276 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This was the best stew I've ever made. I had to half the recipe (not enough meat) but it ended up being enough for my husband and I with some (rationed) leftovers. I used tiny cubes of beef sirloin (sold as fondue style meat) and browned them in batches to make sure they had lots of colour. Removed the meat from the pan and carmelized my onions. After adding the wine (all at once) and everything aside from the carrots I simmered for 3o minutes, then transfered the pot to the oven and cooked at 250 for 2 hours with the carrots added. At this point the meat was falling apart tender and the flavour was so rich. I skipped the cornstarch as it was thick enough without. I served this over mashed potatoes, and tomorrow I will serve the left overs of whole wheat egg noodles for lunch.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mommymakeit4u January 03, 2012

This stew turned out quite tasty, although I ran into a couple of problems. The carrots, along with the 4 cubed new potatoes I added, did not cook in the time indicated in the recipe. I had to simmer the stew for another 45 minutes. In the process, it got too thick, so I had to add some beef broth to thin it out. Right towards the end of cooking, I added a can of green beans and, because I dredged the meat in seasoned flour and browned it first, I did not have to use the slurry. As recommended in other reviews, I added just a touch of liquid smoke and a splash of soy sauce. Delicious!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
scfl76 December 14, 2011

This was amazing! I sauted the onions and garlic in some olive oil in my pressure cooker. Removed it and then seared the meat and then added back in the onions and the rest of the ingredients and cooked it at 15PSI for about 40 minutes. The meat was so tender! I then thickened the sauce with some cornstarch. I served it over buttered noodles. I didn't put as much hoisin sauce as the recipe called for because all I had was about an 1/8 cup or slightly more. Too me it was just enough to give the stew a good flavor. I thought my husband was going to lick his plate!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Crazycook in PA November 20, 2011

This is fantastic! I used a Pinot Noir someone had given us, and it was perfect. The only differences I made were to add about a cup and a half of beef broth and about a pound and a half of petite white potates that I had cubed. Served it as is with some Bubba's Beer Biscuits to sop up the extra! Leftovers in the fridge for lunch tomorrow!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
AlabamaGirl71 October 23, 2011

This was excellent, with a few changes. Scaled it down a little, cooked the meat longer to tenderize (you need to taste it to judge), and added mushrooms with the carrots. I used 1/8 C hoisin and found it just right. I think more would overpower. The other secret addition for complex flavor was a few anchovies. Everyone loved it and I ate the bit left over for breakfast.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jckress October 21, 2011

I didn't really like this at all, the meat was tough, the carrots weren't done and I didn't like the sweet flavor.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Just enjoying life October 19, 2011

This was delicious although I burned it a hint at the end. :) It's rich and delicious. I added a little bit of fond de boeuf, a sort of thin beef broth. My roommate ate 3/4 of it in one sitting.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
HungryMeriQuiteContrary October 14, 2011

I am currently making this for the second time. Last time I left out the red wine as I didn't have any and made my own Hoisin sauce. This time I have made my own hoisin sauce again, but added in the red wine... I think it will taste better this time cos it already looks like its to die for!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
AussieFaith August 01, 2011

Followed the recipe as written. This dish was waayy too sweet. I would start with an 1/8th C of the hoisin sauce and then add more to your liking.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
saraandcjay June 19, 2011

Amazing, simple amazing. Last week my husband was literally licking his plate after we ate this. Im making it again tonight for guests :) Served it with mashed potatoes. I didnt need to add any cornstarch at the end it had thickened up well on its own. Actually it started getting a bit too thick and my husband wasnt home from work yet so I added some beef broth. It was incredible. Hoisin sauce is great I wanted to add more. Don't leave it out. :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
BethanyRenae May 04, 2011
Mahogany Beef Stew