Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Make Ahead Mashed Potatoes Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Make Ahead Mashed Potatoes

    Average Rating:

    166 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 166

    Sort by:

    • on November 23, 2002

      A wonderful recipe. To keep help warm up prepared potatoes, place in crockpot and set on low to keep warm or place on high to heat up quickly. A nice way to keep potatoes warm.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 27, 2002

      What incredible flavor these potatoes have. All our guests raved about them at Christmas Dinner. The only change I made was to peel the potatoes before cooking them. I saved a taste for friends who were dropping in the next day and heated it in the microwave. They also loved them and wanted the recipe, so I emailed your page to them. YUM!YUM!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 12, 2002

      Kim, this was a perfect potato dish to choose for my 9/11 memorial dinner. I doubled the recipe and made two pans the day before. These potatoes stayed nice and creamy, as if I had made them at the last minute! This will be the mashed potato recipe I turn to when making big holiday meals from now on!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 21, 2003

      These potatoes were awesome! I made them the Saturday nite before Easter Sunday and they turned out just fine...saved time in the kitchen for visiting, too. We will definitely have them again. Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 29, 2002

      This recipe made the creamiest mashed potatoes ever. I didn't change this recipe in any way and everyone loved them at our Thanksgiving family dinner. Making them ahead was a wonderful time saver on such a busy day!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 04, 2010

      Amazing! Kept for hours and traveled well. These tasted like I just made them! Thanks my friend for a great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 25, 2009

      I've used this recipe for 15 years and it is the only way to go. I put it together the day before Thanksgiving and just heat it 45 minutes before dinner. So much easier getting the potatos to the table than mashing at the last minute when there is so much else to tend to. I do put a little garlic powder, not a lot but a pinch. Great way to go, all I have to do is do cook the gravy and carve the bird!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 15, 2003

      Wow these potatoes are GREAT!! i cut the servings down to four- which was the only change i made. the potatoes were yummy and creamy. you cant go wrong with this recipe! Thanks so much for sharing! I will definatly make this again soon!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 21, 2010

      These mashed potatoes are great. And, like Mama's Kitchen (Hope) stated, these potatoes do travel well (I first prepared them last year for a trip to Chicago). I simply kept the dish on ice/in cooler until we arrived and then baked in the stove of our vacation rental. Recently, I made them for dinner and found the leftovers were also wonderful for making potato pancakes. A great tasting, versatile recipe, indeed...thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 29, 2009

      I followed this recipe exactly (unusual for me!) and it turned out to be fabulous. While my bird "rested" I popped this in the oven with my sweet potatoes and rolls and we had fantastic mashed potatoes that were deemed by my Norwiegan daughter-in-law to be her favorite of the meal! Easy and delicious is the best combination for a holiday side dish... or any side dish for that matter!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 15, 2009

      these are amazing! :) since i was out of milk, i used heavy whipping cream instead, and it turned out fabulous. thanks for sharing this great recipe

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 25, 2009

      These are the best mashed potatoes we've ever had! They are now a staple in our meal plan. They freeze like a dream. Sometimes I sprinkle a handful of crisp bacon and a hanful of cheddar cheese on top before freezing/baking and the kids especially love them that way. Awesome dish! Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 13, 2008

      Forgot the milk, omitted the salt, halved the butter and only used 3 oz. of cream cheese. These still turned out creamy and rich. Served with #143871.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 21, 2004

      What a great recipe! It was very easy to prepare and made creamy, light, tasty mashed potatoes. I LOVE that they can be made ahead, and I expect you could even freeze them if you wanted to make them well in advance. I used 6 potatoes, a 250g tub of Philadelphia spreadable cream cheese and a 250g tub of light sour cream. Otherwise, I made the recipe exactly as instructed. The potatoes were fabulous served with casseroled beef. This will be cooked often in our household.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 22, 2010

      I make this all the time...everyone loves it!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 17, 2010

      These were excellent potatoes - I don't normally change up my mashed as my family loves them but I thought I'd give these a try as I knew I wouldn't have time to make mine for supper. What a wonderful idea to be able to make them ahead of time and just pop them in the oven. I think the cream cheese & sour cream lend a very nice flavor as well - thanks Kim for posting.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 05, 2009

      So easy and and really tasty! As others suggested I did cut back on the cream cheese a little and added a bit more milk while I was mixing. This is now my go-to recipe for mashed potatoes!! Thanks.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 28, 2009

      Very nice variation to mashed potatoes. It's quick simple easy & best of all tasty. The only thing I changed is that I sub'd yogurt for the sour cream. I had gravy with the meal so I didn't bother adding the extra butter brushed on the top. Thanks for sharing your recipe.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 27, 2009

      Great potatoes. I made as written except I put the potatoes through a ricer and then proceeded. Really helped with last minute problems.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 09, 2009

      Excellent. I veganized this recipe, and it turned out wonderfully. Used Earth Balance for the butter, Tofutti cream cheese, Tofutti sour cream, and plain soy milk. Thanks for the recipe!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3 4 5 6 ... 9

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Make Ahead Mashed Potatoes

    Serving Size: 1 (163 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 11

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 206.8
     
    Calories from Fat 103
    50%
    Total Fat 11.5 g
    17%
    Saturated Fat 6.7 g
    33%
    Cholesterol 33.3 mg
    11%
    Sodium 363.0 mg
    15%
    Total Carbohydrate 22.9 g
    7%
    Dietary Fiber 2.7 g
    11%
    Sugars 1.9 g
    7%
    Protein 3.9 g
    7%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites