Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Mahogany Beef Stew Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Mahogany Beef Stew

    Average Rating:

    270 Total Reviews

    Showing 21-40 of 270

    Sort by:

    • on November 02, 2010

      I love this stew!!!! The flavor is amazing. I like to add a bit more hoisin, and some mushrooms. Everyone in the house loves it and its one of the meals I NEED to have left overs to take to work for lunch the next day. I just serve it over eggnoodles (almose like beef burgundy) with a salad and bread.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 16, 2010

      This was so good. I followed the recipe exactly as far as the ingredients but not the steps. I browned the meat and then just put everything into the pot. Brought it to a boil and then simmered with the lid on for about 2.5 hours. I then took the lid off, sprinkled some Wondra flour in and cooked it uncovered for about 15 minutes to thicken the gravy. Served with mashed potatoes and biscuits. Fantastic. The meat was so tender it must melted in your mouth. This goes in the "make again" file for sure. Thanks for the great recipe!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 19, 2009

      I had only 1/4 c. left of the "critical ingredient" so I apologize if that skewed my results. My husband and son did not like this, and I thought it was just OK. I found it a little too sweet. Sarahbug liked it but also remarked on the sweetness (I don't know if she thought it was a negative). Also, the meat needs to be browned in batches to avoid "boiling" - the juices will evaporate when smaller amounts of beef are browned at a time (I ended up having to drain the meat in order to brown the onions). Also, my carrots did not cook enough.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 17, 2009

      Absolutely wonderful!!!! I finished mine in the oven for about an additional hour for the meat to get a little more tender but the flavor was incredible! Thanks for sharing

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 17, 2009

      I shared this with extended family and friends as well as my own family and while all of us thought this was just awesome...my husband didn't like it much. 165 reviews in my opinion still are not wrong..his tastebuds are. Thanks for this wonderful stew! I served it (a couple of times) with garlic cheddar biscuits. It really was outstandingly wonderful.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 23, 2009

      Followed exactly as listed. I have two teen boys that don't really care for stew of any kind. I used plain old stewing beef so the only thing I did a little different is use a Dutch oven at low temp for a longer cooking time. Bottom line, Kids were fighting over leftovers.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 21, 2008

      Having never heard of Mahogany Beef Stew I wanted to experience this recipe with no modifications (unusual for me). SO although I did double the recipe, I made no other changes. It was so full of flavor and everyone loved it served over egg noodles. with Kittencal's Famous Caesar Salad it made a very nice meal for our early family Christmas dinner.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 15, 2008

      I absolutely loved this--it was delicious and slightly sweet--wonderful on a cold winter night. However my dh did not care for it. *sigh* It seems he does not care for a lot of stews unless they are curry. Don't hesitate to try this recipe tho--what does he know ;-)?

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 29, 2006

      I have just finished preparing this recipe and have not even served it yet - but I have done the spoon tasting. What a flavor! This is probably way more information that you want to hear -but I am from south Texas and my mom was an awful cook (Sorry, Mom!) We had stew at least once a week and it was white, the meat was tough and stingy and it was just plain awful. Consequently, I do not make stew often, if at all. Today, I had some meat that needed to be cooked right away and I found your recipe. I had no carrots and I had no Hoisin Sauce -but I had peas, mushrooms and oyster flavored sauce. I followed the recipe with those ingredients and then cooked it with dumplings. I am just getting ready to serve it and all I can say, is priliminary tasting is a solid ""A"". What a wonderful dish! Thank you so much for bringing a dish back to me that should have been wonderful but wasn't - but now is. Post more please!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 07, 2005

      Extremely sweet! My husband gave it a 4, my kids wouldn't eat anything but the carrots. It doesn't taste bad, it's just over poweringly sweet. I think, and husband agrees, that the sauce would be better used in a side dish, not as the main part of a meal - a little goes a long way. I followed directions exactly except reduced oil to 1T. Served with noodles. I like sweetness but this was just too much for us.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 14, 2005

