14 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

These are the "fudgiest" brownies I have ever eaten. My old Ghiradelli chocolate recipe pales in comparison. Warning to all chocoholics out there... these are addicting! Thanks, Mean Chef... I think. :o)

13 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Terri F. March 27, 2003

I have been searching for at least 20 years to find the "best brownie". This may be it. Used bittersweet chocolate and pecans. Think the sour cream and lower baking temperature may be the key. Many Thanks Mean !

11 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Colorado Cookie April 11, 2003

Holy Cow! These are RICH, Delicious brownies. I agree that these are best right out of the refrigerator! I made them in a sheet pan, making 3 1/2 times the recipe as Mean Chef suggested. 1/3 was plain, I pressed macadamia nuts into another 1/3, and swirled a cream cheese mixture into the other 1/3. They are fabulous!!! Definitely can only eat a SMALL piece, as they are so rich and filling! Thanks for this recipe. I'll be making these again... all of my friends, family and parent's co-workers loved them too!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
love4culinary December 23, 2003

Definitely not your run-of-the-mill everyday brownie. These are ultra fudgy with an addicting chewy texture. I'd never had a refrigerated brownie before, but I followed your advice and couldn't imagine them any other way. I used semisweet chocolate and no nuts. Amazingly delicious!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Linorama August 14, 2003

This is a best bet when making brownies! I used the release foil and it worked fantastic--no stick! Maida got this recipe from her friend Jane Freeman.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
socholy July 25, 2010

I was looking for a fudgy brownie and thought I had found it with this recipe but I did not.These were quite sweet and seemed like they didn't even cook.I like a fudgy brownie but these were just a gooey mess but they did firm up once I put them in the fridge.I don't think I would make these again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LuuvBunny December 27, 2007

i would actually say this is more like fudge than a brownie.. very good indeed, i used whole wheat flour, a mixture of bitter and semi sweet (more bitter) a little less butter than called for and i added walnuts in it and on top.. my husband said the walnuts made it the best.. we didnt even try them with out refrigerating them first.. they seemed like if they were left out too long they almost started melting! but very very smooth and chocolatey... mmm thanks

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
sprue February 19, 2007

Wowee! That's a good brownie. So soft, chewy and chocolaty. A quote from a 16 year old "awesome". A quote from a 10 year old "Perfect in every way". I used chocolate chips and left out the nuts. I stirred the egg mixture and dry ingredients right into the pot with the chocolate mixture. I think the mistake some people may have made that made them too cakey was to use electric beaters. If you want them more fudgy...stir them slowly by hand. Thanks Mysterygirl for the keeper recipe. Made for Holiday Tag.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Engrossed December 19, 2006

Wow - almost *too* rich... When you said "fudgy," you weren't kidding! :-o I have to agree with love4culinary that the pieces need to be cut small, to avoid overwhelming the eater. I used walnuts and semisweet chocolate. I may try again, but cut back a bit on the butter and sugar (or else use bittersweet chocolate). The extra comments and suggestions were very helpful (how to get 'em out of the pan, to refridgerate, etc.)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
origamifreak November 27, 2006

These are very rich and gooey-dh loved them! I used the semisweet choc (chips) and left out the nuts, and doubled the recipe for a 9x13. Dh says these are better than a brownie mix, which is a grand compliment from him! Thanks for the recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kaarin April 25, 2005
Maida Heater's intense fudgy Brownies