12 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This is a GREAT way to prepar brats! I made these as part of our 4th of July barbeque buffet and everyone loved them. The beer gives the brats a wonderful flavor and onion-loving DH was in onion heaven! :) I especially like the fact that these can be made ahead of time- more time to mingle with friends. Thanks for posting this, Connie- it's a winner!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Leslie in Texas July 05, 2009

I would give this recipe more stars if I could. I made it for Super Bowl Sunday, with the only change being that I put the brats and onions on a bed of sauerkraut before adding the last can of beer and simmered in the crockpots all afternoon. I was told by several people at the party that they were the best brats they had ever eaten. This is definetly a keeper in my book. Thanks!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Babsygirl February 03, 2009

Very good brats! I also put these on a bed of sauerkraut in crockpot. Will make again.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Laurie Rhoton February 27, 2013

Delish make ahead brats! I did slightly carmelize the onions- and they added great flavor. After grilling, I put the brats, onions, and 1 bottle of beer in the crock pot on warm and they held nicely for the party. Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
didyb April 03, 2011

Boy I am sure glad I picked this recipe to serve for our Annual Euchre BBQ...they turned out fabulous and it started raining and did not have to worry....got many compliments on the brats..

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CIndytc June 06, 2010

My husband made these and we really liked them! We ate them for several days as we had leftovers. Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Michelle Figueroa April 22, 2009

I love this recipe. I've made it twice, in big batches - for our annual Fall party - and it gets rave reviews and requests for the recipe. Being able to make the brats the day before and re-heat in the beer and onions is a great option and time-saver, and the brats just get better and better the longer they are in the beer bath. Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kris #4 November 24, 2007

Even though I'm from WI... I've never made brats myself (always have at other ppl's cookouts) so I searched and found yours! This is soooo good! I'll be making this again and again all season long!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Melandsid April 15, 2007

thanks connie - i grew up in 'johnsonville' and have always wondered how my parents did this! tastes just like i remember!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
HeidiRenee August 14, 2006

This is just what I have been looking for. We have a slew of company coming for Labor Day and this should keep the whole gang happy. Thank you for the tip.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
April J August 13, 2006
Make Ahead Grilled Brats and Beer Wisconsin Style