Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Mahogany Beef Stew Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Mahogany Beef Stew

    Average Rating:

    271 Total Reviews

    Showing 81-100 of 271

    Sort by:

    • on December 27, 2010

      This stew was great, I did add some mushrooms and potatoes to make it go further - we got lots of leftovers! Would definitely make again. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 19, 2010

      I put mine in the crock pot on low for 8 hours so that we could come home to a tasty dinner! I would recommend that you start with 1/4 cup of the Hoisan Sauce and then add in more later if you like a sweeter sauce/gravy. For vegies, I added potatoes, peas, pearled onions instead of the diced onions and 2 cups beef broth to beef up the flavor and to ensure we had enough gravy while it cooked during the day. Overall, a pretty good stew!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 15, 2010

      Everyone liked this, but it was too sweet for me. I think I will try it again, but use less hoisin. Also, as others have mentioned, I think I'll add mushrooms. Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 30, 2010

      Nice recipe. I'd suggest cutting back on the hoisin sauce, as the sauce was a bit too strong for me. The beef was very tender!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 20, 2010

      It was an ok stew

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 23, 2010

      Great Stew. Make this often during winter. Only reason did give it 5 stars is because I have to alter it otherwise its too sweet for us. Only add 2 Tbls Hoisin sauce. Also add more veggies such as celery, a potato and mushrooms (mushrooms are a great addition).

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 15, 2010

      Delicious!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 03, 2010

      Added a handful of mushrooms as one poster recommended along with reducing the amount of meat slightly. Simply amazing

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 18, 2010

      Really good, wish the sauce was a little thinker but honestly it is really tasty and sweet without the taste of sugar. Great over mashed potatoes and I add some mushrooms to the sauce. Awesome!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 28, 2010

      Excellent stew, perfect for a cold weekend night! I followed the recipe exactly, and my husband and I were very pleased. Excellent with a crusty bread to mop up the sauce.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 12, 2010

      Wow! This was delicious! I tried this bcz I have a new bottle of hoisin. I only had 2.72 lbs meat and didn't have the tomatoes. It simmered down to very little sauce, but it was thick, just perfect. I would possibly double it next time and add another cup of wine. Mmmmm. Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 30, 2010

      What a great stew! The hoisin sauce added an outstanding flavor. I threw about three times as many fresh herbs in, only cause I had to use em up and used the whole bottle of wine, and added beef broth to give time for the wine alcohol to cook off. Soooooo extremely good, especially with the cold weather we were having. Thanks very much!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 23, 2010

      Wanted to add one more thing for the game lovers out there: We tried this with venison and it was just as amazing as with beef.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 18, 2010

      Made this tonight since I was off and had extra time for a yummy meal on a cold night. It was FANTASTIC ! I followed the recipe almost exactly -but used a 3lb chuch roast that I cut up in pieces. Also used a port red wine ( on sale ) and added sliced mushrooms when I added the carrots. The sauce was absolutely delish !!! I will make this again and again. Served over egg noodles with a little butter... PERFECT 10 !

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 12, 2010

      This recipe is undoubtedly delicious, but the meat was a little tough when I served it. I tried Polar Bear's suggestion of stewing for an hour at step 8, perhaps this was the cause? Or maybe it was just poor quality meat. I'd love to hear if anyone has any suggestions, I'm not the most skilled cook you've ever met. Update: This time I halved the hoisin sauce and I barely browned the meat, letting the majority of the cooking happen in the simmering process. And presto, fantastico - total success. Enno would be happy to eat this every night.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 07, 2010

      This was a big hit at family night tonight! I used half the amount of hoison sauce called for since that was all I had, I used cooking spray rather than oil to brown the meat, and I added 6 cloves of garlic (for a double recipe). It was great!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 04, 2010

      Quite delicious, and faster than I thought. I really wanted some potatoes in there, so next time I will try that. It is now on our monthly rotation!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 23, 2009

      We have added this recipe to our monthly grocery list for the past 4 months. It has a rich and sweet flavor. We use a syrah wine and add an extra splash after is done cooking to give it a fresh wine flavor. Once we used frozen carrots and we lost some of the sweetness.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 14, 2009

      The Hoisin sauce reallly makes this unique and great. We both loved it. Wouldn't change a thing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 14, 2009

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Mahogany Beef Stew

    Serving Size: 1 (629 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 656.3
     
    Calories from Fat 236
    35%
    Total Fat 26.2 g
    40%
    Saturated Fat 8.6 g
    43%
    Cholesterol 175.2 mg
    58%
    Sodium 623.1 mg
    25%
    Total Carbohydrate 33.7 g
    11%
    Dietary Fiber 5.4 g
    21%
    Sugars 16.2 g
    64%
    Protein 59.2 g
    118%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites