282 Reviews

Absolutely amazingly good stew! I followed FrenchBunny's advice floured the beef and finished cooking in oven. So tender and full of flavor!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
DoreenZ March 24, 2013

Oh my was this good. My DH licked his plate and asked for more. I did as some other reviewers and floured my stew meat and than browned. At the point where the carrots were added I put the stew in the oven at 350 for an hour and half. Wonderful recipe, thank you so much.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LauraBlueEyes January 24, 2013

always a crowd pleaser! good with venison or elk too!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lisa Hainline November 09, 2012

If I had read all these reviews before making the stew I would have cut down on the hoisin because I don't like things too sweet. However I made recipe as is and REALLY enjoyed it. I wonder if some brands of Hoisin are sweeter than others, I used Lee Kum Lee brand.
I did add a few more veggies like turnip and potatoes but thats it. I thought the gravy tasted very rich, delicious this is my go to recipe now for sure. Made it a second time and only had a cup of wine so used beef stock for the other cup. It was still very good but nearly as good as with the full 2 cups. The other thing I did is instead of using cornstarch I dredged the beef in flour, salt and pepper. Delish!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
bitch'n kitchen May 11, 2012

This was super good. Next time I'll add an additional clove or two of garlic and cut back on the hoisin just a bit. I served with creamy garlic mashed potatoes and this really hit the spot on a cold snowy day.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Brookelynne26 February 13, 2012

Did not have wine; used beef broth instead. Agree that the flavor is rich and wonderful with the hoisin sauce. Will try with potatoes next time.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
annlouise November 29, 2011

This was great! I strayed a bit from the recipe - but it turned out wonderful. I browned the beef and carmalized the onion and put them in a crockpot. I also added chunks of carmalized butternut squash. I used about 1/4 cup hoisin sauce and only 1 cup of wine (Witches Brew from Leelanau Cellars - which is an autumn spiced red wine). I also added some beef bouillon. Thickend and served over egg noodles. Cooked on low about 8 hours. Will definitely make this again. Thanks for sharing.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jenjill November 03, 2011

Wonderful! I used 1/4 hoisin, added peas, baby potatoes and button mushrooms. What great flavor. I also coated the beef in flour before browning, that way I didn't need to add the cornstarch.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chill April 09, 2011

So good could not complain about any part of this it was so good.It will be cooked in my house for years to come.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jenloves2cook November 10, 2010

I had only 1/4 c. left of the "critical ingredient" so I apologize if that skewed my results. My husband and son did not like this, and I thought it was just OK. I found it a little too sweet. Sarahbug liked it but also remarked on the sweetness (I don't know if she thought it was a negative). Also, the meat needs to be browned in batches to avoid "boiling" - the juices will evaporate when smaller amounts of beef are browned at a time (I ended up having to drain the meat in order to brown the onions). Also, my carrots did not cook enough.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
evewitch December 19, 2009
Mahogany Beef Stew