Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Make Ahead Breakfast Sandwiches Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Make Ahead Breakfast Sandwiches

    Average Rating:

    28 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 28

    Sort by:

    • on July 13, 2010

      I made a batch of these for a friend of mine. Of course, we had to sneak a couple of them. I also used English muffins and I am glad that I did. I am getting ready to make these again. I really liked that they came together so fast.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 19, 2008

      These were actually pretty quick and easy to make. To save on time and trouble, I added a small amount of garlic powder (not garlic salt) to the egg mixture before cooking. I also didn't bother buttering the biscuits. I'm sure it's good that way, but for the amount of time involved in buttering and salting all those biscuits, I just felt it was easier (and a tiny bit healthier) to skip the butter and add garlic powder to the egg mixture instead. I also drained the sausage before adding in the eggs. There was still plenty of grease on the pan to keep the eggs from sticking. I think if I hadn't poured off the excess fat, these would have turned out too "heavy" for me. I also used American cheese singles for this, because I had a bunch of them on hand, and it was easy to just fold the cheese slices into quarters. When adding the eggs to the sausage mix, I stirred the mixture gently a couple of time while it was cooking, just to get it to cook evenly. When it was mostly cooked (but still just a bit wet), I removed it from the heat and covered the pan with a lid to finish cooking. The eggs hold together well this way, making it quick and easy to assemble the sandwiches. I love breakfast sandwiches, but since they aren't too healthy, I don't often have them. I thought this recipe was a nice (and economical) compromise that allowed me to have the sausage flavor without actually having an entire slice of sausage on each biscuit. It's still not diet food, but it is less fat than a traditional sausage, egg, and cheese biscuit! Good recipe. I liked this one a lot. Will definitely make it again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 03, 2010

      These are pretty good. Everyone in my family agreed that they would much rather have a different cheese. So next time I will not use sharp cheddar. They do seem pretty greasy when reheated. I did use English muffins instead of refrigerated biscuits as none of us really care for those. I ended up using 1 tsp. dry mustard and 3/4 tsp. pepper since I wasn't sure of what amounts to use as this was my first time making these. I will probably stick with this amount for future use. I was able to make 28 sandwiches.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 22, 2009

      The whole family absolutely loves these. They are so easy to heat one up and eat on the way to work. I was a little concerned that the egg filling might be a little messy, but it's not at all, the cheese really does glue everything together. I have made these using sausage, reg. bacon, maple bacon, and diced ham and I really like the maple bacon, it gives these a great flavor. Thanks, NebraskaGirl, these are a lifesaver.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 13, 2009

      I only made 1/4 of the recipe because my husband is a VERY picky eater. He goes to work at 5 am, so it's hard to get my lazy bum up to make him breakfast, so I thought these would be a good idea. I have gotten premade ones at the store, but my husband doesn't really like them because the egg texture turns him off. It made exactly 8 biscuits with no left over egg mixture, and I only put cheese in half of them. I put each sandwich in individual foodsaver bags with cooking instructions written on each bag. My husband ABSOLUTELY LOVED THEM! Thanks so much for the idea.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 25, 2011

      Tasty breakfast sandwich! I used crumbled cooked bacon instead of the sausage and american cheese. I liked the flavor the mustard gave the eggs. Nice quick breakfast on the go - thanks for sharing the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 07, 2010

      Meh. There was nothing particularly special or good about this recipe. Pretty basic. Make your meat, and eggs, throw 'em on a biscuit or english muffin with some cheese and freeze for later.

      They were pretty bland, from the seasoning to the cheese. Get real greasy when you heat them up. Pretty messy to eat like in the car on the way to work or anything.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 23, 2010

      We used small biscuits and made them more of "bite-sized" snacks. We all loved them! Will definitely make again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 22, 2010

    • on December 04, 2009

      These are GREAT. There is just the two of us so I only made a quarter of the recipe and they turned out great and we just love them. This recipe is a keeper. No need to change a thing. Try them, you'll like them.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 24, 2009

      For a quick on-the-go breakfast, these are great. I cut the recipe in half and cooked it a month ago, and we are still eating from that batch. When buying the ingredients, I thought we had more cans of biscuits than we actually did, so I ended up using Mary B's frozen biscuits for about half of them - and am so glad that happened. The canned biscuits were sometimes tough on the bottom when reheated, but the frozen ones are always tender and tasty. I did not use garlic salt, but used unsalted Greek Seasoning in the eggs instead.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 06, 2008

      Usually I make egg sandwiches with English muffins or toasted bread,so this was a good change of pace. The tender biscuits teamed well with the scrambled eggs. I made this with one can of biscuits and 5 extra-large eggs, and served immediately. I did not freeze any.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 15, 2008

      I halved this recipe, and for the biscuits I used #58913 because I don't like the refrigerated kind (these ones are easy and worth it). I had some egg/sausage mix leftover. It wasn't as hard as I anticipated getting the mix onto the biscuit without it falling everywhere. I do suggest that you resist the urge to "scramble" the mix so much- it is easier to put on the sandwich that way. These turned out great.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 25, 2008

      I made these today for brunch and have to say, they are really great, albeit a bit messy to make! I cut the recipe in half to try it out the first time, but will probably make a whole batch next time. I used flaky layer biscuits instead of buttermilk ones so they'll be less crumbly to eat in the car. DH will be so pleased when he reheats one of these for breakfast tomorrow morning! Thanks for a wonderful, economical, easy to prepare recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 20, 2008

      EAsy to put together. And it has been nice to have these on hand for cold winter mornings when I don't want to get out of bed until the last minute. I can grab and go. I have also heated them up and spread a little raspberry jam in them. May sound weird, but really good.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 14, 2008

      He likes them, he really likes them! I've made breakfast biscuits before and they were just so, so, but I got a nice call this morning from DH letting me know how tasty they were and how hearty they were. I was surprised how nice and large these were. Followed the recipe except I used 1 large can and 1 half can of biscuits, 12 eggs, 12 slices cheese and ended up with just a little bit of filling leftover. Tip- put a biscuit cutter on top of the biscuit, fill it up with egg mix, then remove and top with more cheese and biscuit top. Thanks NebraskaGirl!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 11, 2007

      These are so easy to make, and DH loves them! Thank you.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 07, 2007

      This is a great recipe! I bought the supplies at BJ's but they didn't have the biscuits, only crescent rolls. So I made the filling and used the crescent rolls. It makes about 60 small rolls. After filling and rolling I baked them as directed, wrapped them up and froze them. Great idea for the mob I will have here at Christmas.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 02, 2007

      I spend alot of money on Sausage egg biscuits at the grocery store until now! These are fantastic! So easy to make I use leftover biscuits as I alwasy have them! Dh was buying these at 7-11 every morning at 2.99 a pop! No more! I made them with bacon and ham too!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 16, 2007

      We made this today as part of our OAMC for Breakfast cooking day and loved these! We made the recipe just as written and had some of the egg and sausage mixture leftover. We could have probably made 40 biscuits. One thing I will do differently next time is to not use butter-flavored biscuits. I think plain biscuits would be better. Just MHO. Thanks for the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Make Ahead Breakfast Sandwiches

    Serving Size: 1 (4210 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 374.0
     
    Calories from Fat 207
    55%
    Total Fat 23.0 g
    35%
    Saturated Fat 8.4 g
    42%
    Cholesterol 151.9 mg
    50%
    Sodium 890.8 mg
    37%
    Total Carbohydrate 25.4 g
    8%
    Dietary Fiber 0.4 g
    1%
    Sugars 4.4 g
    17%
    Protein 15.5 g
    31%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites