Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Make Ahead Garlic Mashed Potatoes Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Make Ahead Garlic Mashed Potatoes

    Average Rating:

    14 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-14 of 14

    Sort by:

    • on April 16, 2008

      Everyone enjoyed these potatoes - I cut back on the milk & cream - they just didn't need quite that much. Pouring the last bit over top for the final baking is wonderful it forms - not a crust but gives a nice finish to the potatoes.I love doing them in the morning and then just pop them in before dinner This dish was served with steamed smoked Black Alaska Cod, Savory Brussels Sprouts & Ginger Glazed carrots The dinner was demolished Thanks Kate in Ontario 15 April 08 Made & enjoyed again added a photo this time

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 09, 2007

      I love the ease of make ahead dishes - it makes those special occasion like Easter more enjoyable for the chef! I was so happy to find this recipe as I'm totally bored with the same old, same old cream cheese & sour cream combo that I've been using for eons! The potatoes were creamy, the flavour of the garlic was very subtle, the final "finish" added to the visual appearance. Thanx Kate for a recipe that I'll use many times in the future!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 15, 2006

      Very good recipe although I would suggest to others not to skimp on the liquid at all when mashing the potatoes because the oven dries them out a bit so next time I will put the full amount (more than usual) because when you take them out they should be perfect! Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 02, 2009

      I have never attempted making mashed potatoes ahead of time so I thought I would give it a try really not expecting them to be as good as made to order. I was wrong! These were terrific. I used half & half instead of whipping cream but otherwise followed the recipe. They get five stars because they taste wonderful and the for the ease of preparation. Thanks for the recipe!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 23, 2008

      These were very good. I love the convenience of a make ahead mashed potato. The only thing I will change next time, and I will make them again, is to add more black pepper just to give them a little more bang. Thanks for a good recipe Kate in Ontario.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 25, 2006

      What a great way of making mashed potatoes--no last minute scrambling. I also recommend using all the liquid--between the time in the frig and the oven, they were a little stiff since I didn't use all the liquid (but the gravy made them more creamy).

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 11, 2004

      We loved this recipe. I loved it more than DH because I prepared these a day before and it was one less thing I had to worry about. I popped them in the oven, about 40 min. before eating and they were excellent. This is the only way to go. Thanks Kate

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 27, 2011

      The potatoes were creamy and delicious. I made them just as the recipe stated and it was great.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 28, 2011

      I really appreciate that I could make these ahead of time. I used half and half instead of cream and it was yummy. I also used home canned potatoes because that is what I had in the house. I did not have to add the extra liquid just before baking.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 21, 2009

      Wonderful galic potatoes! Made them in the morning and popped them in the oven just before dinner. Great flavour and easy! I cut the recipe back to 2 servings and used 2% milk and becel margerine instead of the butter, with lots of pepper. Served them under a Swiss steak like recipe; they went very well together. Thanks for posting , I will make these again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 05, 2007

      Easy to make. My family loved it! There were no leftovers. This is definatly a keeper!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 22, 2006

      VERY good. I loved that the garlic taste wasn't overpowering. Super creamy and very conveinent. I'll definately be keeping this recipe handy and my search for "Make Ahead Mashed Potatoes" is officially over!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 04, 2006

      Add me to the list of raves on this recipe, Kate. I made this over the holidays. Being able to make it ahead of time was a big plus. Another great recipe. Thanks, Kate.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 18, 2005

      Nobody likes make ahead dishes more than I do, especially when there is company! These potatoes were wonderful- very creamy. They were a nice change from the cream cheese- sour cream combo that so many make ahead potatoes contain. And there's no such thing as too much garlic! Thanks Kate.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Make Ahead Garlic Mashed Potatoes

    Serving Size: 1 (224 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 8

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 302.1
     
    Calories from Fat 162
    53%
    Total Fat 18.0 g
    27%
    Saturated Fat 11.2 g
    56%
    Cholesterol 54.0 mg
    18%
    Sodium 128.7 mg
    5%
    Total Carbohydrate 31.9 g
    10%
    Dietary Fiber 3.7 g
    15%
    Sugars 1.3 g
    5%
    Protein 4.7 g
    9%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    salt & pepper

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes