14 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Everyone enjoyed these potatoes - I cut back on the milk & cream - they just didn't need quite that much. Pouring the last bit over top for the final baking is wonderful it forms - not a crust but gives a nice finish to the potatoes.I love doing them in the morning and then just pop them in before dinner This dish was served with steamed smoked Black Alaska Cod, Savory Brussels Sprouts & Ginger Glazed carrots The dinner was demolished Thanks Kate in Ontario 15 April 08 Made & enjoyed again added a photo this time

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Bergy April 16, 2008

I love the ease of make ahead dishes - it makes those special occasion like Easter more enjoyable for the chef! I was so happy to find this recipe as I'm totally bored with the same old, same old cream cheese & sour cream combo that I've been using for eons! The potatoes were creamy, the flavour of the garlic was very subtle, the final "finish" added to the visual appearance. Thanx Kate for a recipe that I'll use many times in the future!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CountryLady April 09, 2007

Very good recipe although I would suggest to others not to skimp on the liquid at all when mashing the potatoes because the oven dries them out a bit so next time I will put the full amount (more than usual) because when you take them out they should be perfect! Thanks!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Che~Sara` October 15, 2006

I have never attempted making mashed potatoes ahead of time so I thought I would give it a try really not expecting them to be as good as made to order. I was wrong! These were terrific. I used half & half instead of whipping cream but otherwise followed the recipe. They get five stars because they taste wonderful and the for the ease of preparation. Thanks for the recipe!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
cinamongirl December 02, 2009

These were very good. I love the convenience of a make ahead mashed potato. The only thing I will change next time, and I will make them again, is to add more black pepper just to give them a little more bang. Thanks for a good recipe Kate in Ontario.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jillcomeau November 23, 2008

What a great way of making mashed potatoes--no last minute scrambling. I also recommend using all the liquid--between the time in the frig and the oven, they were a little stiff since I didn't use all the liquid (but the gravy made them more creamy).

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ncshagger November 25, 2006

We loved this recipe. I loved it more than DH because I prepared these a day before and it was one less thing I had to worry about. I popped them in the oven, about 40 min. before eating and they were excellent. This is the only way to go. Thanks Kate

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Boca Pat February 11, 2004

The potatoes were creamy and delicious. I made them just as the recipe stated and it was great.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
JJMarie November 27, 2011

I really appreciate that I could make these ahead of time. I used half and half instead of cream and it was yummy. I also used home canned potatoes because that is what I had in the house. I did not have to add the extra liquid just before baking.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Spencer #2 March 28, 2011

Wonderful galic potatoes! Made them in the morning and popped them in the oven just before dinner. Great flavour and easy! I cut the recipe back to 2 servings and used 2% milk and becel margerine instead of the butter, with lots of pepper. Served them under a Swiss steak like recipe; they went very well together. Thanks for posting , I will make these again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Derf September 21, 2009
Make Ahead Garlic Mashed Potatoes