Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Mahogany Beef Stew Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Mahogany Beef Stew

    Average Rating:

    271 Total Reviews

    Showing 161-180 of 271

    Sort by:

    • on October 14, 2008

      The family really liked this one and I changed it up the next night for leftovers and served it with dumplings. I will definitely use this one again. thanks

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 13, 2008

      Has a bit of a sweet flavor that I didn't care for.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 08, 2008

      Perfection!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 26, 2008

      Great stew!! Definately will make this recipe again. I served this with mashed potatoes. I used about 1/3 cup hoisin sauce which was perfect for our tastes. Thanks for sharing this great recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 18, 2008

      I made this last night and received rave reviews from my daughter. She said if her tummy would let her she would eat the whole thing! Guess I will be making this one again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 07, 2008

      OMG this was absolutely delicious. The combination of flavours worked so well with just enough of the wine flavouring coming through. I had things to do during the day so I browned the meat after lightly flouring it and then threw everything bar 1 cup of wine and the garlic (and the finishing ingredients) into the crock pot on high and let it be for most the day. About an hour or so prior to serving I threw in the other cup of wine and the garlic with the carrots etc. This got raves from my guests and is definately something I'd cook again and again. Who would have thought stew could be so stylish!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 06, 2008

    • on September 06, 2008

      Ev, this was great, thank you. I wanted it to slow cook as I had to go and get the girls from school so ended up cooking in the oven on about 125C for a couple of hours. I'm also not keen on carrots so instead used some diced sweet potato and about 1/2 hour before serving threw in some frozen peas and didn't end up thickening it. Served in some Aldi brand yorkshire puddings which were frozen and just needed heating up in the oven. Great recipe for a cold night.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 01, 2008

      Tasty! I added pearl onions and cooked it for seven hours on simmer. The meat fell apart and the gravy was really nice. I served it on mashed potatoes with peas.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 24, 2008

      Very good! Deep and rich and perfect comfort food. I was not sweet at all to me. I followed the directions but added about a 1/4 cup of brown sugar and some worchecisizer (sp LOL) sauce. I also doebled the cornstarch with a can of beef broth! My son loves it too!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 14, 2008

      I really enjoyed this beef stew, which I modified to suit the ingredients we had on hand. I used white wine rather than red, and just 1 c rather than 2 because if it were too "winy", my son would balk. I also added 2 lbs of halved gold new potatoes along with the carrots, and used one 28-oz can whole peeled tomatoes so my son could easily avoid them. This was a great one-pot meal that went well with crusty bread, and it's terrific as leftovers too. Thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 17, 2008

      The slow-cooking really bought out all the flavours of this dish. We used veal and homemade hoisin sauce, but otherwise exactly as the recipe entails. My hubby raved about this!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 16, 2008

    • on June 09, 2008

      I've made a similar version of this recipe for years and it was great -- that is, until I found this recipe that added red wine! The wine does wonders for the flavour, I can hardly believe how much better it is this way. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 26, 2008

      This went over big at my house. I rolled the meat in flour before adding to the pot to saute. Also, I used pearl onions in place of the chopped, and threw in some fresh mushrooms and lg. chunks of celery about 10 minutes after the carrots. The combo of ingredients made for a great flavored stew and one that will be repeated here when the mood strikes for stew again. We loved it's richness and flavors! Had along with mashed potatoes and sauteed garlic green beans on the side.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 25, 2008

      this was a hit w/ the fam. my husband couldn't figure out what the new secret ingredient was but he assumed it had a slight bbq flavor. so i let him think that and didn't mention the hoisin sauce. kids loved it so this will definately go into their favorites file. i on the other hand still prefer the traditional beef stew. but overall this was a great recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 18, 2008

      Wow, wow wow!! This has become perhaps the best dish I have ever made! So tangy, complex, savory and the meat just falls apart! I served it with mashed potatoes :-) THANKS!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 07, 2008

      This recipe was perfect we used gravy roast pieces for this dish.The only thing i added was 1 teaspoon chopped ginger. I will be checking out more recipes from Evelyn.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 30, 2008

      What more can be said about this winner of a recipe. We couldn't stop eating it. My DH said he can't wait till we have it again. I made plenty of potatoes and poured the gravy over them. I highly recommend making this luscious stew!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 11, 2008

      This stew has a very nice flavor, i didn't have any wine so i used low sodium beef broth, and i did add a couple more cloves of garlic, (i can't help it, garlic is so good). I also froze half of this for another night. I can't wait to make this with wine, i bet it's even better! Thank you evelyn for this recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Mahogany Beef Stew

    Serving Size: 1 (629 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 656.3
     
    Calories from Fat 236
    35%
    Total Fat 26.2 g
    40%
    Saturated Fat 8.6 g
    43%
    Cholesterol 175.2 mg
    58%
    Sodium 623.1 mg
    25%
    Total Carbohydrate 33.7 g
    11%
    Dietary Fiber 5.4 g
    21%
    Sugars 16.2 g
    64%
    Protein 59.2 g
    118%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites