Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Maida Heater's intense fudgy Brownies Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Maida Heater's intense fudgy Brownies

    Average Rating:

    14 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-14 of 14

    Sort by:

    • on March 27, 2003

      These are the "fudgiest" brownies I have ever eaten. My old Ghiradelli chocolate recipe pales in comparison. Warning to all chocoholics out there... these are addicting! Thanks, Mean Chef... I think. :o)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 11, 2003

      I have been searching for at least 20 years to find the "best brownie". This may be it. Used bittersweet chocolate and pecans. Think the sour cream and lower baking temperature may be the key. Many Thanks Mean !

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 23, 2003

      Holy Cow! These are RICH, Delicious brownies. I agree that these are best right out of the refrigerator! I made them in a sheet pan, making 3 1/2 times the recipe as Mean Chef suggested. 1/3 was plain, I pressed macadamia nuts into another 1/3, and swirled a cream cheese mixture into the other 1/3. They are fabulous!!! Definitely can only eat a SMALL piece, as they are so rich and filling! Thanks for this recipe. I'll be making these again... all of my friends, family and parent's co-workers loved them too!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 14, 2003

      Definitely not your run-of-the-mill everyday brownie. These are ultra fudgy with an addicting chewy texture. I'd never had a refrigerated brownie before, but I followed your advice and couldn't imagine them any other way. I used semisweet chocolate and no nuts. Amazingly delicious!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 25, 2010

      This is a best bet when making brownies! I used the release foil and it worked fantastic--no stick! Maida got this recipe from her friend Jane Freeman.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 27, 2007

      I was looking for a fudgy brownie and thought I had found it with this recipe but I did not.These were quite sweet and seemed like they didn't even cook.I like a fudgy brownie but these were just a gooey mess but they did firm up once I put them in the fridge.I don't think I would make these again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 19, 2007

      i would actually say this is more like fudge than a brownie.. very good indeed, i used whole wheat flour, a mixture of bitter and semi sweet (more bitter) a little less butter than called for and i added walnuts in it and on top.. my husband said the walnuts made it the best.. we didnt even try them with out refrigerating them first.. they seemed like if they were left out too long they almost started melting! but very very smooth and chocolatey... mmm thanks

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 19, 2006

      Wowee! That's a good brownie. So soft, chewy and chocolaty. A quote from a 16 year old "awesome". A quote from a 10 year old "Perfect in every way". I used chocolate chips and left out the nuts. I stirred the egg mixture and dry ingredients right into the pot with the chocolate mixture. I think the mistake some people may have made that made them too cakey was to use electric beaters. If you want them more fudgy...stir them slowly by hand. Thanks Mysterygirl for the keeper recipe. Made for Holiday Tag.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 27, 2006

      Wow - almost *too* rich... When you said "fudgy," you weren't kidding! :-o I have to agree with love4culinary that the pieces need to be cut small, to avoid overwhelming the eater. I used walnuts and semisweet chocolate. I may try again, but cut back a bit on the butter and sugar (or else use bittersweet chocolate). The extra comments and suggestions were very helpful (how to get 'em out of the pan, to refridgerate, etc.)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 25, 2005

      These are very rich and gooey-dh loved them! I used the semisweet choc (chips) and left out the nuts, and doubled the recipe for a 9x13. Dh says these are better than a brownie mix, which is a grand compliment from him! Thanks for the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 09, 2005

      After reading Elissa's review who could not make these. Wonderful and moist and just the right amount of chocolate. A great brownie for the fudgey brownie lovers out there.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 03, 2005

      OMG OMG OMG OMG Two bites of these is all you really need. They are truely decadant. I used Ghiradelli chocolate, and my very discerning, chocolate-loving guests were amazed at how fabulous these were. Try serving them on a plate w/ a swirl of raspberry sauce! Fabulous, Meanie!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 20, 2005

      Though I did not care terribly for these, my coworkers liked them. I don't like nuts so I threw in a handful of chocolate chips instead and that was a nice suprise. Though these were moist they weren't quite as dense or sweet as I was expecting. Next time I think I'll add a bit more chocolate. These were definately better after refrigeration and lost some of that cakiness that I hate.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 13, 2003

      These were a huge hit at the (Canadian) Thanksgiving supper I took them to...there were none leftover, even after a full turkey dinner and pumpkin pie. I followed the recipe exactly, and used Callebaut chocolate (its a Vancouver thing, very nice quality) and toasted hazelnuts. Thanks for a great recipe, delicious and easy to follow as well.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Maida Heater's intense fudgy Brownies

    Serving Size: 1 (773 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 210.1
     
    Calories from Fat 154
    73%
    Total Fat 17.2 g
    26%
    Saturated Fat 9.2 g
    46%
    Cholesterol 43.8 mg
    14%
    Sodium 57.6 mg
    2%
    Total Carbohydrate 15.9 g
    5%
    Dietary Fiber 2.6 g
    10%
    Sugars 9.7 g
    38%
    Protein 3.5 g
    7%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites