Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Magnificent 1st Prize Risotto Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Magnificent 1st Prize Risotto

    Average Rating:

    84 Total Reviews

    Showing 61-80 of 84

    Sort by:

    • on February 20, 2008

      Made this last night and it was great. Instructions were easy to follow. Very creamy, had it on the side with some chicken and green beans. Will keep this recipe and use it often. Thanks.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 17, 2008

      My family just didn't really care for it. The recipe instructions are easy to follow.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 22, 2008

      I found this a bit sickly after a few mouthfuls but as a small side serving this was great creamy and the cheese was just right. My family too loved this so maybe it was just me who found it sickly. The recipe was easy to follow so thanks for a great side dish

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 19, 2008

      My kids just loved this and came back for seconds. My hubby added chicken to his. Will be cooking this again. Thank you

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 10, 2008

      We all loved this at my house. I made to go along with a chicken dish I was preparing. Excellent easy recipe and one that you can work with and change around to your liking by adding things and changing up the stocks. Thank you for sharing Mallina. Elaine

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 07, 2007

      I held a dinner party for some girlfriends, several of which are vegetarian. Being a student I didn't have enough space around our dining table to entertain, so had to find a menu suitable for a carpet picnic! This recipe was perfect. I used a vegetable stock cube, and served it with hot baguettes. mmmmm

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 11, 2007

      My wife loves risotto. I made this for her and she loved it. It was very tasty and easy to do. Thanks.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 04, 2007

      Rich, creamy and delicious. I lost track of how much broth I was putting into it because I kept laddling the broth in from the pot of chicken and broth I was cooking. I also added 10oz of chopped mushroom and about 1.5 cups of frozen peas. My family loved it. The four of us the whole thing. Yummy. Thank you for the wonderful recipe. It's a keeper.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 06, 2007

      I am always pleased when I try a new recipe and it turns out well the first try. This recipe is easy and tasty. The parmesan cheese I used added a salty taste. Next time I will try a better quality cheese. I reduced the given cheese amount by maybe a 1/4 cup to adjust for the saltiness. My family enjoyed the risotto very much as a side dish. It was also very good leftover. I sauteed some mushrooms in butter and reheated the rice in the same pan for an evening meal and it was very good the second time around. Nice recipe. Thanks.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 17, 2007

      Very easy to make. I liked it a lot. I could eat a ton of it! My family, however, not as much, which is why 4 stars.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 02, 2007

      The easiest risotto i have ever made, and with the best taste!! I made mushrooms to go with mine on the side and then added them on top and it was absolutely WONDERFUL!!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 01, 2007

      Very easy and simple to follow recipe. Will make again often I used the veggy stock and it came out creamy and flavorful not too salty.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 04, 2007

      I decided not to rate this at this time because I am probably the culprit of the failure. Ok my first attempt to make risotto before this recipe was pretty much a failure. I had some risotto in the cabinets crying out for me to try again. This recipe has been sitting in my wanting to try list for a bit... here it goes. First, I was unsure what risotto swelling and bursting might encompass. I waited for a sign thinking something like rice crispies or popcorn. When they started to toast, I figured I better start adding the liquid. Second mistake, I had broth not stock. Once all but a quarter cup of the liquid was in asborbed, I still had some pretty hard risotto. I popped a lid on it and turned the heat on very low in hopes of saving it. After having the lid sit on it for over 25 minutes on low heat. I still had a very crunchy risotto. Mistake number three.. I had been grating Romano not parmesan cheese. I am not sure if my risotto is old and causing this. The broth around the crunch was wonderful. I am going to try this again with a different brand. If that does not work, I will try with a different cook.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 03, 2006

      This was delicious! Really yum! I found the parmesan made it a little salty, but quite possibly that was caused by the cheap stuff I used. Would definitely make again as it was even good cold the next day for lunch!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 13, 2006

      Wow, wow, double-wow! I'm a big risotto fan, so I couldn't resist serving this along with Salmon with Pistachio Basil Butter. The combination was a blast, my guests had nothing but praise for my cooking! I thought that the salmon-pistachio flavor would overpower the risotto but in fact it was the opposite: the saffron and the parmesan cheese strengthened the risotto's flavor and perfumed the kitchen and the dining room with their subtle aroma. I nearly doubled all ingredients (except the saffron) for five people and it got devoured in minutes! I cooked the risotto in a large nonstick skillet instead of a sauce pan but other than that I followed the recipe exactly. Thanks for this fabulous recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 12, 2006

      This was really good. The saffron really adds a nice color and flavor. We served this with grilled salmon and it was a great match.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 13, 2006

      I love this recipe, it comes out perfect every single time. Thank you!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 11, 2006

      YUM! This was just fatastic!! This will be made often in our home from now on...thanks for sharing!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 19, 2006

      This is pretty much the way I've been making risotto for years (sans saffron). Like Dug mentioned, I also dose it with a hefty swig of dry white wine.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 23, 2006

      I love Risotto.This recipie is great! I did add 1/2 cup of chopped fresh mushrooms with the rice, and 1/4 cup of sherry with the broth, but that's just personal preference. Bravo Peanut!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Magnificent 1st Prize Risotto

    Serving Size: 1 (442 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 445.8
     
    Calories from Fat 227
    51%
    Total Fat 25.3 g
    38%
    Saturated Fat 14.4 g
    72%
    Cholesterol 69.1 mg
    23%
    Sodium 939.2 mg
    39%
    Total Carbohydrate 34.4 g
    11%
    Dietary Fiber 0.4 g
    1%
    Sugars 6.1 g
    24%
    Protein 19.3 g
    38%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes