Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Magnolia Bakery's Vanilla Birthday Cake and Frosting Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Magnolia Bakery's Vanilla Birthday Cake and Frosting

    Average Rating:

    175 Total Reviews

    Showing 41-60 of 175

    Sort by:

    • on March 30, 2011

      I used my own buttercream recipe, but the cake recipe given here tastes positively fantastic. Literally one of the best tasting recipes I've ever made, and my staple now if someone asks for vanilla cake. I have made it in a 4" round springform pan, and it turned out fine. It is rich, even a little dense for my taste, but you cannot beat the flavor. I only give four rather than five stars because I can't comment on the frosting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 20, 2011

      Meh. My husband gives this a 2 stars. This is really a shame because I had very high hopes. I made a birthday cake from it. It was very VERY plain. No frills and not really that great. I really didn't like the icing, though it seems like it should have been great. Maybe it was my powdered sugar? I dunno. Just really nothing special. I will not be making this again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 19, 2010

      I love this cake recipe, goes well with buttercream and jam :D I found if it overcooks slightly it goes like a sugar cookie. Also I didnt use a blender as I cant find my handheld at the moment. Brilliant recipe, I found out that I only had 3 eggs when I went to add them so used a bit of cornflour and water instead of the 4th egg.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 12, 2010

      Perfect! Thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 16, 2010

    • on April 29, 2010

      Made this last night for a birthday party today. I followed the recipe exactly, except I also added 1/4 t of almond extract. I could have added some additional vanilla extract, but it was VERY good as it was. I also made my icing with cream cheese and butter and added chocolate malted powder to the frosting. It was a definate hit. Texture was different as others have mentioned, but it was a interesting/good-bakery texture different. Will definately be making this often. Thanks so much for posting this delightful cake. It had the right amount of sweetness for me......Oh, I also had to make a substitute for the self rising flour by adding baking powder and salt. I also made it in a 9x13 pan.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 21, 2010

      One of the best vanilla cakes I've made. Moist & of medium density.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 12, 2010

      These are the best cupcakes I have ever made, totally light and fluffy, I have searched all over for the perfect cupcake recipe and this is it, even better than the ones that you can buy at the cupcake shop in Seattle, Oh and the frosting is to die for, perfect for the cupcakes, but definitely not low in fat or sugar, definitely an indulgence......

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 06, 2010

    • on February 28, 2010

      I just made this "cake" for my husband's birthday. Not sure where I went wrong-- I keep re-reading the directions and it seems like I followed the recipe to a "T'-- the cake tastes more like a muffin and my kids won't even touch the frosting! With so many great reviews, I expected great things from this cake.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 06, 2010

      This cake is really yummy BUT... it doesn't really taste like a cake to me. It tastes just like a sugar cookie. That's not really a bad thing, since I love sugar cookies... it just wasn't what I expected. I will be looking for another cake recipe for my daughter's birthday but I will be keeping the frosting recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 31, 2010

      I liked this cake a lot, but the frosting, not so much. Made for a baby shower today. The cake was good, but the icing was too sweet. Will likely make the cake again. Made a half recipe of cupcakes. Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 31, 2010

      honestly this tasted just like the so many pound cakes, yellow cakes, butter cakes and vanilla cakes that I have tried over the years. The frosting was very good though and I will definitely be using it over and over again. One question though if this were to be baked in a bundt pan what would be the baking instructions?

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 22, 2010

      I made this as directed. The cake came out beautifully. Tasted wonderful...not too sweet and was very light. It could have been prettier but that's my own issues.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 19, 2010

      I honestly didn't think there was anything special about this cake. Not sure if I did anything wrong, althought I followed the recipe exactly, but there was nothing extraordinary about it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 17, 2010

      Delicious! Made a birthday cake as directed with pink frosting, sprinkles, and whole cherries decorating the top. I'm no cake decorator, but it looked pretty good and tasted great! Instead of self-rising flour and all-purpose, used 2 3/4 cups all-purpose flour, 2 1/4 teaspoons baking powder, and 3/4 teaspoon salt. The frosting is delicious and the perfect amount for a three-layer cake. I'm sure this would make fantastic cupcakes. I am probably the only one who noticed it, but I either overmixed or overbaked, it could have been more moist, so I'll watch that next time. Thanks for sharing the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 05, 2009

      These were a huge hit with the birthday girl I made them for! I made cupcakes, cause I needed them to travel well, and I'm pretty sure I'll never go back to a boxed mix again. YUM!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 16, 2009

      My husband and co workers gave rave reviews for this recipe-I used a sour cream buttercream frosting that took it over the top! Excellent recipe and would recommend it to all-very easy to make with wonderful results!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 16, 2009

      WOW WOW WOW. This cake is so delicious and moist. And a bonus is it is so easy to make and contains only ingredients that I keep around the house on a regular basis, so no making special trips to the store.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 07, 2009

      I made the cake but not the frosting. I had two small children helping me as we were making cupcakes for Halloween. We added about 1/4 c Halloween sprinkles for a speckled look. This recipe was super easy to make and delicious. Thanks for a keeper.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Magnolia Bakery's Vanilla Birthday Cake and Frosting

    Serving Size: 1 (171 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 16

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 645.4
     
    Calories from Fat 227
    35%
    Total Fat 25.2 g
    38%
    Saturated Fat 15.5 g
    77%
    Cholesterol 110.7 mg
    36%
    Sodium 182.6 mg
    7%
    Total Carbohydrate 102.2 g
    34%
    Dietary Fiber 0.5 g
    2%
    Sugars 83.8 g
    335%
    Protein 4.7 g
    9%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites