Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Magnolia Bakery's Vanilla Birthday Cake and Frosting Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Magnolia Bakery's Vanilla Birthday Cake and Frosting

    Average Rating:

    176 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 176

    Sort by:

    • on May 12, 2010

      I have used this recipe several times now and the first time I used it was for jumbo cupcakes. The cupcakes were AWESOME, but when I use it for sheet cakes, it has not ever turned out as moist and fluffy as the cupcakes. The sheet cake is more dense. Still a great flavor, but I will stick with using this recipe only for cupcakes.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 13, 2010

      I will never buy box cake mix again! Super easy and delicious. Next time I will probably add another teaspoon of vanilla for a little extra flavor (and take out a teaspoon of milk so the consistency is right). My cupcakes didn't get a "crown" on them, which if I was making a layer cake to decorate I would definitely prefer, but for cupcakes I will add a little baking powder next time also. Great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 22, 2010

      Outstanding! Made for my twin daughter's birthday cake and made a 2nd batch for take-away cupcake favors for their party. YUM. Didn't use this frosting; used the Sprinkles frosting also on this site, which was excellent. The cake has an almost pound cake type density and flavor and is very, very good!!! Going in my favorites folder!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 10, 2012

      It was a very good cake. It did have a slight dense, cornbread texture. My hubby really liked that. I added a little more milk(like 1/4 cup) and I doubled the vanilla(could have stood to have more). I really liked it, but I (because of cake mixes) am used to a more airy, light texture. I think I might stick with this one and try sifting or a food processer with the sugar and flour.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 16, 2012

      I like this recipe a lot. A little improv can really make it great. It really has that bakery cake flavor. This would probably be great almond flavored too. I got mine to turn out with a very soft texture by replacing the regular milk with buttermilk (which I made myself by measuring out a cup of milk & subtracting a Tbsp, then replacing that tablespoon of milk with some lemon juice & let it sit for 5-10 mins). The acid in buttermilk breaks down the gluten in flour, which results in a softer cake. Also, I put my regular granulated sugar in the food processor (I have a ninja chopper) and ground it down to make supefine sugar instead. This makes the sugar easier to absorb, and also cuts down on mixing time. Doing this really turned out a flavorful and moist cake. I only gave this 4 stars because, like others have said, the cooking time is wayyy off. my cupcakes actually burned on the bottom, but they still were awesome on the inside. just watch it more than relying on the cooking time & do a doneness test frequently. I don't know how the frosting is, because I used my own recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 24, 2011

      This turned our horribly. The cake was very dense and the icing was way too sweet. I've made buttercream frosting before and this recipe just didn't work.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 18, 2008

      I agree that this cake was dry. Not at all what I expected since the bakery is so fantastic. Not sure why they would want to put their name on this. I drawned it in frosting and it was okay then. Will not make again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 19, 2012

      This wasn't really what I was expecting considering all the great reviews. While the texture was ok, the taste was way too sweet yet also almost tasteless. It was like the sugar was added AFTER it had baked. Don't know how else to explain it. And the icing is way, way, way too sweet. After 4 cups I knew it would be a disaster but I had to keep adding more to get the right consistency. Then it was so yellow from the butter. One of the pictures shows white icing, but mine was very yellow. But that was ok as I was going to add green food coloring in. My 5 year (for whom the cake was made) announced it yummy, then told me that I could throw it away. I gave it a couple of stars because 1) the cake itself is easy to make a and 2) it's edible if not great. So in a pinch, I could see myself making the cake again, but definitely not the frosting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 22, 2010