      Wow, this was incredible. First let me say that my husband does not like beef stew and the only reason I decided to try this is the hoisin, which he loves (oh, and the 22 5 star reviews were also in infulence). He thought this was wonderful and definately wants it again and often. He even said it was guest worthy, which one does not usually say of a stew. I only used 2 1/2 1bs. of stew meat (already cut up) which worked out just fine because we love lots of sauce. I used a fabulous bottle of 2001 BV costal cabernet, which was also wonderful. I followed your directions completely except that after adding the carrots I cooked for an hour because the carrots took that long to get the way we like them. I also added a couple of handfuls of frozen peas at the end. In my mind I think mashed potatoes should go with beef stew, so I made potatoes and egg noodles. I must add that the flavor was way more enhanced by the noodles and I won't make potatoes with it again. Like other reviewers I did not need to add the cornstarch it was perfect without it. Thanks so much for sharing what is a new family favorite.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 20, 2005

      The combo of hoisin sauce and wine in this dish made it outstanding and didn't seem to overpower the vegetables either. My BF made it for supper last night and he used less oil and a meat substitute for the chuck roast (making it vegetarian and lower in fat too). Never would have thought to put hoisin sauce in a stew but it was great. I've found that commercial hoisin sauces can be either too bitter or too sweet and I haven't yet found my favorite either, so all I can say is try to find one you like first. Thanks very much for this recipe.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 19, 2004

      very good! great flavor, the hoisin sauce is a great touch

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 05, 2004

      This is very delicious! I have done it twice. First time, I made it, I followed the directions to the letter. It was flavorful. Next time, I modified it - Step 8, placed 2 cups wine, carrots, and water. Then I simmered it for 1 hour. I used a can of Italian tomatoes with garlic. Take note garlic is not included in the recipe, neither is parsley. They are both optional, but we prefer it that way. After simmering for a long time, there is no need to thicken the sauce in our opinion, but then again, that is a matter of taste. The hoisin sauce made the sauce thicker and richer and we loved it. Thanks Evelyn for this lovely recipe.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 19, 2014

      Didn't care 4 this at all. But, I will admit, MAYBE, just maybe I did something wrong. I am saying that because of the great reviews from others. Mine came out sweet :( IDK if that was due to the Hoisin sauce or because I used a fruity (sweet) red wine? Regardless, I won't be making again. :(

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 07, 2013

      This is a really easy and wonderful stew. Like most stews, it was even better the next day. I didn't have quite a pound of carrots, so I added a chopped up potato. I'll be making this on a regular basis and will always have a container in the freezer for a quick, delicious meal.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 27, 2013

      We really didn't care for this at all, in fact we each had about a bowl and the rest is still sitting in our fridge waiting to be thrown out. I won't "rate" it since I did use the slow cooker, which is not really following directions so it's not fair to rate something I've deviated from. It was just too sweet and not very much flavor otherwise. Will definitely do a different recipe next time.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 20, 2013

      Good recipe, Definitely one I will do again. My family does not like their sauces really thick so I left out the cornstarch. But other then that, very good.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 18, 2013

      Loved it. Was perfect for a cool fall day.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 16, 2013

      I wish I could give this beef stew recipe 10 stars because that's what it means to me. Not only did myself and my husband love it but my two finicky kids loved it as well.<br/>It was so good I kept finding myself sneaking into the kitchen to get one or two more bites out of the left overs later on. I didn't stray much at all from the recipe itself other than to add two more cloves of garlic (this family LOVES garlic) but other than that I kept to the recipe. AWESOME!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Mahogany Beef Stew

    Serving Size: 1 (629 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 656.3
     
    Calories from Fat 236
    35%
    Total Fat 26.2 g
    40%
    Saturated Fat 8.6 g
    43%
    Cholesterol 175.2 mg
    58%
    Sodium 623.1 mg
    25%
    Total Carbohydrate 33.7 g
    11%
    Dietary Fiber 5.4 g
    21%
    Sugars 16.2 g
    64%
    Protein 59.2 g
    118%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites