282 Reviews

The recipe was easy and tender, but my family just didn't like the flavor of it. I think it was the hoisin. Sorry!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef Lindsay February 21, 2012

Rich taste and great scent throughout the kitchen. The hoisin sauce makes the flavor. I dredged the meat in flour, dry mustard, garlic powder, and salt & pepper. Also added potatoes and celery. The wine? I used a good chianti.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
nccookie22 February 16, 2012

Oh my goodness this is wonderful. I made this tonight with some homemade bread and it was delicious. It had a distinct flavor from the hoisin sauce that is like no other stew I've made. Thank you so much for sharing this with us.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mommyoffour February 08, 2012

The beef came out tender and it was flavorful, but not at all to our taste. It is very, very sweet, overpoweringly so, really.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Caryltoo January 23, 2012

Yummmmmm. Perfect for this cold January night!! I also floured and salt/peppered the meat before browning as other have done and skipped the cornstarch. Other then that, I followed the recipe. Next time I think I will add some more veggies (potatoes, peas, celery, not sure what else? because I really like veggies) and maybe more garlic. Hubbie loved it and I got no complaints from the kids! We will be making this one again!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kda949 January 18, 2012

love this! had great flavor. I am cutting carbs and trying to eat more veggies, so I used about 2 lbs of some really lean looking chuck roast and trimmed as much fat as I could and added a lot more veggies (5 big carrots, 3 celery stocks, 1 red pepper, 1 green pepper a lil extra onion). I think all the water from the veggies diluted it so I skipped the second cup of wine, it was very watery. Thickened up beautifully with cornstarch and was delicious and flavorful! Will make again for sure!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
adamwa January 17, 2012

This was the best stew I've ever made. I had to half the recipe (not enough meat) but it ended up being enough for my husband and I with some (rationed) leftovers. I used tiny cubes of beef sirloin (sold as fondue style meat) and browned them in batches to make sure they had lots of colour. Removed the meat from the pan and carmelized my onions. After adding the wine (all at once) and everything aside from the carrots I simmered for 3o minutes, then transfered the pot to the oven and cooked at 250 for 2 hours with the carrots added. At this point the meat was falling apart tender and the flavour was so rich. I skipped the cornstarch as it was thick enough without. I served this over mashed potatoes, and tomorrow I will serve the left overs of whole wheat egg noodles for lunch.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mommymakeit4u January 03, 2012

This stew turned out quite tasty, although I ran into a couple of problems. The carrots, along with the 4 cubed new potatoes I added, did not cook in the time indicated in the recipe. I had to simmer the stew for another 45 minutes. In the process, it got too thick, so I had to add some beef broth to thin it out. Right towards the end of cooking, I added a can of green beans and, because I dredged the meat in seasoned flour and browned it first, I did not have to use the slurry. As recommended in other reviews, I added just a touch of liquid smoke and a splash of soy sauce. Delicious!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
scfl76 December 14, 2011

This was amazing! I sauted the onions and garlic in some olive oil in my pressure cooker. Removed it and then seared the meat and then added back in the onions and the rest of the ingredients and cooked it at 15PSI for about 40 minutes. The meat was so tender! I then thickened the sauce with some cornstarch. I served it over buttered noodles. I didn't put as much hoisin sauce as the recipe called for because all I had was about an 1/8 cup or slightly more. Too me it was just enough to give the stew a good flavor. I thought my husband was going to lick his plate!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Crazycook in PA November 20, 2011

This is fantastic! I used a Pinot Noir someone had given us, and it was perfect. The only differences I made were to add about a cup and a half of beef broth and about a pound and a half of petite white potates that I had cubed. Served it as is with some Bubba's Beer Biscuits to sop up the extra! Leftovers in the fridge for lunch tomorrow!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
loriyeargan October 23, 2011
Mahogany Beef Stew