Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Magnificent 1st Prize Risotto Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Magnificent 1st Prize Risotto

    Average Rating:

    83 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 83

    Sort by:

    • on September 03, 2002

      No wonder you got first prize; this really is the business, Mallina. I think the secret is adding the stock little by little. Thank you,this will be a regular..

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 01, 2011

      Absolutely the best risotto I have ever had. I substitute vegetable broth for the chicken stock and cook according to directions. Towards the end, I add asparagus, peas, cucumber, carrots and cook through. I also double the garlic. Adding cooked and cubed chicken breast is also a nice addition (when cooking for the non-vegetarians). Delicious!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 23, 2012

      Delicious! We've never made risotto before, but we will make this again. Except for warming the stock, we used a rice cooker, even sauteing the butter and onions in the cooker. We did not worry about adding the stock slowly and stirring frequently. It turned out beautifully anyway. The saffron was really expensive, so I'm glad we liked this, so we can use up that saffron!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 31, 2010

      Takes time, but easy, fairly cheap, and restuarant quality results. The first time I made it I topped it with grilled squid. The second time, sautéed mushrooms. I did use less butter overall, with no bad effects and 1 cup of white wine in with the bouillon, which you can really taste in the final product, so don't do this if you don't like the taste of white wine.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 01, 2003

      Magnificent! Wonderful! I cut the recipe in half and used 2 garlic cloves and 1 small onion. I also added 1/2 cup frozen green peas during the last 10 minutes of cooking. Amazing flavour! Thanks for sharing!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 20, 2013

      Yep. This is prize winning for sure! I made this using homemade vegetable stock. I keep a freezer bag full of leftover vegetable scraps (kept frozen). Since I was home all day, I let the frozen scraps simmer in a pot of boiling water, so the stock was nice and hot by the time I made the risotto. Yes, you have to add one ladle at a time and you must "baby-sit" it, but that's what makes this recipe prize winning. I also used fresh cheese, well worth it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 24, 2013

      This is beautiful. It truly is lovely, creamy, and tasty. And I could see adding in other veggies like sweet peas or roasted asparagus or portabellas.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 16, 2012

      OMG! This was so good and so incredibly easy. The flavours are so good and consistency was perfect. You definitely don't want to turn your back on this one for more than 10 seconds or it's ruined. I made this with a baked salmon and baby peas...fabulous! A definite keeper

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 25, 2012

      Wow, this really is a great risotto! I enjoyed it a lot! It is creamy, flavourful and very easy to make too. I only made two servings using only 1 tbs of butter and changing the chicken stock to veggie broth. I will definitely make this again!
      THANK YOU SO MUCH for sharing this winner with us, Mallina Cashew!
      Made and reviewed for "Help a naked recipe" September 2012.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 06, 2012

      Very very good and easy risotto recipe - this is my new basic risotto recipe now! I skipped the saffron and doubled the garlic, it was a big hit. Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 02, 2012

    • on July 27, 2012

      Congratulations! Yes, it is "First Prize Winner" I made the Magnificent 1st Prize Risotto last night for dinner and it was delicious. I served it with Shrimp Scampi and sauteed spinach. This recipe is now in my family cookbook and will be served with all my seafood dishes. The risotto was easy to make. Be sure you have plenty of time and love to put into the dish and a promise of risotto perfection will tantalize your taste buds. Thank you for sharing. Yum...

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 22, 2012

      This was my first risotto, and I am so glad I tried your recipe. It turned out perfect! I cannot wait to make it again. Very creamy, smooth and flavorful. I did not have saffron, but will try it again with it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 10, 2012

      Wonderful side dish. Went great with our pork and spinach salad

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 25, 2012

      Delish, first time making Risotto and it was perfection, thanks for a keeper!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 17, 2012

      Delicious. I needed an extra cup of liquid; fortunately, I have a hot water dispenser, so I was able to pull 195 degree water on no notice. I added 1/4 c Pinot Grigio before adding the stock, and I kept the saffron liquid until the very end (if you overcook the saffron, it tastes metallic and medicinal).

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 17, 2012

      I made this on Valentines Day for my son and husband. They loved it! I would make a half recipe next time because it was so rich. I also used 4 cups of stock with 1 cup of wine so I wouldn't have to open up another box of stock. I paired it with Sara Moulten's Pork Tournados with Prosciutto and Sage. It only took 30 minutes to make and they thought they were in a restaurant.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 25, 2012

      This is really good. this was my first time making risotta and I was a bit nervous. Not sure why, this came together easily and it was yummy. I will continue to make this, thank you for sharing and introducing me to risotto at home.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 15, 2012

      Delicious! Used 1 litre of chicken stock and 12 cl of white wine for the liquid and stirred and stirred and stirred. ;-) Served with lamb and mint sauce - an excellent dinner. Thank you Mallina!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 28, 2011

    « Previous 1 2 3 4 5

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Magnificent 1st Prize Risotto

    Serving Size: 1 (442 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 445.8
     
    Calories from Fat 227
    51%
    Total Fat 25.3 g
    38%
    Saturated Fat 14.4 g
    72%
    Cholesterol 69.1 mg
    23%
    Sodium 939.2 mg
    39%
    Total Carbohydrate 34.4 g
    11%
    Dietary Fiber 0.4 g
    1%
    Sugars 6.1 g
    24%
    Protein 19.3 g
    38%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites