36 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Wonderful appetizer. I have found that I can use my standing Kitchen Aid mixer with the dough hook to mix this up in a hurry.

7 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Cambria cook April 23, 2009

Holy Cow! Holy Cow! KC you've done it yet again! I served this New Years Eve and wow was it a hit. Since I prefer breakfast sausage that was what I used. The only thing I didn't have on hand was the rosemary. Yes this recipe makes a lot of balls but make a double recipe if there are more than 10 people. They really will disappear quickly. I served this with Horseradish Sauce #39331 and Teriyaki Sauce #55859.

7 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
quiet603 January 17, 2009

Funny story: I had a Christmas open house and had really lovely and time consuming food. Not many raved about the smoked salmon cheesecake or the red velvet cake but EVERYONE raved about these silly little meatballs. Good thing I made a double batch and kept cooking them all night! I served them with a honey mustard sauce and kept them warm in a chafing dish. People love simple food.... simply done...Thanks for the recipe.

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kathy!! December 23, 2009

Well it must be me, but these were too doughy for my liking. The only thing I did, was to halve the recipe, but followed ingredients and halved amounts exactly. IF I were to make these again, and that's a big "if", I would add more Italian sausage than what is called for. I used hot Italian sausage and even added about a tsp.of Tabasco sauce. If it weren't for the heat,well you get the idea. FYI, for anyone who may have a friend who doesn't own a computer, this recipe is a combination of two "sausage cheese ball" recipes that can be found in the Bisquick paperback cookbook. I don't know if it's still in print, because I've had mine for years.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
arroz241_11561377 October 31, 2010

These are great! I took them to 2 parties over the holidays and they disappeared so fast I could hardly believe it. Everyone loved them. I used the hot italian sausage, so omitted the cayenne. I served them with bottled plum sauce for dipping.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
zoo66 January 05, 2010

YUM! Took these to a New Year's Eve Party and they were a hit. Used honey mustard sauce (#13328), a Ruby15 suggested, and it was a perfect match! Will make these over and over! Another winner from Kitten!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lakerdog2 January 01, 2010

I just made these for dinner and they are excellent. The only thing I might leave out is the rosemary. I used a copycat bisquick recipe (from here) with whole wheat flour and they still turned out great. Thanks for the great and easy recipe.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sharbysyd May 31, 2009

Thanks Kittencal for a great appetizer. My guests loved these little balls of yum! They asked for the recipe before leaving. Thanks Chattes for the sweet chili dip idea. I served that and quiet603's idea of terriyaki dip. They were so good just alone too. The texture is like meatballs and ours cooked faster than the time so check on them earlier depending on your oven. I stuck a toothpick in each one and wahla finger food on the go. The seasoning salt and tabasco were good additions. Will make again. enjoy. ChefDLH

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ChefDLH March 04, 2009

Love! Love! Love these! I first tried them at a friends house and HAD to have the recipe. I make them everytime we have friends over and they are always gone in a flash with rave reviews.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
george.kathy January 08, 2009

Oh my! These were the absolute hit of the party! I couldn't get them out of the oven fast enough. I used half mild and half hot Italian sausage and followed the recipe to the "T" using Heart Smart Bisquick. As a dipping sauce, I used bottled sweet chili sauce and I think that just put these sausage balls over the top! This recipe makes a bunch, is easy and freezes well. I have half in my freezer right now to have on New Year's Eve with my husband. Again, another fantastic recipe from Kitten.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chattes December 27, 2008
Make-Ahead Bisquick Sausage Ball Appetizers