276 Reviews

Really good stew. Even better on Day 2. Next time I will add mushrooms and use only about 2/3 the hoisin sauce. I did use a bit more garlic and added it in with the onions. Tastes strangely like Niku Jaga, the Japanese beef stew, #42722 on Zaar.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Marysdottir October 26, 2009

Great stew. I made half a recipe and it was perfect for the two of us with a little left over.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
adopt a greyhound October 23, 2009

I followed another person's suggestion and made this in the crock pot. I just put all of the ingredients in at the beginning and then added the cornstarch at the end....I did use 2 tablespoons. We thought that this would have been 5 stars, but we said it was a 4 because it was a bit too sweet and not enough salt. Next time I will leave out a bit of the hoisin sauce and see if this helps. Thanks for sharing and we will be making this again!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kristy D. October 22, 2009

Really great stuff, although I doctored it up a bit as others have. I added 2 large Idaho potatoes, 3 large carrots and about 3-4 tablespoons of worcestershire sauce, along with 2 cans of beef broth (no water.) It was delicious. Thanks, Evelyn. Your recipes never let me down!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Tia Mouse October 19, 2009

Oh my, all the reviews are correct, this is an exceptional dish-company worthy and such comfort food.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mjcush October 18, 2009

OMG ! This was amazing. I made it in the crock pot, added a bunch of extra veggies - onion, celery, mushroom, potatoes. Believe the recipe, the hoisin sauce absolutely makes this dish. It was wonderful and am making it again a week later. Yummy

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kelster2 October 11, 2009

Added a merlot,next time I'll use a drier wine. Added a cup of green beans cut to 1 inch with the corn starch

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Thomas Earnest October 10, 2009

I cooked this in our slow cooker--just tossed everything in and let it cook all day and it turned out awesome! I didn't put the carrots in at the end as they wouldn't have time to cook in the slow cooker, but I did thicken the sauce with cornstarch as suggested. It was perfect. I served them with my parmesan cornmeal biscuits--my husband cut the biscuits and spooned the meaty sauce over them and seemed to enjoy it thoroughly. My daughter wasn't so sure about trying it, but once she did, she had to have another big hunk of meat. Thank you for a delicious, comforting meal on a chilly October night.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Annz Recipez October 04, 2009

I threw all of the ingredients together in the crockpot, and it turned out fantastic. I only bought a pound of beef, so I substituted about 2 pounds of potatoes. We'll be eating this again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
naturegal07 September 21, 2009

This is hands down amazing. The hoisin definitely makes this dish, and you can't have it with out it. I made this every week for over a month last year when I first found the recipe. I'm looking forward to winter. I've been ready to make this dish again for nearly a year!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
BluefrogJ September 16, 2009
Mahogany Beef Stew