Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Mahogany Beef Stew Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Mahogany Beef Stew

    Average Rating:

    271 Total Reviews

    Showing 201-220 of 271

    Sort by:

    • on December 01, 2007

      Great recipe! I added peas just for color. Yummy!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 29, 2007

      We love this stew. It has become one of our favorite cold-weather comfort foods. I have also shared the recipe with friends who say they have received raves on it, too. Thanks for submitting it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 08, 2007

      Really great "fancy" stew! I added the carrots right after the onions in order to ensure their tenderness. It is very rich - my teenagers weren't too thrilled with it, but hubby and I were in heaven! I also added some frozen peas near the end, personal preference. I think next time we might use 1/2 the hoisin as it was quite sweet - but could be just the brand of sauce that we had. We served it over buttered noodles as suggested. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 27, 2007

      This stew was amazing. I made the recipe as stated except I added more carrots (family preference) and added approximately 2 Tbs of cocoa. I served it over fontina mashed potatoes. The cheese in the potatoes paired amazingly well with the sweetness in the stew. We loved it. Thanks so much.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 30, 2007

      Very good and not hard to make. I enjoyed it but my husband did think it was too sweet for his taste.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 15, 2007

      This was awesome - my new stew recipe. I started it out on the stove and after the first hour I transferred to the crockpot. Added the baby carrots sliced in half and red baby potatoes , cut in four pcs. I added the last cup of wine and let it cook on low for the next 4 hours while I ran errands. Awesome! The potatoes thickened the sauce and all I finished it with was the fresh parsley and some sourdough bread. Thanks for a keeper!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 14, 2007

      I liked this recipe a lot, it was just a tad sweet for our taste. I will surely try it again, but maybe cut back on the hoisin a bit, but otherwise excellent!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 22, 2007

      OMGOODNESS was this AWESOME! The flavors in this beef stew deserve more than 5 stars. It was easy to pull together and tasty on top. Everyone went back for seconds. I did add more garlic and potatoes. I definitely will make this stew again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 13, 2007

      What a delicious recipe. My home smelled wonderful as this was cooking. Our Councilman rang the doorbell to let us know what was going on in our Ward, the first thing he said as I opened up the door was "something really smells good in here". I added mushrooms and celery. Next time I am going to put a few potatoes in also. Thanks Evelyn for a wonderful recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 11, 2007

      Very good! Followed the recipe as far as ingredients..but cooked in a crock pot for about 6-7 hours. I added the carrots after about 2 hours because I like them nice and tender. I found I did not need cornstarch because removing the lid and turning on high for the last 45 minutes was sufficient to thicken it nicely. The meat was very very tender. The only change I might make next time is to go a little heavier on the garlic (we love garlic). 1 clove was almost too subtle for us, but that's just a personal preference. We opted to serve it over plain mashed potatoes and let it stand on it's own...which it did admirably! My picky british wife said to give it 10 out of 10 (a rating like that from her usually requires mushrooms)!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 19, 2007

      This is an excellent hearty stew. I think I might decrease the cooking time a bit next time because mine was very thick but the taste was wonderful.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 19, 2007

      WONDERFUL!! I usually don't care for stew, but this was great. I added mushrooms, but I followed the rest of the recipe to the letter. Thank you

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 16, 2007

      This was soooo yummy! I've tried other recipes and nothing else compares to this. This one is far and away the best and it's the only beef stew for me! It was easy to make and my family just loved it. The only change I made was to add peas and not use parsley for finish. I've already made it twice. Once over rice and the other over buttered egg noodles. I like the noodles better, but that's the beauty of this recipe. Served over rice, noodles or potatoes - it's just outstanding!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 12, 2007

      Not sure what I think about this. I guess the taste was sweet and unexpected for me. It is good. It took me a lot of time to cook however. I started it at 11am and was done at 4pm. Could have been the big chucks of stew meat. Would I make it again? Not likely. My boyfriend loved it and thought it was the best stew ever. I'm sure he'll be asking me to make it again :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 21, 2007

      The sauce on this was to die for. Next time I wouldn't cook for as long as I found the meat was overcooked. I also didn't have to add the cornstarch it was thick enough. This is a keeper for sure.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 20, 2007

      I was very skeptical about this recipe once I started cooking. It smelled really strong and I had doubts about using all four cups of onions since I'm not a fan. When I was finished the sauce looked really thick and dark and I was worried it would taste horrible. But my husband tried it and loved it so much he ate two huge bowls. I loved it as well. It has a rich, sweet flavor. I crumbled up some Jiffy cornbread in it to cut the sweetness but it tastes great by itself. I am a newly-wed with little to no cooking experience. But I can honestly say that this dish is the best I've tried so far.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 04, 2007

      It was very good. We added potatoes. Next time I'll cook the meat a little longer, since it was a little more chewy than I like in stew.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 30, 2007

      Purely delicious! My husband and I loved this stew, but unfortunately the kids didn't eat it. I used 1 tablespoon less olive oil while sauteeing the onions and an extra clove of garlic. Like another reviewer suggested, I added the carrots and all of the wine in Step 8. I cooked the stew for 45 minutes at this point with the lid on. Then I cooked the stew with the lid off for between 15-30 minutes until the carrots were close to done. I did need to thicken the liquid with the cornstarch mixture followed by finishing cooking until carrots were completely cooked. I can't wait to make this recipe again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 24, 2007

    • on January 21, 2007

      Can I give this 100 stars or more please...thanks Ev this was fantastic, amazing, delicious, awesome the whole family loved it...half way through cooking when I sampled I wanted to leave my review but waited for the whole family to try and it was unanimous...I added some potatoes cut up small to it and served it with crusy bread...wow!!! Thanks so so so so so much for this it will definitely become a family favorite...thanks...Anne - Grecorican

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Mahogany Beef Stew

    Serving Size: 1 (629 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 656.3
     
    Calories from Fat 236
    35%
    Total Fat 26.2 g
    40%
    Saturated Fat 8.6 g
    43%
    Cholesterol 175.2 mg
    58%
    Sodium 623.1 mg
    25%
    Total Carbohydrate 33.7 g
    11%
    Dietary Fiber 5.4 g
    21%
    Sugars 16.2 g
    64%
    Protein 59.2 g
    118%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites