276 Reviews

If you haven't tried this recipe, you really should!
Our family loves it. Our teenage boys almost always go back for seconds. My scoutmaster husband asked his scouts to try this stew out, and they all loved it too.
I usually use only 2 cups of onions, and I grate the carrots. My boys will eat the carrots when grated, but not when in chunks. I also don't use the bay leaves -- personal preference, and I never need to thicken the sauce with cornstarch. Additionally, I add 1-2 cups of water as I usually let it simmer on the stove on low for 1.5 -2 hours.
Thank you for sharing the recipe.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lauraleet December 05, 2011

This was a fabulous beef stew!! I used a little less hoisin sauce than called for, and followed another reviewer's suggestion of placing the stew into the oven after adding the wine and herbs. I put it in at 250 for a little over 3 hours, then finished the rest of the recipe on the stove. I added celery and potatoes along with the carrots, cooked it for another 25-30 minutes, and it was perfect. I will definitely make this again. Thanks!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
yamakarasu March 19, 2011

Nothing more needs to be said about this dish. I did add mushrooms, celery & used 2 cups wine as suggested. It simmer on the stove top, all afternoon. Extremely rich & satisfying. Served over mashed potato.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Abiroo January 15, 2009

I had to use a recipe from the internet for hoisen sauce but this still turned out really good. The beef was really tender and flavorful. I did add 4 regular size potatoes and a few mushrooms, but other than that made as written. Excellent stew! Thanks for posting!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
sweetcakes December 09, 2010

I love this stew!!!! The flavor is amazing. I like to add a bit more hoisin, and some mushrooms. Everyone in the house loves it and its one of the meals I NEED to have left overs to take to work for lunch the next day. I just serve it over eggnoodles (almose like beef burgundy) with a salad and bread.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
KacerPie November 02, 2010

This was so good. I followed the recipe exactly as far as the ingredients but not the steps. I browned the meat and then just put everything into the pot. Brought it to a boil and then simmered with the lid on for about 2.5 hours. I then took the lid off, sprinkled some Wondra flour in and cooked it uncovered for about 15 minutes to thicken the gravy. Served with mashed potatoes and biscuits. Fantastic. The meat was so tender it must melted in your mouth. This goes in the "make again" file for sure. Thanks for the great recipe!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
TinTN January 16, 2010

I shared this with extended family and friends as well as my own family and while all of us thought this was just awesome...my husband didn't like it much. 165 reviews in my opinion still are not wrong..his tastebuds are. Thanks for this wonderful stew! I served it (a couple of times) with garlic cheddar biscuits. It really was outstandingly wonderful.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sherry B. September 17, 2009

Followed exactly as listed. I have two teen boys that don't really care for stew of any kind. I used plain old stewing beef so the only thing I did a little different is use a Dutch oven at low temp for a longer cooking time. Bottom line, Kids were fighting over leftovers.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
1knomw March 23, 2009

Having never heard of Mahogany Beef Stew I wanted to experience this recipe with no modifications (unusual for me). SO although I did double the recipe, I made no other changes. It was so full of flavor and everyone loved it served over egg noodles. with Kittencal's Famous Caesar Salad it made a very nice meal for our early family Christmas dinner.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sooz Cooks December 21, 2008

The hoisin sauce gives this dish a slightly smoky and sweet flavor! Tasty and very different from your average beef stew! I dredged the beef cubes in flour and browned them. Sauteed the onions/garlic and deglazed with half the wine...added everything else except the parsley to the slow cooker (including carrots) and cooked on high for 4-5 hours until beef was fork tender. Served over rice and didn't need cornstarch or water at the end. Thanks for posting!!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Vino p.o. prn November 05, 2008
Mahogany Beef Stew