282 Reviews

The Hoisin sauce reallly makes this unique and great. We both loved it. Wouldn't change a thing!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
irisbobbie2004 December 14, 2009

I was really excited to make this. We love wine in our stew. The "critical ingredient" was what ruined it. It was very sweet. I made this for company and I was embarrassed. Sorry for such a bad review. I really wanted to like it.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kate.1980 December 13, 2009

I know this doesn't need another 5-star review but it was excellent! I used baby carrots and added them at the same time as everything else because I like softer carrots. Also, based on others' reviews, I halved the hoisin sauce and did 1/4 cup water - I don't like things too sweet and that was perfect! I also threw in some peas at the end and just served it in a bowl with bread on the side. A perfect winter meal - thank you!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
BurgundyS December 05, 2009

3rd time now. added spinach this time, fantastic! Made this a little while ago and forgot to post. This was just wonderful. This goes into my recipe book for sure! Thanks for posting.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
thomasjj93 s November 30, 2009

I love roast but was looking for something a little different. I am glad I gave this a try. Every family member, exception of 8 mo old, loved this recipe which is saying something considering we are a family of 7. Plus, the house smells devine while this is cooking! I made mine in a large crockpot which was extremely easy. I substituted half of the hoisin sauce with oyster sauce since my hoisin was very sweet. Btw, I don't like oysters. I also tossed in a can of mushrooms and two chopped celery stalks. The first night I served this over mashed potatoes. The next night's leftovers were served over rice. We had one small bowl of leftovers (no meat left) which I mixed with the rice and put in the fridge. It was so good the next day for lunch. I promise it gets better each day. Definitely a recipe for our Family Favorites Cookbook

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kahlanne November 19, 2009

I guess it must have been me not liking red wine that made me think this was the most disgusting meal I've eaten in a long time. My husband who loves red wine did like it so at least it didn't go to waste! So if you're not a red wine drinker I would not recommend this stew.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
sarahmcdon November 18, 2009

Really very rich meal. I changed the number of servings (I think to 2) and it was so rich that we had leftovers for another night. I did also add cubed red potatoes to the recipe. Very good, but very rich.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
alyssavschaefer November 17, 2009

I hadn't made beef stew in several years due to tiring of the same old taste. When I read the ingredients in this recipe, I knew I had to try it. . .so glad that I did! DH and I both loved it. I used an Australian Shiraz that convenienty came in a carton that was about 2 cups. I like to call this "Beef Stew with Pizzazz." Thanks so much for this unique recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
PugGrannie November 14, 2009

I found this recipe to be okay--not fantastic. I cooked it in the crockpot and ended up adding some salt and brown sugar at the end which improved the flavor somewhat. Maybe my red wine wasn't high-quality enough (?) Probably not a recipe I'll be trying again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
AngelaKL77 November 14, 2009
Mahogany Beef Stew