Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Mahogany Beef Stew Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Mahogany Beef Stew

    Average Rating:

    276 Total Reviews

    Showing 61-80 of 276

    Sort by:

    • on May 31, 2012

      Great to mop up with crusty bread! I dredged the meat and browned it, cooked the onions with the meat and then put all the ingredients in it and put it in the oven at 300 degrees for about 4 hours. Just make sure you make your meat chunks very large so they don't get dry like mine did, but the veggies were perfect and I didn't need to thicken the sauce since I dredged the meat in flour.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 28, 2012

      WOW! I wish I could have given it even more stars. The hoisin really does make this different. I love the anise fragrance and flavor. I did thicken the gravy more with some flour and I used some fresh parsley and thyme since I grow it. Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 18, 2012

      Good

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 25, 2012

      This was a great stew, but a little on the sweet side for my family's taste - we prefer a more savory flavor. Even then, there were no leftovers - that has to say something!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 21, 2012

      The recipe was easy and tender, but my family just didn't like the flavor of it. I think it was the hoisin. Sorry!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 16, 2012

      Rich taste and great scent throughout the kitchen. The hoisin sauce makes the flavor. I dredged the meat in flour, dry mustard, garlic powder, and salt & pepper. Also added potatoes and celery. The wine? I used a good chianti.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 08, 2012

      Oh my goodness this is wonderful. I made this tonight with some homemade bread and it was delicious. It had a distinct flavor from the hoisin sauce that is like no other stew I've made. Thank you so much for sharing this with us.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 23, 2012

      The beef came out tender and it was flavorful, but not at all to our taste. It is very, very sweet, overpoweringly so, really.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 18, 2012

      Yummmmmm. Perfect for this cold January night!! I also floured and salt/peppered the meat before browning as other have done and skipped the cornstarch. Other then that, I followed the recipe. Next time I think I will add some more veggies (potatoes, peas, celery, not sure what else? because I really like veggies) and maybe more garlic. Hubbie loved it and I got no complaints from the kids! We will be making this one again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 17, 2012

      love this! had great flavor. I am cutting carbs and trying to eat more veggies, so I used about 2 lbs of some really lean looking chuck roast and trimmed as much fat as I could and added a lot more veggies (5 big carrots, 3 celery stocks, 1 red pepper, 1 green pepper a lil extra onion). I think all the water from the veggies diluted it so I skipped the second cup of wine, it was very watery. Thickened up beautifully with cornstarch and was delicious and flavorful! Will make again for sure!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 03, 2012

      This was the best stew I've ever made. I had to half the recipe (not enough meat) but it ended up being enough for my husband and I with some (rationed) leftovers. I used tiny cubes of beef sirloin (sold as fondue style meat) and browned them in batches to make sure they had lots of colour. Removed the meat from the pan and carmelized my onions. After adding the wine (all at once) and everything aside from the carrots I simmered for 3o minutes, then transfered the pot to the oven and cooked at 250 for 2 hours with the carrots added. At this point the meat was falling apart tender and the flavour was so rich. I skipped the cornstarch as it was thick enough without. I served this over mashed potatoes, and tomorrow I will serve the left overs of whole wheat egg noodles for lunch.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 14, 2011

      This stew turned out quite tasty, although I ran into a couple of problems. The carrots, along with the 4 cubed new potatoes I added, did not cook in the time indicated in the recipe. I had to simmer the stew for another 45 minutes. In the process, it got too thick, so I had to add some beef broth to thin it out. Right towards the end of cooking, I added a can of green beans and, because I dredged the meat in seasoned flour and browned it first, I did not have to use the slurry. As recommended in other reviews, I added just a touch of liquid smoke and a splash of soy sauce. Delicious!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 20, 2011

      This was amazing! I sauted the onions and garlic in some olive oil in my pressure cooker. Removed it and then seared the meat and then added back in the onions and the rest of the ingredients and cooked it at 15PSI for about 40 minutes. The meat was so tender! I then thickened the sauce with some cornstarch. I served it over buttered noodles. I didn't put as much hoisin sauce as the recipe called for because all I had was about an 1/8 cup or slightly more. Too me it was just enough to give the stew a good flavor. I thought my husband was going to lick his plate!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 23, 2011

      This is fantastic! I used a Pinot Noir someone had given us, and it was perfect. The only differences I made were to add about a cup and a half of beef broth and about a pound and a half of petite white potates that I had cubed. Served it as is with some Bubba's Beer Biscuits to sop up the extra! Leftovers in the fridge for lunch tomorrow!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 21, 2011

      This was excellent, with a few changes. Scaled it down a little, cooked the meat longer to tenderize (you need to taste it to judge), and added mushrooms with the carrots. I used 1/8 C hoisin and found it just right. I think more would overpower. The other secret addition for complex flavor was a few anchovies. Everyone loved it and I ate the bit left over for breakfast.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 19, 2011

      I didn't really like this at all, the meat was tough, the carrots weren't done and I didn't like the sweet flavor.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 14, 2011

      This was delicious although I burned it a hint at the end. :) It's rich and delicious. I added a little bit of fond de boeuf, a sort of thin beef broth. My roommate ate 3/4 of it in one sitting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 01, 2011

      I am currently making this for the second time. Last time I left out the red wine as I didn't have any and made my own Hoisin sauce. This time I have made my own hoisin sauce again, but added in the red wine... I think it will taste better this time cos it already looks like its to die for!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 19, 2011

      Followed the recipe as written. This dish was waayy too sweet. I would start with an 1/8th C of the hoisin sauce and then add more to your liking.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 04, 2011

      Amazing, simple amazing. Last week my husband was literally licking his plate after we ate this. Im making it again tonight for guests :) Served it with mashed potatoes. I didnt need to add any cornstarch at the end it had thickened up well on its own. Actually it started getting a bit too thick and my husband wasnt home from work yet so I added some beef broth. It was incredible. Hoisin sauce is great I wanted to add more. Don't leave it out. :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Mahogany Beef Stew

    Serving Size: 1 (629 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 656.3
     
    Calories from Fat 236
    35%
    Total Fat 26.2 g
    40%
    Saturated Fat 8.6 g
    43%
    Cholesterol 175.2 mg
    58%
    Sodium 623.1 mg
    25%
    Total Carbohydrate 33.7 g
    11%
    Dietary Fiber 5.4 g
    21%
    Sugars 16.2 g
    64%
    Protein 59.2 g
    118%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes