Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Maid-Rite's Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Maid-Rite's

    Average Rating:

    10 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-10 of 10

    Sort by:

    • on September 20, 2007

      I've tried several Maid-Rite recipes and to me this is the closest to the real thing. My first Maid-Rite sandwich was in Marshalltown, Iowa when I was a young girl 30 years ago and this is exactly how I eat them still today (mustard, onion, pickles and no ketchup) whenever I order them from our local Maid-Rite restuarant. I've always been disappointed when I make them myself, until now! Thanks so much for sharing this recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 08, 2005

      Delicious! These were so simple and really were delicious. I followed the recipe, except I added a bit of dry mustard to the beef mixture and used garlic salt instead of regular salt. I didn't think my husband, who is from Iowa, would be too excited about dinner but he raved! The meat was very tender, thanks to the simmering for an hour. Tasty, simple and a family pleaser. My favorite kind of recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 17, 2012

      Thank You! Your recipe is very good and the one I will use going forward. I get a kick out of people like Chef #751866 from Feb 2008 who claim the secret recipe is Coca Cola. My Aunt owned a Maid Rite in the Quad Cities and I ASSURE you there was NO Coca Cola in that bottle you saw them pouring in. It is a very gaurded recipe and I've tasted the contents from that bottle you refer to. It tastes NOTHING like Coke or Cola. There is no mined onion or black pepper in the original recipe either. Since she no longer owns the franchise, even she is not able to duplicate the exact taste.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 20, 2013

      Wonderful. Not exactly like original, but pretty close. And I agree with Valleyr - definitely no minced onion or black pepper in the original recipe. This is excellent - thank you so much for sharing it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 11, 2013

      My Great Grandfather, Fred Angell, invented the Maid Rite. I know the real recipe because my Great Grandpa passed it to my Grandma who passed it to my father and they have both told me the "secret" recipe. From time to time I go and critique people's versions of the recipe and I have to say that this one is quite close to the original. If you want the Maid Rite taste at home I would go with this one...it's not exact but it will definitely get you close to that Maid Rite taste! :D

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 12, 2011

      I have never had a Maid-Rite. I have nothing to compare it to. My son enjoyed it immensely. I thought it was like a burger that was crumbly.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 01, 2008

      i'm definatly dying to try this, i remember being a kid and going to the bowling alley with my parents, while having to wait for them i would go over to the maid rite next door and get one, granted theres a new one in north kansas city, but its in a hy-vee gas station and its just not the same, so i can't wait to make this, might try the cola thing, how would you make a single serving with cola

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 25, 2014

      Being an Iowa Hawkeye residing in Gator Country the past 13 years I have learned there are 2 things you can't get here in the South. 1) Maid Rites (M.R.) & 2) Fried Pork Tenderloins. Having lived in Marshalltown, IA the place to get a M.R. is Taylor's Maid Rite. Taylor's was highlighted on the Rick Sebak PBS special 'Sandwiches You Will Like'. My two other hometowns Waterloo & Newton also have great M.R. joints. In regards to the delicious Fried Pork Tenderloin Sandwich in Waterloo my 2 favorite joints are Steamboat Gardens & The Wishbone. Both make their tenderloins the size of your head! Guaranteed to make you Fat & Happy! LOL Now if Food Network can get a good recipe for the Fried Pork Tenderloin Sandwich many Hawkeyes living in Florida would be happy!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 17, 2011

      I grew up eating Muscatine Maid-Rites, and when I made these tonight, I tweaked the recipe...you have the basics right for the most part, but I'd like to share some ways to get it closer to the original: Use chicken broth instead of beef broth. Lots and lots of minced onion. About a 1/4 of a cup of Coca Cola adds sweetness to the meat, and about three shakes of Lea and Perrins, along with some black pepper and a couple shakes of garlic salt.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 03, 2008

      I remember as a kid watching a lady make maid rites. She took ten pounds of hamburger and emptied two bottles of Coca Cola ino the mixture. The acid of the soda helps to tenderize the meat. You are missing some onion powder or minced onion and a little black pepper in this recipe as well. When done properly, they are tasty treats.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Maid-Rite's

    Serving Size: 1 (231 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 364.8
     
    Calories from Fat 170
    46%
    Total Fat 18.9 g
    29%
    Saturated Fat 7.1 g
    35%
    Cholesterol 77.1 mg
    25%
    Sodium 483.7 mg
    20%
    Total Carbohydrate 21.2 g
    7%
    Dietary Fiber 0.9 g
    3%
    Sugars 2.6 g
    10%
    Protein 25.3 g
    50%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites