Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Mahogany Chicken Wings Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Mahogany Chicken Wings

    Average Rating:

    29 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 29

    Sort by:

    • on March 30, 2003

      This marinade/sauce is delicious!!!! I used it with skinless chicken breasts -- and cooked them in kind of a foil envelope for the first 25 minutes so they wouldn't dry out -- then opened the foil for the last 20 minutes so the marinade could reduce. The sauce was a wonderful caramel consistency, and so delicious! Thanks for a wonderful meal.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 22, 2003

      My family ate them all. I made a trial run for the Superbowl party we are having. They passed with flying colors, you have an excellent recipe. I am sure they will be a crowdpleaser for everyone. The only thing I did differently was turn the heat to 350, my oven runs very warm. You have a winner on your hands.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 15, 2003

      You DO know this sauce is incredibly versatile, right? I mean, beyond wings, I can see this on every form of poultry imaginable & would be interested in trying the sauce with a beef or pork stirfry. GO ARMY, & bless you for posting this!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 03, 2003

      I added lots of fresh garlic and I used fresh ginger and it turned out very good. I was very pleased with the taste. Good Job!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 29, 2003

      Made these for superbowl sunday and all I can say is WOW! I tripled the recipe as I had 4lbs of wings and even with all the other appies I fixed everyone of these were eaten and only 4 people. My DH said they were probably the best wings he has ever had. I did pour off some of the fat the last 5 minutes of cooking and then let those babies glaze over. They were tasty and beautiful. I can surely see you take after your Mama! Good Job!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 25, 2003

      Wow... Very good... I passed this one on to everyone. They were yummy , thanks so much for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 14, 2003

      These wings are very good, my family loves them. I have made this recipe several times and the one thing I did change was the oven temp. I cook them at 350 for approximately 1 hour and the sauce does not burn but the wings develop a nice glaze.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 10, 2003

      These were superb. I didn't have any wings on hand, so I used skinless chicken thighs. I served them with steamed rice and corn and green beans. Thanks for a great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 03, 2003

      These were a real hit at a pot luck dinner I had with the girls from work, after getting a little help in our questions forum here on Zaar re the chili sauce (I have only ever seen sweet chili sauce here in NZ) I found a chili sauce with garlic in one of our supermarkets and tried that. It may not be the same as what you use in the States but it was sure a hit here! Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 19, 2004

      Quick and easy. I did chicken wings for the football game and they were a hit.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 23, 2005

      I,too,admit that these were great!I had to substitute white corn syrup for the honey as I did not have any on hand;however,This did not have a negative affect on either the appearance or the taste of these wings in any way.After combining all ingredients for the marinade,I put everything into a large ZIPLOC bag and let the wings marinate for 8 hours in the refrigerator.To allow for easier clean up,I lined the baking pan with foil AND greased it as well.This worked wonders as the sauce just glided off the foil and into the serving dish.Needless to say there were no leftovers...just happy guests with sticky hands!!Thanks for the great recipe!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 16, 2003

      These were really excellant. Even tho' we love "hot" wings, I love to try other variations too. The combination of the honey and soy sauce is what makes this recipe IMHO. I didn't have any ginger so I substituted Chinese 5-Spice which does contain ginger. And I took Mama Riff's advice and added some fresh garlic. The turned out wonderful! Definately a keeper at our house!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 28, 2009

      I really liked this, I would have like the ginger flavour to be stronger so I think if I make this one again I will add a bit more of that. I used Sriracha hot sauce for the chili sauce so it was fairly hot, but I was looking for a spicy chicken wing recipe so I was happy with that. :) Thanks for sharing

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 27, 2009

      Very good wing recipe. I made them for a get together and they got raves from everyone there. The only reason I gave the 4 stars instead of 5, was because I thought that they needed to be blackened up a little bit at the end of the cooking time given. I put them under the broiler for a few minutes on each side to achieve this. Yummy. Thanks!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 03, 2009

      We liked this recipe. I am always on the lookout for another wing recipe and this is a keeper. We liked the combination of flavors in these, they were sweet and spicy, as i added a few crushed red pepper flakes. Thank you for posting, I will make these often.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 28, 2009

      Nice unique flavor and spice! Easy to pull all the ingredients together from the pantry. Delicious! Thanks!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 10, 2008

      Used your recipe tonight and what a hit! We love cooking wings on the grill, but since it is too cold for that, found your recipe and decided to give it a whirl. My husband has to work tonight and he asked if he could take the leftovers with him! Delicious and easy to adjust the heat as each desires, he likes hot and spicy, so red pepper flakes and extra garlic were added. You have a winner of a recipe! I think I might even freeze a batch in the sauce and have it ready to go! Thanks Love!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 11, 2008

      So delicious. I used 3/4 teaspoons crushed red chili peppers instead of the chili sauce. The whole family was pleased and wants me to make it again soon.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 21, 2007

      These were very good, we just would have preferred a bit stronger flavor. Thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 27, 2007

      These came out lovely! Moist and flavorful with just the right touch of heat and sweet. One step that makes a big difference if you are watching calories-Put the wings in a roasting pan and bake at 350 degrees for 30 min, then DRAIN all that fat off. Then pour the mixture over the chicken and refrigerate/marinate as usual. You won't need to cook these quite as long if you do this step, I put them in for about 45 minutes at 350 degrees. If you want them crispy, drain off the sauce and low broil for a few minutes. (Careful not to burn!) I tripled the recipe for a 4lb bag of chicken wings then marinated in a Gallon Ziploc baggie. Also, the absolute BEST chili sauce is Huy Fong Chili Garlic Sauce. Seriously. Get it. The taste of this recipe had just a bit too much soy sauce for me, I will reduce next time. My boyfriend's three hulking friends came over to play video games last night (men-sheesh!) and they gobbled these up. This was AFTER they ate dinner so you know these had to be good! These are even better with Do At Home Onion Rings #16887.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Mahogany Chicken Wings

    Serving Size: 1 (185 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 402.5
     
    Calories from Fat 204
    50%
    Total Fat 22.7 g
    34%
    Saturated Fat 6.3 g
    31%
    Cholesterol 109.2 mg
    36%
    Sodium 950.9 mg
    39%
    Total Carbohydrate 21.5 g
    7%
    Dietary Fiber 0.4 g
    1%
    Sugars 18.6 g
    74%
    Protein 27.7 g
    55%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes