Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Make Ahead Mashed Potato Casserole Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Make Ahead Mashed Potato Casserole

    Average Rating:

    48 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 48

    Sort by:

    • on December 26, 2001

      Delicious!! Made it for Christmas dinner and this was everyone's favorite. Very flavorful. Recieved a lot of complements on this one.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 24, 2006

      Update: Thanksgiving 2006. I have made this casserole each year for Thanksgiving since 2002. Here are my comments from November 2002, totally unedited: I made this dish for my family's Thanksgiving Day feast. Dorothy, thanks for the suggestion you made in a thread discussing pros and cons of re-heating mashed potatoes! This was simply divine! This recipe proves beyond a doubt that reheating mashed potatoes CAN be done without any sacrifice in flavor! My son, who is a true traditionalist, told me that I could just plan on making these potatoes every single Thanksgiving from here on out! Not only were these potatoes creamy and tasty and beautiful to behold, but the pre-cooking of this casserole a day before Thanksgiving made my day so much easier! I advise anyone who believes you can not successfully re-heat mashed potatoes to try this one. And soon!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 28, 2002

      Dorothy, thank you so much for recommending this dish to me! It was perfect for the occassion! So easy to prepare and ready with a simple heating on the day needed. I will be using this recipe often from now on when I need to prepare for a crowd in advance. Thanks, Dorothy!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 27, 2002

      Made this to take to my daughter's for Christmas. It was a huge hit with everyone wanting to take some home. The only change I made was to butter the bread crumbs. Oh I forgot, my fresh parsley patch was covered with four inches of snow so I used dried.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 14, 2002

      I have made this recipe many times. I have rarely been disappointed by any recipe in Canadian Living. It is so handy not to have to worry about last minute preparation when cooking for a crowd.It is always enjoyed by the crowd.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 05, 2002

      Well... this recipe tasted good but the texture wasn't what I would expect for mashed potatoes. These turned out too dense and thick. I weighed my potatoes to make sure I followed the recipe. For sure the flavor was there... but next time I'll add a cup of milk or so to it and see if that makes them a little lighter and creamier.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 02, 2002

      Excellent casserole. Easy to do and making it ahead really improved the flavors blending. I did this for Easter dinner and it was a hit. My daughter really loved it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 10, 2002

      Great do ahead potato dish. It was really tasty and eveyone loved it. Thanks for sharing this one.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 19, 2003

      I served this with ham. It was wonderful and making it ahead of time really saves work when you have a large meal to prepare. Thank you for a fine potato recipe. I am always on the lookout for potato recipes.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 31, 2002

      My family and I really enjoyed this recipe. I make it ahead of time sometimes so that I don't have to cook on busy days. A real time saver, and really tasty! Thanks for sharing this great recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 28, 2009

      Excellent make-ahead dish. I was worried it would be "too much flavor" for my traditional-oriented in-laws, but they all complimented it and even had seconds. I only made a couple of changes - I used french fried onions on top instead of breadcrumbs, and I really liked that. I used dried parsley and left out the marjoram just because that's what I had/didn't have on hand. And I added a little milk as other reviewers suggested. I made this 2 days before Christmas, put it in the fridge and then baked it Christmas day - delicious, texture was wonderful. The topping got a bit crusty - better to cover with foil if using the onions instead of breadcrumbs, but hubby actually liked it better that way. Then I reheated it 2 days later in the oven, and it was at least as good as the first time around, maybe even better. Will keep this as a regular side to those big meals.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 01, 2009

      Great make-ahead potato casserole for a crowd. I did not add the breadcrumbs to the top; I sprinkled with some paprika instead for a little color.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 26, 2005

      Delicious! I made this for Freeze It Tag, so froze in a small roasting pan, thawed, then baked covered parttime and finished uncovered to allow the top to brown. Very tasty and convenient and a great timesaver for busy family or holiday meals. Since the kids tend to avoid green flecks, I will also try finely minced onions in place of the green onions in the casserole, with a few green onions sprinkled on top at baking. Thanks, Derf!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 04, 2003

      I made the full recipe and took one to my brother's family who just had their third child. They loved it and we loved it too. It was so great to get two casseroles out of one effort. As expected, my brother asked for the recipe. We'll be making this frequently. I used reduced fat sour cream and neuschetel (sp?) cheese instead of cream cheese.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 06, 2014

      This is excellent. We have made it for Christmas and Thanksgiving dinners many times. I have frozen it for more than a week with no ill effects. It does take forever to thaw as many have pointed out. If freezing be wary of using the full amount of green onions. One Christmas our potato casserole was bright green and since then I have reduced the amount of green onion.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 31, 2014

    • on May 16, 2013

      Loved this recipe. The cream cheese in this is what makes it. Thank you for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 22, 2012

      Our cooking club makes this at Christmas. It is delicious. We make it several weeks before Christmas and use it during the holidays. It is a relief to have the potatoes on hand for Christmas Eve. Warning, It takes a long time to defrost.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 25, 2012

      I made this for Thanksgiving. I had baked it the day before and just reheated after I took the turkey out. Everyone loved it, even the fussy toddlers. I didn't add breadcrumbs because I was warned that one of the toddlers refused to eat anything he sees breadcrumbs on. Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 28, 2011

    « Previous 1 2 3

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Make Ahead Mashed Potato Casserole

    Serving Size: 1 (282 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 10

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 352.4
     
    Calories from Fat 156
    44%
    Total Fat 17.4 g
    26%
    Saturated Fat 10.0 g
    50%
    Cholesterol 49.1 mg
    16%
    Sodium 187.4 mg
    7%
    Total Carbohydrate 43.6 g
    14%
    Dietary Fiber 5.2 g
    21%
    Sugars 3.7 g
    15%
    Protein 7.1 g
    14%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes