Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Mahogany Beef Stew Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Mahogany Beef Stew

    Average Rating:

    274 Total Reviews

    Showing 141-160 of 274

    Sort by:

    • on March 06, 2009

      Unique with some hoisin sauce and very delicious!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 05, 2009

      This is the best!!!! Especially after it sits for a day or 2 (if it lasts that long) I added more carrots than stated just to make it a whole meal. I think next time I will have it over sour cream mashed potatoes instead of noodles.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 22, 2009

      Very delicious! My family wants it again soon.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 11, 2009

    • on February 11, 2009

      This really got some mixed reviews in our family, but I think the fault was mine because I served this in a bowl, like a traditional stew. The hoisin sauce really overpowered it. If I made this again, I would definitely serve it over horseradish potatoes like another reviewer suggested or over egg noodles. As a "stand-alone" stew, it doesn't really work that well. Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 10, 2009

      My first ever stew! I followed this recipe precisely and it came out quite good! I added potatoes in mine and served it over white rice with baked bread. My only "tiny" complaint is that the stew had a strong wine taste so I might cut back on the 2cups of wine next time. (I used a $35 Merlot so I don't think the brand made it strong). I will definitely make this dish again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 09, 2009

      I've been making this since it appeared in Bon Appetit in 2002. And it is one of my favorites. I too add more carrots, sliced mushrooms that have been well browned and other root veggies if I have them/want to use them. Now I am going to have to try making my own Hoisin since RZ has an interesting looking one. IMHO, this is really best served over the Horseradish Mashed Potatoes that appeared in the original menu. Horseradish Mashed Potatoes is the exact recipe as published in the BA issue.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 31, 2009

      This was really delicious. I love all kind of stew but this is already one of my favorites. And like all stews next day it was even much better. So make enough for 2 days or make it a day ahead.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 26, 2009

      Excellent!! Definitely a keeper, and my inlaws loved it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 24, 2009

      Outstanding! I wasn't sure if I wanted to share 2 cups of good quality red wine, but I'm glad I did. The only time suck was cutting/trimming the meat, but again, worth the sacrifice. Served it over brown rice with crusty French bread. Perfect meal for a cold January night!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 12, 2009

      This was excellent. My only concern was the high amount of sodium, so when I doubled the recipe I kept the hoisin sauce at the original 1/2 cup. The flavor was excellent, and halving the amount might make it tastier for those who thought the hoisin made this dish too sweet. I added several potatoes (essential!) and next time I''ll take another reviewer's suggestion and add celery, too. Thanks for a tasty recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 11, 2009

      This is simmering on the stove right now for the family to have for dinner. I actually made two pots, one with tofu, the other with beef so that we're all happy. This is so easy and good - I agree the hoisin makes it. Luckily I had a jar on hand, but it was exceptionally sweet so I didn't use the full amount. Didn't see a need for the cornstarch because it has simmered down to a perfect consistency. Thanks for this, next time I'll add some peas too. Bon Apetit!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 02, 2009

      Excellent stew! The flavors are rich and satisfying on a cold winter day. I added celery and instead of using a can of diced tomatoes and a can of chilis, I used one can of Rotel tomatoes with chilis. I served it over mashed potatoes and my family loved it. Thanks for the post!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 01, 2009

      This stew is outstanding! My husband requested that I make it again very, very soon. I used Hoisin Sauce - Microwave instead of bottled sauce. I served the stew on egg noodles as suggested (unbuttered, though) and it was quite happily devoured. I think next time I will use some celery and chunks of onion along with the carrots though. Thanks for the keeper of a recipe, Evelyn!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 15, 2008

      This had a lot of flavor! Hooray for another great use of hoisin sauce! Who would have thought? But since I like potato and veggies in my stew, I added them at the end so they didn't mush up. I also deleted the oregano, basil, and bay leaf because it reminded me too much of spaghetti sauce. Instead I added 2 tsps of rosemary, 2 tsps of thyme, 8oz can of tomato sauce, and a very small pinch of red pepper flakes. Yum! OAMC: I also made this to freeze so after the meat was tender, I seperated the amount I wanted to freeze and let it cool in the refrigerator. Once it was COLD, I added 2-3 C of frozen mixed vegetables and portioned into freezer bags. When ready to serve, thaw a bag overnight in the refrigerator, and if you want potatoes, add them as the reheated stew simmers.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 10, 2008

      We enjoyed this stew so much over garlic mashed potatoes. Excellent choice!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 28, 2008

      Very good. I used 1 cup wine and 1 cup beef broth. I liked the complexity of the flavors. It tastes great over buttered noodle and mashe potatoes.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 23, 2008

      This Stew was amazing!!! so rich in flavor that I didn't say a word and just cleaned my plate! -I followed the directions and added celery, carrots, more garlic and the extra cup of wine with some water as per previous review - I put just under the 1/2 cup of hoisin for fear of it being too sweet but could not take away anymore than a little because I was not willing to sacrifice flavor and I am ecstatic with the results thank you for this recipe...I cant wait to make it for others!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 21, 2008

      Our guests thoroughly enjoyed this stew with us last night. I used 2 cups chopped onions and 2 cups pearl onions, 2 stalks celery, carrots, more garlic and fresh mushrooms. Served over noodles it was delicious. I also cut back on the Hoisin sauce a bit based on other reviewers. Served with a green salad and bottle of good wine, you can't get a more satisfyng meal than this. Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 19, 2008

      This was frickin awesome. A LOT of stew though.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    1... 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 ... 14

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Mahogany Beef Stew

    Serving Size: 1 (629 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 656.3
     
    Calories from Fat 236
    35%
    Total Fat 26.2 g
    40%
    Saturated Fat 8.6 g
    43%
    Cholesterol 175.2 mg
    58%
    Sodium 623.1 mg
    25%
    Total Carbohydrate 33.7 g
    11%
    Dietary Fiber 5.4 g
    21%
    Sugars 16.2 g
    64%
    Protein 59.2 g
    118%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites