182 Reviews

Best cupcakes ever! We made self-rising flour and were 1/2 cup short, so we used less milk. They are sooo good. Nothing tastes better than real butter in bakery. We had enough batter for 12 cupcakes and a small 8x8 cake. We made half the recipe for frosting and it was plenty. Wow! Thanks for the keeper!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lolablitz January 10, 2012

I had fun making these for my daughter's 1st & 2nd birthdays - both regular and mini-sized cupcakes. The second time the frosting came out a little too thin. Tinted it a pastel green, used a small amount on each cupcake, textured to look like grass, then refrigerated for about 15 minutes so the frosting would firm up (not so messy for toddlers), then topped with Annie's graham cracker bunny (photo). They turned out great. As a jumbo sized cupcake with lots of frosting, would be just like a cupcake shop I am sure!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
aftha October 01, 2011

I have to say that I was 'on the border' about making this cake. I didn't know how good it would taste - but, after all the reviews - I said that I would try it.
As one person stated - straight out the fridge it is gross, but, once it has settled at room temp - it is great!
I do not think that it has a floury taste - and, I should also state that I did not taste it with any type of buttercream or frosting. It was just the cake. It did rise beautifully - and I did not experience troule with it at all. I made the cake to the 'T' no changes and it didn't taste like sugar cookies at all, nor, was it overly sweet. I think this is a really nice recipe.
I will try it again for a cake I have due tomorrow and see how it hold up. I will post photos when I am done decorating the cake.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
wpartizandcakes August 26, 2011

One of the best vanilla cakes I have ever had! My family loved how dense the cake turned out, and they raved about how much it tasted like a professional bakery cake. I used three round cake pans to make a cookies and cream cake with my own frosting recipe. Thank you for sharing such a great recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
McBeanbean August 03, 2011

I read through all of the reviews and I must admit the negative ones - which were scathing! - were so few and far between that I did not take them seriously. But I must agree. The recipe is off on the time, in my view - I baked cupcakes that were so dry I nearly choked eating one. I tried again with leftover batter - enough to make 2 - and cut the cooking time by 10 whole minutes. Better, but still not moist and delicious. My oven is a very expensive one and I cook and bake almost every day, so I know it is not the oven. I will keep trying with this recipe, changing mixing, liquids, etc, but as it stands it doesn't pass muster with my 3 taste testers. Good luck!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
qofca July 25, 2011

I gave this recipe five stars, because I think it's really exactly what a classic birthday cake should be. That is, very rich and sweet. In all honesty it was too sweet for my taste, but everyone raved about it, so I will use this recipe for birthdays in the future.

I am also not a very experienced cook, and the recipe was very easy for me and turned out fine. I only used half the amount of powdered sugar in the icing, and it was still very sweet.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
larali_1980 July 09, 2011

I love these cup cakes they were easy to make and a big hit with the family. We made them for my 6 r olds bday. The only change that I made was Instead of milk and Vililla Extract(becuase I was out)I melted Vanilla Ice cream.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Brandiem84 June 30, 2011

I used my own buttercream recipe, but the cake recipe given here tastes positively fantastic. Literally one of the best tasting recipes I've ever made, and my staple now if someone asks for vanilla cake. I have made it in a 4" round springform pan, and it turned out fine. It is rich, even a little dense for my taste, but you cannot beat the flavor. I only give four rather than five stars because I can't comment on the frosting.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
cadringiel March 30, 2011

Meh. My husband gives this a 2 stars. This is really a shame because I had very high hopes. I made a birthday cake from it. It was very VERY plain. No frills and not really that great. I really didn't like the icing, though it seems like it should have been great. Maybe it was my powdered sugar? I dunno. Just really nothing special. I will not be making this again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Food Snob in Israel January 20, 2011

I love this cake recipe, goes well with buttercream and jam :D I found if it overcooks slightly it goes like a sugar cookie. Also I didnt use a blender as I cant find my handheld at the moment. Brilliant recipe, I found out that I only had 3 eggs when I went to add them so used a bit of cornflour and water instead of the 4th egg.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
rasully October 19, 2010
Magnolia Bakery's Vanilla Birthday Cake and Frosting