9 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

These are delicious. I, however, did modify them to experiment. I used agave nectar in place of the white sugar (eliminate the water and decrease cooking temp 25 degrees if you try this). I personally thought they weren't sweet enough with that switch so I will do white sugar next time. To make the agave ones sweeter for my palate, I made a powdered sugar glaze with cardamom and cinnamon and lightly spooned it on the cookies. That was perfect for us! I will definitely make this again!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Buffalo Gal 75 January 23, 2010

These are very good and chewy. I reduced the cloves slightly as suggested by another reviewer. The cookies remind me of the much more labor intensive Christmas cookies my grandma used to make (no rolling and cutting with cookie cutters).

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Zetty66 October 27, 2008

Mmmm...these are delicious! So delicately spiced. No one single spice overwhelms the cookie, even the cloves. They all work together beautifully to create a really yummy cookie. I love that they were chewy, yet crisp on the edges. I also dipped mine in Turbinado sugar for a little extra crunch and decoration, although they certainly don't need it.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kater October 21, 2008

These were absolutely wonderful, exactly the right combination of spices. Just like I remember my grandmother's years ago. I had mild-flavored molasses on hand and it's just right for this recipe. The dough does get a bit hard to stir at the end, but well worth the effort!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
csardrey December 15, 2007

they're alright, I like my molasses cookies with a little more spice.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lilquiz December 01, 2006

This is an excellently flavored spice cookie but what makes it outstanding is the texture. You truly end up with a cook that has a slightly crisp exterior and a chewy middle. This would certainly look and taste great on any Christmas cookie platter or any time of the year. Great with coffee, too.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MollyJ December 18, 2005

These cookies were soft and delicious. Spice cookies are one of my favorite. Not difficult to make but had to have my husband finish mixing in the last cup of flour for me. I really liked that the dough didn't have to be chilled first. Thanks HeatherFeather.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
bullwinkle November 17, 2004

This is a nice cookie recipe .. I used only 1/4 tsp of cloves because I think cloves are overpowering, so the entire amount would ruin the cookies for me .. my entire family loved these cookies, thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
najwa June 23, 2004
Maine Multi-Spice Cookies(Maine Chewies)