Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Make Ahead Chimichangas Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Make Ahead Chimichangas

    Average Rating:

    17 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-17 of 17

    Sort by:

    • on October 07, 2009

      Worked perfectly. The tortillas were a little soggy upon defrosing, but they fried up great!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 07, 2011

      I added more seasoning and the kids loved these.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 08, 2009

      Great! Used leftover pork loin and simmered it in the beans and salsa for about 2 hours to really break down the meat and thicken the sauce. Left out chili peppers b/c of little kids and increased temp to 375 for 30 minutes b/c I had to put them into two 8x8 baking dishes. Put it at 400 for an additional 20 minutes and were pretty darn close to crunchiness factor of a fried chimichanga, considering the fat content wasn't there. Super solution to my Mexican craving for tonight!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 04, 2009

      I made these to freeze for lunches worked out awesome even though my burrito folding skills need some help.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 20, 2009

      Made this with my daughter. We used leftover pork roast. We left out the green chilis, because one family member doesn't like them. She had some refried beans that already had cheese in them. We used those, since getting rid of leftovers was the aim of the day. Fried the chimis. Ate some, froze others. All were amazing. Guests commented that they tasted like they'd come from a good Mexican restaurant.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 22, 2008

      Too much work for no flavor won't make again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 09, 2008

      Thank you I made this for dinner, I also added a can of tomatoes with chilli and paprika as well as a bunch of chopped coriander. This made 20 filled tortillas, half for dinner and the rest for the freezer. Served them with yellow rice, salsa and sour cream. Thank you for a great OAMC.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 24, 2008

    • on January 20, 2008

      These turned out great. I would make a couple of changes next time. I would have a can of whole black beans (instead of or 1/2 refried, 1/2 whole) and a little bit of rice in here as well. Thank you for adding the OAMC options. I have three in the freezer and I know they will come in really handy :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 12, 2008

    • on June 06, 2007

      Love it! Made them ahead of time and wrapped each up by itself. Baked them instead of frying to save time and calories. Turned out great. Have been making them and freezing for my daughter's graduation party.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 07, 2007

      I've never made these before & this is a great way to make them, super simple & able to be done ahead of time. Canned chilli peppers not available here so just added some chopped bell peppers instead. DH says it's a winner.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 17, 2006

      We made this to help fill up our freezer. They were easy to make and work well to freeze and eat later. I think I put too much filling in, as I only made 10 burritos instead of 16 recipe calls for...

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 20, 2006

      Bev these were great! I used burrito sized tortillas and made 8. I froze 4 for another day. It was so nice to prep these earlier in the afternoon and when DH came home from work, I just heated up the oil and browned on all sides. I then microwaved for 1.5 minutes to make sure the filling was warm. I used a large arm roast from a quarter beef we had bought, and I had all the great pan juices left to freeze for another day. Thanks so much for sharing! Nick's mom

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 19, 2004

      I made these last night along with spanish rice (Spanish Rice) My family really enjoyed these they were great. Easy to make.My brother stopped by and had to try them, then asked for the recipe. Thanks so much for sharing these. I will be making them often.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 30, 2003

      WOW! Thanks for another great recipe Bev. My BF & I recently went to a Mexican restaurant, as we were about to order I came down with a sudden severe migraine & we had to leave, my BF ended up getting takeaway for himself (chimichangas) & then raved for the next week about how good they were! Thankfully I found this recipe & now I know why he was raving so much - these are goooood!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 27, 2003

      I made this with leftover turkey and followed Bev's instructions to the T. The filling tastes wonderful, I used a burrito seasoning mix and really packed the chimichangas, so I only ended up with 14, instead of 16. I shallow-fried half of them and then baked them for about 1/2 hour at 300°, the rest I wrapped in foil and froze...so I don't know how those will be when baked from frozen. My older (22 yo) daughter and her BF LOVED these...they're Mexican food freaks, as I and my husband are, so we decided, at the dinner table, that this deserved 5 stars! Thanks Bev for a great recipe that has already become a favorite in this house!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Make Ahead Chimichangas

    Serving Size: 1 (304 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 8

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 866.8
     
    Calories from Fat 575
    66%
    Total Fat 63.8 g
    98%
    Saturated Fat 29.5 g
    147%
    Cholesterol 109.7 mg
    36%
    Sodium 1314.8 mg
    54%
    Total Carbohydrate 44.7 g
    14%
    Dietary Fiber 5.8 g
    23%
    Sugars 4.1 g
    16%
    Protein 28.6 g
    57%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    burrito seasoning mix

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites