276 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I guess it must have been me not liking red wine that made me think this was the most disgusting meal I've eaten in a long time. My husband who loves red wine did like it so at least it didn't go to waste! So if you're not a red wine drinker I would not recommend this stew.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
sarahmcdon November 18, 2009

Really very rich meal. I changed the number of servings (I think to 2) and it was so rich that we had leftovers for another night. I did also add cubed red potatoes to the recipe. Very good, but very rich.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
alyssavschaefer November 17, 2009

I hadn't made beef stew in several years due to tiring of the same old taste. When I read the ingredients in this recipe, I knew I had to try it. . .so glad that I did! DH and I both loved it. I used an Australian Shiraz that convenienty came in a carton that was about 2 cups. I like to call this "Beef Stew with Pizzazz." Thanks so much for this unique recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
PugGrannie November 14, 2009

I found this recipe to be okay--not fantastic. I cooked it in the crockpot and ended up adding some salt and brown sugar at the end which improved the flavor somewhat. Maybe my red wine wasn't high-quality enough (?) Probably not a recipe I'll be trying again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
AngelaKL77 November 14, 2009

Fantastic! I threw everything in the crock pot and it was great! Thanks so much!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
PearTree November 14, 2009

It was not at all tender after 2 hours of cooking it. The sauce tasted a bit weird but my family loves it so 2 stars only.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Shesbittersweet November 13, 2009

This is the best beef stew I have ever made! Thank you so much for posting this recipe it is now my go to meal when we have company.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Scrumpla November 12, 2009

Oh MY!!! While my hubby was making this, we realized that we only had 2 TBSP of Hoisin, so we added oyster sauce and molasses and ended up with THE MOST AMAZING Stew either of us had ever eaten---it was so rich, full of flavor and warming on a cold November night! Thank you Evelyn for such a fantastic recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
baldwin bistro November 07, 2009

Wonderfully flavorful stew! I've had stews with coffee, chili sauce, beer etc, but never tried it with hoisin sauce. It's a fantastic addition! Thanks for posting :-) !!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
HeatherN November 02, 2009

We really liked this. I made it last night, put in the refrigerator and had it tonight for dinner. I think the overnight stay in the refrigerator only enhanced the deliciousness. I didn't add any cornstarch, and served it over egg noodles. Thank you, Evelyn!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Yia Yia October 28, 2009
Mahogany Beef Stew