, I had a few leftovers. I simply added some shredded cheese, bacon (cooked of course), and a little more butter and heated them up again. I think the leftovers were even better! Nonetheless, being able to prepare these ahead of meal time really helped streamline things. I will use this recipe again and again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 20, 2012

      GREAT! made these for Thanksgiving after looking for some way to volunteer at soup kitchen in the morning but still serve dinner that evening. Big hit with everyone :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 04, 2012

      This is our favorite potato recipe hands down.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 08, 2012

      this takes taters to a different level, great. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 24, 2012

      My friend gave me this recipe a few years ago. I love it. I always add garlic!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 23, 2012

    • on December 25, 2011

      We use this recipe whenever we have company over. They always love it and it is very helpful to be able to make it ahead of time and know exactly when it will be done.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Make Ahead Mashed Potatoes

    Serving Size: 1 (163 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 11

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 206.8
     
    Calories from Fat 103
    50%
    Total Fat 11.5 g
    17%
    Saturated Fat 6.7 g
    33%
    Cholesterol 33.3 mg
    11%
    Sodium 363.0 mg
    15%
    Total Carbohydrate 22.9 g
    7%
    Dietary Fiber 2.7 g
    11%
    Sugars 1.9 g
    7%
    Protein 3.9 g
    7%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites