Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Mahogany Beef Stew Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Mahogany Beef Stew

    Average Rating:

    276 Total Reviews

    Showing 121-140 of 276

    Sort by:

    • on October 26, 2009

      Really good stew. Even better on Day 2. Next time I will add mushrooms and use only about 2/3 the hoisin sauce. I did use a bit more garlic and added it in with the onions. Tastes strangely like Niku Jaga, the Japanese beef stew, #42722 on Zaar.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 23, 2009

      Great stew. I made half a recipe and it was perfect for the two of us with a little left over.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 22, 2009

      I followed another person's suggestion and made this in the crock pot. I just put all of the ingredients in at the beginning and then added the cornstarch at the end....I did use 2 tablespoons. We thought that this would have been 5 stars, but we said it was a 4 because it was a bit too sweet and not enough salt. Next time I will leave out a bit of the hoisin sauce and see if this helps. Thanks for sharing and we will be making this again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 19, 2009

      Really great stuff, although I doctored it up a bit as others have. I added 2 large Idaho potatoes, 3 large carrots and about 3-4 tablespoons of worcestershire sauce, along with 2 cans of beef broth (no water.) It was delicious. Thanks, Evelyn. Your recipes never let me down!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 18, 2009

      Oh my, all the reviews are correct, this is an exceptional dish-company worthy and such comfort food.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 11, 2009

      OMG ! This was amazing. I made it in the crock pot, added a bunch of extra veggies - onion, celery, mushroom, potatoes. Believe the recipe, the hoisin sauce absolutely makes this dish. It was wonderful and am making it again a week later. Yummy

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 10, 2009

      Added a merlot,next time I'll use a drier wine. Added a cup of green beans cut to 1 inch with the corn starch

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 04, 2009

      I cooked this in our slow cooker--just tossed everything in and let it cook all day and it turned out awesome! I didn't put the carrots in at the end as they wouldn't have time to cook in the slow cooker, but I did thicken the sauce with cornstarch as suggested. It was perfect. I served them with my parmesan cornmeal biscuits--my husband cut the biscuits and spooned the meaty sauce over them and seemed to enjoy it thoroughly. My daughter wasn't so sure about trying it, but once she did, she had to have another big hunk of meat. Thank you for a delicious, comforting meal on a chilly October night.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 21, 2009

      I threw all of the ingredients together in the crockpot, and it turned out fantastic. I only bought a pound of beef, so I substituted about 2 pounds of potatoes. We'll be eating this again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 16, 2009

      This is hands down amazing. The hoisin definitely makes this dish, and you can't have it with out it. I made this every week for over a month last year when I first found the recipe. I'm looking forward to winter. I've been ready to make this dish again for nearly a year!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 12, 2009

      Made in a crockpot. Very good!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 23, 2009

      Delicious! We really enjoyed this stew. I followed the first 7 steps and then threw it all plus the other ingredients in a crock pot to cook for the day. I added potatoes, mushrooms and peas to the ingredients listed on the recipe. (I used two tablespoons cornstrach instead of one.) Thanks for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 04, 2009

      This was sooo good and easy to prepare. The only thing I changed was replacing the second cup of wine with a 15 oz can of Beef Broth and I used 3 cloves of Garlic. I think next time I will throw some potatoes in for the last hour of cooking. I served the Stew over mashed potatoes with some Biscuits on the side. Yum ****update !!! 1/4 cup of Hoisin is plenty for us! It was too sweet with the 1/2 cup.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 14, 2009

      THIS IS THE BEST so far for me. I never tried any beef stew recipe from this site until tonight. My husband and our friend loved it and we even have left over for tomorrow. I added extra can of italian stewed tomatoes(drained). I sprinkled the meat with flour, ground pepper, salt and browned them. I add extra garlic too. I simmered it for 30 mins and then put it in the crock pot for 8 hrs. on low. Didn't add the cornstarch and water. 3 hrs. before it was done I added 1 cup of sliced mushrooms and 1 cup of frozen peas. The hoisin sauce really add some good flavor. The meat was falling apart. Next time I will try to use a cooking red wine(Hollands) just to see the difference of flavor. I'll definetly cook this again.THANKS EVELYN.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 20, 2009

      This was VERY good. Made this on a stormy winters day here in NZ and it was loved by the whole family. The meat falls apart in your mouth! I added diced potatoes an hour before cooking finished. Yum!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 04, 2009

      I just love this stew!!!! My husband just closed his eyes when he took a bite! Yes, it is that good! I didn't use carrots because I just flat out don't like carrots but I did add peas and mushrooms. I used a little beef broth because I was just a little shy of 2 cups or red wine. I also used a can of homegrown tomotoes from last season. This is a fine meal!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 21, 2009

      We loved this flavorful stew! I made it exactly like the recipe the first time around and I wouldn't change much, except maybe add some frozen peas in with the other vegetables.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 20, 2009

      I must have forgotten to rate this, but I have made it several times this winter and have thoroughly enjoyed it each time. Very nice combination of flavors..we love it!! Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 19, 2009

      We really liked this recipe. The hoisen sauce is a delicious, earthy addition, although I think I'll use a little less - about 1/3 cup - next time. The sauce has a very nice rich and winey taste - much more complex and interesting than your average stew. After deciding on this recipe, we realized it didn't have potatoes, which we prefer to serving it on noodles. So we added a container of beef stock and peeled, cut-up potatoes, as well as frozen green beans and frozen peas. It got better each day as it sat in the fridge, and we froze some for a future dinner. I liked a little sour cream on mine, but DH liked his plain. It also smelled fantastic while cooking, and I'm sure the whole neighborhood appreciated it. Was wonderful served with corn muffins. Thanks for such a delicious recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 29, 2009

      This was pretty good in my families opinion. I will be making it again. Made my coworkers drool with the smell. Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    1... 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 ... 14

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Mahogany Beef Stew

    Serving Size: 1 (629 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 656.3
     
    Calories from Fat 236
    35%
    Total Fat 26.2 g
    40%
    Saturated Fat 8.6 g
    43%
    Cholesterol 175.2 mg
    58%
    Sodium 623.1 mg
    25%
    Total Carbohydrate 33.7 g
    11%
    Dietary Fiber 5.4 g
    21%
    Sugars 16.2 g
    64%
    Protein 59.2 g
    118%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes