282 Reviews

Absolutely wonderful!!!! I finished mine in the oven for about an additional hour for the meat to get a little more tender but the flavor was incredible! Thanks for sharing

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
staci.spass November 17, 2009

I absolutely loved this--it was delicious and slightly sweet--wonderful on a cold winter night. However my dh did not care for it. *sigh* It seems he does not care for a lot of stews unless they are curry. Don't hesitate to try this recipe tho--what does he know ;-)?

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sharon in Podunk January 15, 2008

very good! great flavor, the hoisin sauce is a great touch

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lightly Toasted February 19, 2004

This is very delicious! I have done it twice. First time, I made it, I followed the directions to the letter. It was flavorful. Next time, I modified it - Step 8, placed 2 cups wine, carrots, and water. Then I simmered it for 1 hour. I used a can of Italian tomatoes with garlic. Take note garlic is not included in the recipe, neither is parsley. They are both optional, but we prefer it that way. After simmering for a long time, there is no need to thicken the sauce in our opinion, but then again, that is a matter of taste. The hoisin sauce made the sauce thicker and richer and we loved it. Thanks Evelyn for this lovely recipe.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Polar Bear February 05, 2004

This stew was fantastic the first day and even better the second. Followed the recipe to the letter except for one small tweak--after cutting the carrots let them soak in the second cup of wine until it was time to put them in

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kot February 28, 2016

Delicious stew, very simple to make, stores well for a week's worth of lunch. As much as I loved this recipe, I only gave it 4 stars because the beef came out too tough and dry. I used boneless beef chuck roast cut into 2.5" chunks like the recipe calls for (and it wasn't some cheap substitute or expired meat; it cost $4.27/lb). Luckily I went half bbcr and half pre-cut stew meat, and the pre-cut meat came out juicy and tender (though it cost $4.47/lb). I cooked everything according to directions with a couple mistakes like adding all the wine at once prior to boiling (used 2.5 cups instead of 2) and adding the hoisin sauce after the first 45 minute simmer. The stew broth is amazing, slightly sweet and very thick and rich. I had to use a knife to cut the chunks of beef, they were that tough. I'm going to try this recipe again soon and hope the meat comes out better.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
TanGentle February 11, 2016

This is more or less the same recipe that was published in Bon Appetit back in 2002. It is tasty but like other reviewers I found it a little too sweet for my liking, and am a hoisin sauce fan.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
UKinUSA January 31, 2016

This is an excellent stew, the family loved it. I used half the beef and added garbanzo beans. I also added potatoes, peas and celery, then topped it with phyllo pastry, which I baked to a beautiful bronze. This will be a go to stew I will prepare for family and friends.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
phamilton990 January 26, 2016

Holy smokes 6000 mg of salt in the Hoisin sauce alone!!!! I'm sure it's going to taste great but should have looked at the nutritional information of the bottle

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Anonymous December 07, 2015

I may alter this recipe and try again, but as is, it is FAR TOO SWEET for my taste. Stew is savory to me, and this was not savory but sweet.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mtw125 November 22, 2015
Mahogany Beef Stew