      The cupcakes were slightly better than the cake, but neither were particularly good. The cake was not fluffy but very flat and compact. And the frosting was okay in flavor, but not the best icing I've ever had. I won't make this again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 29, 2013

      i love to bake, inface I am addicted to baking and am always searching for a better vanilla cake recipe... sometimes I forget that I probably have the best one out there right now... I figured let me try this for a rainbow cake for my son's birthday... BIg MISTAKE. The cake is overly sweet, and yes it does taste like a sugar cookie, infact this cake is more like a cookie then it is a cake. It reminds me of the dense cakes the rainbow or tri-color italian cookies are made of. It is very dense, overly sweet and and I didn't get much moisture from it, just a very very dense bread like super sweet cake. Thankgod I am a baking mad woman and decided to go crazy and do cake pops and cupcakes too. The kids will love the look of it, but the adults will enjoy the other treats. This is a definite pass for me... btw I followed the directions to a T... when I took it out it also totally deflated... just to mention to you baking gods out there... Don't know what the deal is with this.. but I wish I'd seen some of the suggestions earlier like buttermilk... I wonder if it would have salvaged it a bit. Eitherway doesn't matter I'm not using this recipe again. So bake at your own risk!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 02, 2010

      This was delicious!! It was like eating a sugar cookie in cake form! If you like sugar cookies, you will love this recipe!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 19, 2010

      Absolutely wonderful! My husband commented that they taste like sugar cookies (in cupcake form), which I think is a good description!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 12, 2010

      I made cupcakes with these and they were a hit. I was careful not to overmix the batter but I still found they were a bit dry. Maybe I'll try again sometime and mix it even less.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 10, 2010

      I have bene looking for a recipe for the perfect birthday cake for my children and saw the reviews this one had so it would have bene foolish not to try it out! I actually double all the measures as I was making a cupcake cake for my daughter's 9th birthday..the cake took over one hour to cook but remained so moist but was very heavy in composition whereas I usually go for very light and airy textures nevertherless it came out perfect! the only thing was I thought it was incredibly sweet so next time I think I not put all the sugar and with buttercream on top twice as sweet but it was a crowd pleaser for sure and everyone had seconds! I strongly recommend this recipe...and this is from a true foody!!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 01, 2007

      I'm sad to say that I didn't like these at all...and hope the ones at Magnolia's are Much better! I followed the recipe exactly and barely mixed in the flour and they were still heavy and tough and dry.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 29, 2014

      I don't like sweet cake but I do like this one and have had many compliments. I do make sure that I buy the self raising flour fresh and then freeze it otherwise the cake does not rise at all. I love the fact that the layers stay fairly flat and require little levelling. I use my own meringue buttercream which is not very sweet so offsets the cake. I have had comments "just like my mother used to make". I was surprised to see that some people found that there was not enough batter for 3 layers as I found the layers a perfect size. I used for cupcakes and found them a little dry and found the cake lovely and moist. (I do have a very consistent convection oven which helps)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 30, 2014

      I made this cake twice in the same night. The first time I made it I followed the recipe (I was making a 9 inch 3-layer cake). The layers were way too thin, and there was no way it was going to serve 16 people. I made it again, this time doubling the recipe. This made a very tall layer cake which was much better. Probably could have gotten away with 1.5 times the recipe. The flavor was very tasty, but I found the texture to be a bit on the dry side. I might try it again for cupcakes, as one reviewer indicated they were more moist than the sheet cake.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 28, 2013

      this recipe is great we tried it twice but with butter cream not milk and we loved it

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 04, 2013

      This recipe was good. I did not use self rising or all purpose flour. I substituted it with cake flour. It was light and fluffy.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 23, 2013

      I thought this cake was really good however the batter wasn't enough for a 3 tier cake. I only had self rising flour to hand but that is the only thing i changed from the recipe. Not sure what i did wrong!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3 4 5 6 ... 9

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Magnolia Bakery's Vanilla Birthday Cake and Frosting

    Serving Size: 1 (171 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 16

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 645.4
     
    Calories from Fat 227
    35%
    Total Fat 25.2 g
    38%
    Saturated Fat 15.5 g
    77%
    Cholesterol 110.7 mg
    36%
    Sodium 182.6 mg
    7%
    Total Carbohydrate 102.2 g
    34%
    Dietary Fiber 0.5 g
    2%
    Sugars 83.8 g
    335%
    Protein 4.7 g
    9%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites