29 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

The batter on these puppies is simply amazing in texture, amazing! They are a great, light, sweet treat! We don't use self- rising flour around here, so in lieu of it, I used 1 1/2 c flour, then subtracted 3 tsp of flour. I added 2 1/4 tsp baking powder and 3/4 tsp salt to make up the difference, and it came out great!

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Rachie P April 24, 2009

The ratio of liquid and dry ingrediants makes this a perfect moist, fluffy and flavourful vanilla cupcake. Reviewers who had issues with this being dry and crumbly perhaps undercreamed the butter/sugar mixture and those with dense cupcakes may have overmixed the batter. My foolproof way does not involve creaming. Step one is to blend the flours and sugar until thoroughly combined. While mixed is on low, toss in cubes of room temp butter until mixture resembles that of wet sand. In another bowl Lightly beat eggs and add half to the flour mix (on low speed). With remaining egg, add to room temp milk and vanilla. With mixer on low, stream in remaining wet ingrediants. Once combined, turn mixer to med, beat 3 min. Dont forget to scrape down bowl. Bake as usual. Mine have always come out light extremely moist---so much so that guests dont believe it is scratch.

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
youngapm September 03, 2013

This was a simple recipe and so good! Everyone thought they tasted like sugar cookies! Nothing wrong with that! When they rose they never turned very brown on top and I thought they weren't done, but a toothpick inserted into the middle came out clean. So even if they look a little wet on the top, they may be done! Added some extra vanilla to the frosting and a few sprinkles and it was hard not to eat more than one!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
food snob mom February 04, 2012

These are absolutely delicious! What I did was I had made a sauce of crushed, thickened pineapple a few days ago and I wanted to use it up, so I thought of a cupcake/muffin. I made these cupcakes, increased the vanilla, and added a little over 1/4 cup of the pineapple sauce to the batter in step 6. Then I filled the muffin cups and put a dab of sauce on the center of each, and sprinkled it with almonds chopped small in the food processor mixed with sugar. While baking, the pineapple sunk down into the center, with the nuts swirled around it. My mom says they are the best ones she has ever tasted, ranking up with her all-time favorite peach ones. And that is high praise! Thank you for an awesome recipe!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Homecookgirl January 14, 2008

BEST CUPCAKE RECIPE EVER! We baked it in a 13x9 cake pan because we forgot our cupcake pans. We baked it for 35 mins at 350 degrees. It was so light and fluffy! Will definitely use this recipe again!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
donna.cvet April 20, 2015

Amazing! I halved the recipe to make 12 cupcakes and they turned out perfect. The tops were a sugar cookie-like texture and the insides were light and fluffy with a great vanilla taste. Sweet but not overly sweet. Perfect with a simple vanilla buttercream. The best cupcakes I have ever made! My family loved them.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef A. February 11, 2015

Absolutely delicious and best cupcakes I ever had! So easy to make they bake beautifully.
I had 20 cupcakes decorated with pink and vanilla butter cream. I made them few times already and people go crazy :) I also tried to bake it in sponge tin and made Lamingtons. They were excellent! Multipurpose recipe! Thank you Ratherbeswimmin!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Hanka July 11, 2012

This is the yummiest cupcake recipes we have ever made! We have used Betty Crocker for years but she doesn't hold a candle to these. We whipped them up in the stand mixer and the batter was deliciously light and incredible. My in laws were even dipping into the bowl for some batter. The Cyrus cheese cake sat in the fridge and we all ate the special "diet" cupcakes disappeared. We topped them with a simple cream cheese frosting and they really popped! Thank you for the recipes. These are gonna be my new secret weapon. Thank you!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
tandilaux November 07, 2011

I so badly wanted to like these, but they turned out awful! They were very dry and dense. I would definitely not make them again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LuckyMama August 29, 2011
Magnolia Bakery Vanilla Cupcakes