Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Mahogany Beef Stew Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Mahogany Beef Stew

    Average Rating:

    275 Total Reviews

    Showing 181-200 of 275

    Sort by:

    • on May 18, 2008

      Wow, wow wow!! This has become perhaps the best dish I have ever made! So tangy, complex, savory and the meat just falls apart! I served it with mashed potatoes :-) THANKS!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 07, 2008

      This recipe was perfect we used gravy roast pieces for this dish.The only thing i added was 1 teaspoon chopped ginger. I will be checking out more recipes from Evelyn.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 30, 2008

      What more can be said about this winner of a recipe. We couldn't stop eating it. My DH said he can't wait till we have it again. I made plenty of potatoes and poured the gravy over them. I highly recommend making this luscious stew!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 11, 2008

      This stew has a very nice flavor, i didn't have any wine so i used low sodium beef broth, and i did add a couple more cloves of garlic, (i can't help it, garlic is so good). I also froze half of this for another night. I can't wait to make this with wine, i bet it's even better! Thank you evelyn for this recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 27, 2008

      This was different, but I liked it. I don't know if this recipe will replace my normal beef stew, but I'll definitely make it again. I added garlic and some hot pepper flakes--personal preference. It had a lovely colour and it was very nice served with mash potatoes.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 13, 2008

      It took a lot of work and the end result was okay....it was quite bland and we ended up dumping on a lot more salt and pepper. I gave the rest to my hub for lunches, as I refused to eat it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 24, 2008

      This was a little too sweet for my tastes, but it was a nice change of pace from the usual stews. Made it in the crockpot and my boyfriend really enjoyed it. The recommended amount of cornstarch wasn't enough to thicken it, so I added more.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 10, 2008

      My husband and mother both loved this dish. It's on the sweet side, very different from usual stew recipes. It's a nice change of pace. Excellent cold weather comfort food.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 10, 2008

      Very good! I did make a few changes, as follows: I dredged the meat with flour, salt and pepper before browning. Used 2 chopped onions, and at least 2-3 cloves garlic. Instead of 1 lb carrots, I probably used about 1/2 cup. I also added about 1/2 chopped celery, a diced potato, 8 oz. fresh mushrooms and peas. I was afraid this may be overly sweet with the hoisin sauce, but that wasn't the case at all. So good, this is going in my permanent file!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 28, 2008

      I made this for dinner tonight. The only change I made was to add potatoes, celery and peas. We loved it! Thanks for the recipe

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 25, 2008

      This was very good and easy to make. I followed the recipe as far as the ingredients but I put everything in the crock pot and cooked it for 6 hours. It was so moist. It also smelled so good when I came home from work. Everyone really enjoyed it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 25, 2008

      I loved this stew. The only change I made was to the amount of hoisin sauce - I cut it down to 1/4 cup. This gave the right amount of sweetness for hubby and me. It was delicious.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 23, 2008

    • on January 21, 2008

      Couldn't pass up this recipe. I made it along with some good biscuits and it hit the spot, with all the cold weather we have been having. Sure did give me comfort! Thank you Evelyn for a great recipe! Wiggie

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 15, 2008

      Delightful! I used the crockpot and it took me awhile to get the gravy thickened, I could not stop going back and forth to the crockpot to keep sampling the gravy. Great flavor! Served over egg noodles and with Bread Machine Buttermilk and Honey Wheat Bread

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 10, 2008

      My family loved it! I have been wanting a stew and this sounded really good and different, so I made it. Great recipe Evelyn!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 06, 2008

    • on January 05, 2008

      I was overwhelmed by the flavor when I first made this. So I added 2 cups of beef stock and increased the cornstarch by 1 Tbsp. Also added cubed potatoes near the end of the cooking time. I believe this is one dish that improves when the flavors are allowed to meld, so good to prepare a day ahead.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 30, 2007

      Great recipe. I added some diced potatoes at the beginning. Cooked in a slow cooker on low for 8.5 hours. I added carrots and some quinoa and cooked on high for an hour. The carrots could have done with a little more cooking but I didn't have time to let it sit longer. Good flavor!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 27, 2007

      I made this today during a Colorado blizzard. It smelled wonderful while it was cooking but that was nothing compared to how wonderful it tasted when it was done. We followed the recipe almost exactly as written except we used a mixture of 1/4 Cup Hoisin Sauce and 1/4 Cup of Water instead of the full 1/2 Cup Hoisin Sauce. We cooked the stew on low for several hours all afternoon and the meat just fell apart it was so tender. We served the stew over mashed potatoes and just loved, loved, loved the gravy. Thanks very much for a wonderful recipe. We will make this again and again!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Mahogany Beef Stew

    Serving Size: 1 (629 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 656.3
     
    Calories from Fat 236
    35%
    Total Fat 26.2 g
    40%
    Saturated Fat 8.6 g
    43%
    Cholesterol 175.2 mg
    58%
    Sodium 623.1 mg
    25%
    Total Carbohydrate 33.7 g
    11%
    Dietary Fiber 5.4 g
    21%
    Sugars 16.2 g
    64%
    Protein 59.2 g
    118%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes