Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Mahogany Beef Stew Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Mahogany Beef Stew

    Average Rating:

    271 Total Reviews

    Showing 101-120 of 271

    Sort by:

    • on December 13, 2009

      I was really excited to make this. We love wine in our stew. The "critical ingredient" was what ruined it. It was very sweet. I made this for company and I was embarrassed. Sorry for such a bad review. I really wanted to like it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 05, 2009

      I know this doesn't need another 5-star review but it was excellent! I used baby carrots and added them at the same time as everything else because I like softer carrots. Also, based on others' reviews, I halved the hoisin sauce and did 1/4 cup water - I don't like things too sweet and that was perfect! I also threw in some peas at the end and just served it in a bowl with bread on the side. A perfect winter meal - thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 30, 2009

      3rd time now. added spinach this time, fantastic! Made this a little while ago and forgot to post. This was just wonderful. This goes into my recipe book for sure! Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 19, 2009

      I love roast but was looking for something a little different. I am glad I gave this a try. Every family member, exception of 8 mo old, loved this recipe which is saying something considering we are a family of 7. Plus, the house smells devine while this is cooking! I made mine in a large crockpot which was extremely easy. I substituted half of the hoisin sauce with oyster sauce since my hoisin was very sweet. Btw, I don't like oysters. I also tossed in a can of mushrooms and two chopped celery stalks. The first night I served this over mashed potatoes. The next night's leftovers were served over rice. We had one small bowl of leftovers (no meat left) which I mixed with the rice and put in the fridge. It was so good the next day for lunch. I promise it gets better each day. Definitely a recipe for our Family Favorites Cookbook

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 18, 2009

      I guess it must have been me not liking red wine that made me think this was the most disgusting meal I've eaten in a long time. My husband who loves red wine did like it so at least it didn't go to waste! So if you're not a red wine drinker I would not recommend this stew.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 17, 2009

      Really very rich meal. I changed the number of servings (I think to 2) and it was so rich that we had leftovers for another night. I did also add cubed red potatoes to the recipe. Very good, but very rich.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 14, 2009

      I hadn't made beef stew in several years due to tiring of the same old taste. When I read the ingredients in this recipe, I knew I had to try it. . .so glad that I did! DH and I both loved it. I used an Australian Shiraz that convenienty came in a carton that was about 2 cups. I like to call this "Beef Stew with Pizzazz." Thanks so much for this unique recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 14, 2009

      I found this recipe to be okay--not fantastic. I cooked it in the crockpot and ended up adding some salt and brown sugar at the end which improved the flavor somewhat. Maybe my red wine wasn't high-quality enough (?) Probably not a recipe I'll be trying again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 14, 2009

      Fantastic! I threw everything in the crock pot and it was great! Thanks so much!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 13, 2009

      It was not at all tender after 2 hours of cooking it. The sauce tasted a bit weird but my family loves it so 2 stars only.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 12, 2009

      This is the best beef stew I have ever made! Thank you so much for posting this recipe it is now my go to meal when we have company.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 07, 2009

      Oh MY!!! While my hubby was making this, we realized that we only had 2 TBSP of Hoisin, so we added oyster sauce and molasses and ended up with THE MOST AMAZING Stew either of us had ever eaten---it was so rich, full of flavor and warming on a cold November night! Thank you Evelyn for such a fantastic recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 02, 2009

      Wonderfully flavorful stew! I've had stews with coffee, chili sauce, beer etc, but never tried it with hoisin sauce. It's a fantastic addition! Thanks for posting :-) !!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 28, 2009

      We really liked this. I made it last night, put in the refrigerator and had it tonight for dinner. I think the overnight stay in the refrigerator only enhanced the deliciousness. I didn't add any cornstarch, and served it over egg noodles. Thank you, Evelyn!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 26, 2009

      Really good stew. Even better on Day 2. Next time I will add mushrooms and use only about 2/3 the hoisin sauce. I did use a bit more garlic and added it in with the onions. Tastes strangely like Niku Jaga, the Japanese beef stew, #42722 on Zaar.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 23, 2009

      Great stew. I made half a recipe and it was perfect for the two of us with a little left over.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 22, 2009

      I followed another person's suggestion and made this in the crock pot. I just put all of the ingredients in at the beginning and then added the cornstarch at the end....I did use 2 tablespoons. We thought that this would have been 5 stars, but we said it was a 4 because it was a bit too sweet and not enough salt. Next time I will leave out a bit of the hoisin sauce and see if this helps. Thanks for sharing and we will be making this again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 19, 2009

      Really great stuff, although I doctored it up a bit as others have. I added 2 large Idaho potatoes, 3 large carrots and about 3-4 tablespoons of worcestershire sauce, along with 2 cans of beef broth (no water.) It was delicious. Thanks, Evelyn. Your recipes never let me down!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 18, 2009

      Oh my, all the reviews are correct, this is an exceptional dish-company worthy and such comfort food.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 11, 2009

      OMG ! This was amazing. I made it in the crock pot, added a bunch of extra veggies - onion, celery, mushroom, potatoes. Believe the recipe, the hoisin sauce absolutely makes this dish. It was wonderful and am making it again a week later. Yummy

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No

    You Might Also Like...

    View All Stew Recipes

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Mahogany Beef Stew

    Serving Size: 1 (629 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 656.3
     
    Calories from Fat 236
    35%
    Total Fat 26.2 g
    40%
    Saturated Fat 8.6 g
    43%
    Cholesterol 175.2 mg
    58%
    Sodium 623.1 mg
    25%
    Total Carbohydrate 33.7 g
    11%
    Dietary Fiber 5.4 g
    21%
    Sugars 16.2 g
    64%
    Protein 59.2 g
    118%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites