Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Mahogany Beef Stew Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Mahogany Beef Stew

    Average Rating:

    275 Total Reviews

    Showing 221-240 of 275

    Sort by:

    • on February 04, 2007

      It was very good. We added potatoes. Next time I'll cook the meat a little longer, since it was a little more chewy than I like in stew.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 30, 2007

      Purely delicious! My husband and I loved this stew, but unfortunately the kids didn't eat it. I used 1 tablespoon less olive oil while sauteeing the onions and an extra clove of garlic. Like another reviewer suggested, I added the carrots and all of the wine in Step 8. I cooked the stew for 45 minutes at this point with the lid on. Then I cooked the stew with the lid off for between 15-30 minutes until the carrots were close to done. I did need to thicken the liquid with the cornstarch mixture followed by finishing cooking until carrots were completely cooked. I can't wait to make this recipe again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 24, 2007

    • on January 21, 2007

      Can I give this 100 stars or more please...thanks Ev this was fantastic, amazing, delicious, awesome the whole family loved it...half way through cooking when I sampled I wanted to leave my review but waited for the whole family to try and it was unanimous...I added some potatoes cut up small to it and served it with crusy bread...wow!!! Thanks so so so so so much for this it will definitely become a family favorite...thanks...Anne - Grecorican

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 15, 2007

      This was delicious, the whole family loved it!!! (an impromptu guest who 'wasn't really hungry' and usually doesn't eat red meat couldn't stop eating it either). I didn't have any hoisin so threw in a combination of mushroom soy sauce, regular soy sauce and some other kind of Thai sauce I had in the house, 'twas really great. I'll try and find hoisin for next time :-)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 07, 2007

      Soooo Yummy! My DH thought said this was the best stew he ever had! Only changes I made was cooking longer (wanted the meat to be more tender), added some beef stock and then added peas at the end.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 06, 2007

      I thought the sauce was very good. I think it would work well with brisket too. My youngest son didn't like it much but my older one gave it a 5 and his friend liked it too. DH said it was good but for stew he prefers a traditional brown sauce variety. Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 22, 2006

      Really great stew! Although not notated, this recipe was originally published by Bon Apetit magazine. I first found it on the Epicurious website. After reading the reviews on their site, I learned that many hoisin sauces list sugar as their number one ingredient. This probably leads to the excessive sweetness that some reviewers notate. Before buying your hoisin sauce, look at the label carefully!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 12, 2006

      This was wounderful! This stew is hearty and full of flavor. The only thing I changed was that I added celery and I added the veggies with the rest of the ingredients because I wanted the carrots to be soft. I think the next time I make this I would cut the Hoisin sauce down maybe to half. It was great the first few bites but then It became too sweet for us. Other than that this was really good! Definately different from your every day, ordinary beef stew. Thank You for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 12, 2006

      I'm not a big fan of stew, but my husband is and we both agreed that this is an outstanding recipe -- especially good over the egg noodles as suggested for a winter dinner!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 03, 2006

      LOVED IT!! The hoisin sauce brings a wonderful asian element to beef stew. My husband found it a bit sweet, which is why we rated it a four star. But that's just a personal preference. We did remove the beef while sauting the onions, as I was afraid of overbrowning the beef. Our beef was very tender!! Loved the sauce, alot of depth and flavour with a perfect texture. We also added a drained can of mushrooms near the end. A perfect meal on a cold winter day!! Thank you for posting this recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 14, 2006

      This is a terrific stew! We served it over mashed red potatoes and it looked beautiful. Definitely something I would serve to company, and stew isn't something I would usually even consider being in that category. I think it would be even better with thick-cut mushrooms...yum! I was about 1/4 cup short on the wine, but it still tasted great to me! Baby carrots did the trick for me - no cutting and they look better - IMHO. The parsley at the end is what makes this dish look so pretty, so don't leave that out. My husband took leftovers to work for lunch the next day and he enjoyed it even more. Thanks for sharing your wonderful recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 29, 2006

      What can you say about perfection!!! This was wonderful....I would highly recommend this to anyone.....this felt very upscale....I would not hesitate to serve to company. The flavour is so deep & mellow. Thank you so much Evelyn for a wonderful recipe....I have never used hoisin sauce before...it was magical.....

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 25, 2006

      This was really, really, REALLY good. I followed directions, with the exception of my adding 4-5 medium potatoes (cubed) and subbing 1-2 c. beef bullion (when I ran out of wine!). This will be my "go to" stew recpe from now on. So refreshing to have a recipe for stew that isn't so darn salty! One word: YUM!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 18, 2006

      I just didnt find this stew that tasty....it has alot of great reviews so I was a little upset about not liking it. I used an expensive bottle of wine and wished I hadnt of now. Also had to really hunt for the hoisin sauce..went to 3 diffrent stores. I am more of a southern stew kind of person...this was just really not for me.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 18, 2006

      A wonderfully easy recipe ideal for when the days are getting shorter.We invited friends over and served this with the noodles as suggested. It was a winner!! I substituted 1 cup of red wine vinegar for the red wine, and even managed to track down the hoisin sauce. The dried herbs make a real difference to the delicate flavour of this dish, and I added a tablespoon of tomato paste. This is one of our family favourites, and it is great to find a recipe that can be left simmering on the stove. The carrots add a sweetness, and when I served the dish I was pleased to see that they had not desintigrated into nothing, as they were added at a later stage. Also nice to serve some hot French bread to enjoy the flavourful gravy. Ten out of ten Evelyn!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 17, 2006

      LOVELY - This is very quick to make, and the flavor is terrific! The hoisin sauce makes a huge difference. I used home-made hoisin sauce, which was lovely. I did double up on the garlic (never can have too much!).

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 16, 2006

      Made this over the weekend and our house smelled delicious! Only changes: I simmered it much longer and then, because we had last-minute company, added 4 c. water to stretch it out. Everyone raved over it. I'll be making this again soon!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 24, 2006

      Can't even remember the last recipe I rated on here but I ran right to the computer after eating this! This is the kind of wonderful dish that makes you think of reasons to invite family and friends over just so you can make it again and impress everyone. Made it almost exactly as stated except I added celery. So glad my hubby asked for stew tonight and I stumbled upon this :0)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 21, 2006

      Prepared this for dinner tonight, just half the recipe since I had on hand about half the amount of meat called for. Hubby and son loved it! (Me, too.) We had it over noodles with a dollop of sour cream. Scrumptious! I love it when a recipe is a hit with all of us! Thanks for sharing this Evelyn.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Mahogany Beef Stew

    Serving Size: 1 (629 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 656.3
     
    Calories from Fat 236
    35%
    Total Fat 26.2 g
    40%
    Saturated Fat 8.6 g
    43%
    Cholesterol 175.2 mg
    58%
    Sodium 623.1 mg
    25%
    Total Carbohydrate 33.7 g
    11%
    Dietary Fiber 5.4 g
    21%
    Sugars 16.2 g
    64%
    Protein 59.2 g
    118%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes