18 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Will make this again! I did make a few changes however. I used teriyaki marinade instead of soy sauce because that is what I had on hand. Also, I added a clove of garlic to the minced onions and used shallots instead of scallions because once again that is what I had available. Great recipe, thank you!

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
KellyMac6 June 15, 2010

this was pretty good. my husband loved it and believe me, he is a critic when it comes to fish.my sauce burnt so we didnt get to use it over the fish but the fish still had plenty of the sauce flavor from the simmering. i left the stove for a minute to put plates on the table and when i got back to the stove the sauce was more like molasses. my advice to everyone would be: DO NOT LEAVE THE SAUCE FOR EVEN A SECOND. IT WILL OVERCOOK. it is apparently one that you have to constantly monitor and stir. all in all, it was an awesome recipe. thanks for posting :)

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
JessiMarie August 12, 2009

My favorite kind of recipe -- very very simple and very very good. Didn't have any scallions but didn't find the recipe suffered from the lack. Thanks!

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LCinLA June 14, 2009

I'm pretty fussy when it comes to eating fish & mixing flavours so was a bit skeptical as to whether I was going to like this but the recipe looked interesting & had two good ratings so gave it a whirl tonight. It was delicious. I think next time I will cover the fish with foil when I put it in the oven. I ended up doubling the sauce & adding an assortment of veges once the scallions were on their way, which ended up taking too long & my poor fish ended up being a bit chewy. It still tasted great though. I imagine this recipe would be awesome with chicken as well. Thanks for a great alternative that we will definitely be using again!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Bondnz October 13, 2008

I am not a fish eater, but the sauce was to die for! Hubby likes fish, and said this was a keeper! I followed directions as they were...Thanks for a great post.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Danielle F. June 02, 2008

This is a winner! Easy way to make white fish come alive. My wife's reaction was one of awe. It's a keeper for the recipe file and a good reason to keep inexpensive frozen Trader Joe Mahi Mahi stocked in the freezer.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
michael April 28, 2008

This was very simple to make and a great change up to my normal fish dinners. I think next time I will try it with honey instead of brown sugar and maybe light soy sauce since it was just a teeny bit too salty. Definitely a keeper.
*Update* I have made it substituting honey many times now and love it. I just eyeball measurements to be about equal parts honey/lite soy sauce/lemon juice and it's a quick, throw-it-together delicious meal.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MissiStroh October 25, 2010

This was really good. Mahi Mahi has seemed bland to me when I have made it in the past but this recipe gave the fish a lot of flavor.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
beverlyt August 10, 2010

I have to admit, this was just ok for me. The flavors just didn't really do it for us.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chalko June 04, 2009

Super easy to make nad great taste!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Luisitomx April 12, 2009
Mahi Mahi With Brown-Sugar Soy Glaze